We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel with my husband. I really loved the hotel, lots of things to do: bars, discos, restaurants, pool, but the service has some areas of opportunities.
We asked for some help for a disco one night and nobody could tell us if there was an event going on or if it was going to be the entrance free for guests. They just send us with other people to ask and nobody knew the answer.
I also liked the fact that is in front of "multicentro" where we enjoyed doing some shopping.

Room Tip: Our room was one with king bed and it was very comfortable, the view was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear MaryC_13

We are so thankful for your feedback during your recent trip to our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We appreciate your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will absolutely share your positive comments about our bars, discos and restaurants.

Best Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed only one night in August 2013. Lovely place, well set up, good quality service, great location. We took the hop-on-hop-off bus tour to the Canal. Good experience, one sees a lot of places along this route. I would not recommend the City tour as it is a waste of time imo.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the pool. Great city and ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Avril and Andre,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent rock star experience!

The Hard Rock Band is happy to see you enjoyed our great Location and Service, we hope you plan on returning to Panama soon, and we look forward to welcome you back!

Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is very nice and very clean. The rooms are spacious enough and they have all you could need. the balcony is good, but the city is too loud and nothing nice to see. Hotel's common areas are too cold, the air conditioning is always in the maxium, it is really very cold. Breakfast is OK, there are several options to choose in the buffet. SOY, asian restaurant is good but there the place is even more cold, so this don't let you enjoy the full experience. The service is average, It seems service is poor in all Panamá, of course not everybody in the service is bad, for example, Luis (the argentinean man), from the bellboys department is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcez510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Marcez510

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

It is great to hear that you liked our spacious rooms, breakfast and our Asian Restaurant!

We hope to see you soon again in our Stage!

Best Regards,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In February 2013, I spent three nights at this hotel. The hotel is has a modern minimalist feel and is very clean.

The staff, especially the concierge and America, were great. They went out of their way to meet my needs. Although I didn't ask her to check, America went so far as to contact the Panama Canal to make sure there was a ship going through at the time that I wanted to go.

The room with two queen beds was very modern and nice. I liked the tiled floors, but the closet space leaves a lot to be desired, especially if there are two people in the room. Also, I loved the huge shower, but the bathroom needs more towel racks.

I loved the pool area. However, there is limited seating near the pool. The skyline view from the pool is great!

The buffet dinner had a lot of variety, but was pricey at $28.00. The food in the bar area was mediocre at best and I mean that. You'll do better in Old Panama City or the Amador Causeway for restaurants. They are still pricey, but the food is better. Old Panama is the process of major renovations so by now there should be many new restaurants. However, I have to say Panama does not have a lot of variety when it comes to restaurants. Although I have traveled to many countries and usually love the food, I have to say I was not impressed with the food in Panama. It seems that a lot of the restaurants have the same or similar menus. The same fish cooked five different ways. Boring!!!!

Finally, the white taxis that are outside the front door work for the hotel and are very expensive. Therefore, I recommend that you take a yellow taxi and negotiate the price with them as they are not as expensive. The yellow taxis also drive up to the front door, but if you don't see one, walk to the main street (about 1/2 a block).

Enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear cymluv,

Overall, it sounds like you had an authentic experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our clean, quiet guest rooms and central location.

We feel strongly that service is paramount to our success and are extremely happy to see that you took notice of that!

We hope to see you again in our stage!!

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The place is nice because you are able to party at night but the service its awful, the elevators are slow and crowded, breakfast over populated, the pool its the less relaxing thing you will ever find. The people that stay in the hotel are not the nicest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa_BlancaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear _Rosa224,

We want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We are very sorry that our service did not meet your expectations during your stay, the feedback you are providing us will help us address the areas of oportunity that may need attention in an effort to prevent any future concerns.

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Hard Rock Panama City for two nights at the beginning and two at the end of my Panamanian adventure. The hotel is immaculate - not sure I've ever seen such a clean hotel. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and the views from the 39th floor were amazing. Holy shower pressure! Everything about the hotel, including its central location (a mall and casino are attached via an elevated walkway), exceeded my expectations.

The one downside, and it was a biggie for me, was the lack of service. Other than check in at the front desk and housekeeping, the service was terrible. At the buffet, at the Ciao restaurant, and at the bar next to the live music, a handful of employees (up to 8 at the bar) sit around and socialize while customers wait. At breakfast our last day, we asked for coffee and water twice only to get it when we walked over to the servers' station 10 minutes later. The smaller amount of focus on customer service seems to be the norm in Panama, but I expected more from a hotel of the Hard Rock's caliber (one of the more expensive options in the city).

I would try something else next time, but as a first timer I'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phatlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Phatlefty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and central location. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the service issues you experienced.

We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Panama.

Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had amazing expectations for this hotel, and at first sight it does look amazing: music all over the place, clothes and things from various artists, two bars and a disco, nice pool.
Unfortunately once you stay there you find out its more a facade.

Personnel at the main desk is not all well trained ( my check in was over 20 mins ), there are over 1,000 rooms and elevators are swamped most of the time ( keep in mind you have to use your sensor key to select your floor so if you get in the back you may lose the moment to select yours).
Service overall is nothing but average, specially in the restaurants and stores (food & rock shop).
The most disappointing was the "Explorer" travel agency: really rude, and although they advertise a lot of different tours they actually just offer the basic one.

Rooms are nice but nothing special ( even the suite I was in ); mini bar was closed, there's no carpet ( floors can get really really cold ), lighting is tricky (no overhead lights, just night stand lamps). Bathroom is nice, the great thing is the shower: great water pressure and temperature.
Nice perk is there's a connection to a small shopping mall across the street.
Spa is small and at the time I went there it was terribly understaffed and not well maintained. Only one (male) employee that received and showed me into the dressing room ( man in the women dressing room!! why? ), used towels, robes and cups all over door to reception permanently open and no one to greet you or offer anything to drink or clean the place. Massage therapist was good, great touch of warm towels and covers through the massage, but music is a bit rock & roll for a spa ( understand it is the Hard Rock; but a spa is a relaxing place).

Overall it is nice hotel, but would not recommend it if you are looking for a place to enjoy a nice vacation, you end up too stressed navigating it all

Room Tip: If you have light sleep ask for a room in the second tower and far from the elevators ( the first to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Just_Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience, the feedback is greatly appreciated and I will assure you the comments are shared with each appropriate department. We strive to create lasting relationships with our guests and are committed to providing the highest level of service each one deserves.

Best Regards,
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,767 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
1,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis

Address: Avenida Balboa con Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £99 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Latin America's hottest destinations just got even hotter. In the heart of Panama you will find the spectacular Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. This breath taking sixty-six story tower invites you to come and experience where rock star service meets urban chic design - all infused with the passion and irreverence of rock 'n' roll.Located just a few miles from the Panama Canal, this Hard Rock Hotel puts you center stage with breathtaking panoramic views of the city and the Panama Bay.Live like a true rock star in one of our 1453 stylish rooms and suites, then come experience our five exciting bars and four tantalizing restaurants, Ciao, Tauro, Soy, Bazaar. Relax in our Rock Spa(R) or soak in the sun at our infinity pool cabanas.Want more? The hotel is just steps away from MultiCentro Mall and Majestic Casino, offering amazing shopping, restaurants, bars, convention center, and movie theater.The show is about start...Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing