We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard rock franchise with credit SCAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hard rock franchise with credit SCAM”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is s a new hotel in Panama under hard rock franchise part of a complex. Very busy hotel with parties all over not exactly the best for business. At night extra security is necessary including heavily armed policia Nacional ..... Which is scary, along with questionable ladies allowed.
Room is average. Minibar has not beed refurnished during my 3 day stay, not even once. Room cleaning was under the average as I found left overs from past guests under the bed...
To finish, they run a SCAM on their 20 USD per night on drinks: they will not apply it to you balance unless you ask and when you ask, on the checkout day, they tell you on the checkout day it's not possible to apply anymore.....
I tried to complain but nobody seemed to care nor speak enough English, so it was impossible to file a complaint before hotel management.
My suggestion: avoid it. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Smith_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Paul_Smith_2301, we are distressed to know that you did not enjoy your time in our hotel. Furthermore, we would like to let you know that your comments are much appreciated and that we are currently working on the corresponding corrective measures to ensure the satisfaction of our dear guests. We hope to see you soon so we can show you the improvements that we have made. Moreover, we would like to let you know that our Front Desk Hard Rockers are all bilingual and that we have supervisors and agents present at all times who speak English and are able to assist our valuable guests. We deeply regret having missed the mark with you, and we would love to be given a second oportunity to show you the usual rock star experience that we normally offer to our raving fans. Again, Paul_Smith_2301, thank you very much for your candid feedback. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,016
    1,318
    471
    245
    200
See reviews for
1,216
1,748
228
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

The people in the travel agency counter is prettt rude. The service in the room is very slow, besides of that internet access is great, pool area and the lounge and disco in the last foor are amazing. The food is expensive. We ate at Japanese rest twice.. the first time was very good and the second was overall i returnes my dish ollita de mariscos, was not good for price and flavor.. it was burned and awful taste.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavacast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Mavacast,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review about your experience during your stay with us. We are very sorry to read we were not able to fulfill your expectations with some of our services and dishes this time. We would like you to know that we are working very hard on improving in all aspects, and your kind feedback is welcome and highly appreciated. Hopefully, if we have the opportunity to receive once more, we will show you the improvements done and make of your stay the most wonderful experience as we are used to. Thanks again for sharing your review. Mavacast, please feel free to pay us a second visit anytime; you will always be a Rock Star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I'll start by saying I speak fluent local Spanish and am a highly experienced Panama traveler. I get the local culture and nuances. Lets be honest; service in Panama as a whole is hit and miss at best. It's getting better and still has a long way to go. Say this to a local and it'll invariably cause them to bristle and retort as if you insulted their pride. And herein lies the problem. I like the property as a whole. The choices, variety and quality of my included breakfast was excellent. it seemed to change location from stay to stay once in Soy, once in Tauro then in another large salon.
My room; a Gold Suite w/balcony, on all three stays was decent. Impressive view of the Cinta Costera entrance, Punta Paitilla and Panama Bay with the Causeway and Canal in the far background. Comfy King bed, large well equipped master bath and convenient 2nd half bath. More pluses in my humble opinion are the pool area, Tauro restaurant (fair prices and an upscale setting - service again was pretty shaky and inconsistent with the opulent surroundings). Furniture in the living area during one of my stays was stained and moist thus not inviting, for that reason, the couch served as our opened suitcase rack! Overall room lighting is inadequate. They must have been going for a "cool" look and fell short. Get some better lighting and while you're at it rethink the switching, its as confusing and inefficient as the nutty elevator system in the entire hotel. Use the escalator to go down a floor in order to use the elevator to go up??? Really?
Their Achilles wasthe front desk. Wow, it was baaaad. Send your front desk manager to a property like the Hyatt Andaz in Hollywood or similar in order to get a grip on what a check in / out experience should feel like. Since I'm pretty much a local, when I feel bullied or led, I push back twice as hard and thus get the results I want. It shouldn't be this way. Will I come back, yes. Tell my friends to stay there, yes with warnings of true expectations. Did you gain a loyal customer? No, if the JW Marriott Buenaventura Hotel was in the city, I'd stay there every time. That's 5 star service in Panama.

Room Tip: Rooms close to Elevators are surprisingly quiet so don't shy from them. Get a suite with a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear ptyed,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review our hotel. We are delighted to notice through your kind comments that this was not your first but your third stay here! Thank you very much indeed for choosing us. Our Rock Suite Gold with Balcony is definitely one of our most amazing rooms, and we are pleased to know that you love it as much as we do. We have already shared your feedback regarding your customer service experience in our different outlets with the rest of our Hard Rockers, since your comments are highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you on stage for the fourth time in Panama City! We definitely have more to show you!

ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed three days at the Hard Rock Megapolis and it definitely isn't worth the price. There is nothing near the hotel, the rooms are just ok, and getting to the room is a joke. The elevators are so bad they actually have employees to just hit the call button so customers won't wait five minutes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank skerrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear skerrane,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. We feel sorry that our location did not exceed your expectations, nonetheless our property has the best location ranking since is located at the heart of Balboa Avenue. Our magnificent hotel is just few steps across the Multicentro Mall, right in front of the Cinta Costera Park and indeed close to Calle Uruguay, Casco Viejo and with the most beautiful ocean and city views in Panama City. We deeply repent that the proximity to these tourist places did not meet your expectations. Nonetheless, we would love to extend you a warm invitation to come back and take some more time to explore the wide range of hot spots and venues close to our hotel. Similarly, we offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that our elevator's system might have caused to your stay. We are surrounded by the latest technology and we only aim to assist our beloved Hard Rockers with the best.

Again, dear skerrane, thank you very much for stopping by and for sharing your experience with us. We highly appreciate all your feedback. YOU ROCK!

TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Overall a pleasant stay but to my suprise when I got home and was handed the bill from my boss, I was charged 17 dollars for drinks that was suppose to be complementary. In fact, my colleague experienced the same thing. We were suppose to get 20 dollars worth of free drinks and I especially asked about this to make sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephine_sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear josephine_sthlm,

Thank you very much for writing your review about your recent stay at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. We are pleased to know that we are extending our sweet rock and roll greetings to Stockholm, Sweden! We would like to take this opportunity to shed light on our $20 courtesy coupon for drinks, which only applies at selected bars of our hotel, we deeply apologize for not being clear enough to properly advise you on how to use them. Nonetheless, we hope that this does not prevent you from visiting us in future. We deeply value our relationship with our Hard Rock fans and we will be more than pleased to welcoming you on stage once more! again, thank you very much for your review.

TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

a new 62 floors hotel in a good location in panama city.
the rooms are large and comfortable.
a nice view from the 62 floor.
one big problem with the elevators, have to wait 15-20 minutes.
the have a very good and tasty breakfast

Room Tip: higher rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikielmundo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear mikielmundo10,

Our Hard Rock Band send you warm greetings! Thank you very much indeed for commenting on your recent visit to our hotel. Here at the Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis we pride ourselves in ensuring and delivering 100% customer’s satisfaction Hard Rock style. We feel proud to read comments like yours! Thanks again!

LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very nice comfortable rooms. Amazing and spectacular ocean view from my room. Concept of hotel is appealing
Waiting times at reception ( 20 minutes to have your key changed) are unacceptably long. To go down for dinner between 8pm and 9 pm may easily take you 15 minutes as well..Breakfast on a sundaymorning had waiting lines as well as there was not enough hotel staff. tables were dirty and not cleaned.
Service at bar first floor has improved since my last visit there ( believe was june) No complaints.!!!Punctual and friendly.I
They have a very big hotel to run. Their logistics are continuously challenged and they do not always have the answer.
( And no the answer is not to call a guest by their name.. i am on holidays. not work).



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Team at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Hard Rocker,

Thank you very much indeed for taking you time to share your experience at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis with the rest of the world. It is true that our hotel is really big and that our logistics our constantly changing, but is also true that we are continuously working to make our hotel one of the best destinations in Panama City, that is the reason why our raving fans always come to award us with the highest rankings, and we are more than sure that it is exactly one of the reasons why you gave a second chance to shoot you with the rock star service that we normally offer to our Hard Rock fans.

We welcome all your feedback and comments, and we thank you very much for reviewing us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations. Nonetheless, feel free to pay us a third visit, we can assure you that nothing but the best will be brought to you. You will always be our number one rock star!

TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 116 in Panama City
2,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Address: Avenida Balboa con Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Latin America's hottest destinations just got even hotter. In the heart of Panama you will find the spectacular Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. This breath taking sixty-six story tower invites you to come and experience where rock star service meets urban chic design - all infused with the passion and irreverence of rock 'n' roll.Located just a few miles from the Panama Canal, this Hard Rock Hotel puts you center stage with breathtaking panoramic views of the city and the Panama Bay.Live like a true rock star in one of our 1453 stylish rooms and suites, then come experience our five exciting bars and four tantalizing restaurants, Ciao, Tauro, Soy, Bazaar. Relax in our Rock Spa(R) or soak in the sun at our infinity pool cabanas.Want more? The hotel is just steps away from MultiCentro Mall and Majestic Casino, offering amazing shopping, restaurants, bars, convention center, and movie theater.The show is about start...Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing