We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget your expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
Ranked #46 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Budget your expectations”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Good: aircon and private bath in hotel for hostel price. Room cleaning daily with towels.

Bad: they didn't pick us up from airport as arranged, even after having the info center calling them to ask why. The staff are Spanish speaking and not helpful about anything that has to do with tourists including knowing where the grocery store is.the set up is poor with respect to management since the WiFi stopped working for a while day, the service desk simply said they couldn't even reboot the router because it was behind a locked foot that only the manager/owner had. Lame excuse.

Still, I would stay again. It was safe, near a park and had coffee, a fridge and microwave in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    23
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of the new town and the old town, so it is easy walking distance to either along the waterfront path - which is safe. The area around the hotel felt pretty safe and we didn't see any prostitutes - perhaps because it was Easter. The price for a private room with AC is about the same as a private room in a dorm without AC, so for us, it was a great deal. The hotel staff only speak Spanish, so are not all that helpful yet they are friendly. There is coffee, refrigerator, and a microwave in the lobby.
The only issue that we had was that there was no one to pick us up at the airport, as requested and if a free service. It turned out the driver was sick, and the hotel compensated us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

3 big problems:

1) there are many prostitutes lingering in the area and I suspect that they entertain the bulk of the clientele at this hotel.
2) The hotel shuttle transfer is free to the hotel and can be between $20 - 30 back to the airport, depending on which employee you speak with.
3) Record of payment was 'lost' and we were required to pay twice.

The front desk does not speak English, which is okay (I am at fault here), just be aware. I have traveled to several Central and South American countries and this was the worst english service received in any hotel or hostel. We stayed 2 nights before going to San Blas and had decided to book a third final night for the night of our return from the islands simply because of the low price. We were required to pre-pay for this final night before leaving for the islands. Upon coming back for the final night, no record of our payment was documented and we were required to pay again.

Booking a hotel shuttle back to the hotel is not free and the final cost is variable.... fully dependant on which front desk person you ask. We received quotes of $20 and $30.

For a cheaper accommodation, better amenities and better service, stay at Luna's Castle.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

This was more motel style accommodation - clean, unadorned room with a comfortable bed, cable TV, good AC, wardrobes and decent bathroom. There was a large bug in the room when we arrived but otherwise we were very happy with the cleanliness of the place. This hotel does not cater to English-speaking tourists - it is more a place where Panamanian couples come to stay to get away from their families - and so don't expect to get any sightseeing advice, or even find someone who speaks English. It is a 15 minute walk to Casco Viejo along the sea walkway, and a $2 cab ride to Calle Uruguay. One bonus is that the hotel provides free airport transfers to the domestic airport at Allbrook. They also told us they would give us a transfer to the international airport for $20, which we booked with them, but when we came to go they shook their heads and called us a cab instead, which cost $30. The free coffee was terrible, and there is no breakfast provided, but would still recommend as wonderful value for $30 a night for a double room in Panama City.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lisbon, WI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I travel to enjoy the area to where i traveled. My sole concern is clean at good price. This place was both and very close to the ocean park area. The neighborhood looks a bit rough but everyone we met were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very clean, excellent staff and location. Just two blocks to Balboa Avenue. A block from Hospital Del Nino. The Hotel is under expansion construction. I had an extended stay. I saw lots of local from the interior of the country, staying mainly for medical/hospital visits. About two blocks away there is the Zona Roja. Not an issue on the hotel street. During my extended stay I went to run some days twice a day, no issues at all. But keep in mind it is a low budget hotel.
Once the construction is completed, rates will increase. I heard from an employees that new amenities include elevator, cafeteria and bigger rooms.

Room Tip: It's a 4 stories hotel with no elevator. The new construction will have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmulerocpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hostel was fine. The staff doesn't speak english which was a problem, but we used distionary. The room was ok, and there was tv. The other guests were mostly couples who came late and left early next day, if they were prostitutes or couples who having affairs I don't know, but the spirit with backpackers wasn't there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#68 of 114 in Panama City
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#77 of 114 in Panama City
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#74 of 114 in Panama City
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#82 of 114 in Panama City
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#79 of 114 in Panama City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial Cibeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Cibeles

Property: Hotel Residencial Cibeles
Address: Avenida Ecuador | Entre la Ave. Justo Arosemena y Ave, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One block from the coastal strip Two blocks from the metro station lottery One block from Santo Tomas Hospital To stay 3 nights the transport from the airport is free To stay 5 nights or more the transport to and from the airport is free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residencial Cibeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencial Cibeles Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing