We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, service average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, service average”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel is clean, beautiful. That being said, customer service needs developing. The staff often seem almost intimidated when approached. Pool side service was lacking. Would tacitly recommend then hotel. Need customer service and etiquette improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffrayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ffrayrn, Thanks for taking your valuable time to share us your review! The hard rock band really appreciates your kind comments. We will practice it on the daily rehearsals and sound checks to be a better band. Once again thanks for your kind comments. We hope to have you back soon, dear Rock Star. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,114
    1,338
    477
    252
    203
See reviews for
1,246
1,795
234
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Your at Hard Rock, so you assume that you can get a late meal at a restaurant. Nope. They stop serving at 11:00pm, Sunday thru Thursday. Too bad, if you are a late night rocker type and want a bite to eat. Alcohol, no problem.

The elevators do not seem to work half the time. The key swipe does not work half the time. If you have friends on another floor you can not get to them because your card only allows access to your floor. Very inconvenient. Two banks of elevators but with restricted access to the bar level. You can not get to the bars from your room. They make take the elevator to the lobby and then walk to a set of escalators to go back up a floor. Very inconvenient. The signage in the elevator needs to be updated to indicate that access to the roof top bar is only accessible from certain elevators. Once in inside certain elevators you see a sign for the roof top bar and a button for that floor but you have no access.

If you ask why, they claim security. The lobby seems to be full of security, 20 plus guys wandering around. Makes you wonder if this is a safe hotel.

The main entrance is a fire trap which almost broke my nose. Three sets of huge automatically sliding doors. The problem is they close two at night without any notice that they are closed. So when I walked briskly out the closed doors I slammed into them because they did not open. Straight to the front desk to file a complaint and I was told they would take care of it. However, every night I noticed the doors closed with no stanchions indicating the doors were closed.

The corridors all have a musty smell. They run two tiny noisy dehumidifiers at the end of each
hallway. They do nothing except make noise.

Good part is the food in the restaurants is fairly good. Both the steak house and Asian provide great service and good food at international prices. The local eats throughout the city provide great food at a fraction of the price. The Breakfast buffet is good. However, do not order any espresso. It tastes like instant coffee.

Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water above floor 35 give great views. Avoid rooms at the end of hallways because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Emilio_EER, Thanks for taking your valuable time to share us your important feedback. First of all, the tittle of your review does not have any relation with the content of the same. Our Stage counts with all the proper equipment for a fire emergency. Nonetheless our Management Department have read your review and have passed your comments to each relevant Department head to ensure that this kind of bad experiences does not happen again. If it is true, all of our restaurants get closed at 11:00 pm but we have our Room Service Department available 24 hours to all of our dear Rockers in house. The Hard Rock band is really sorry to know you had a bad time with the elevator sensors, at this time is really important to know that for security purposes each our guest only have access to his floor and to the social areas. Also our Security Staff is an essential part of the security, We are really sad to know you had this perception from us. On the other hand we are really glad to know you had such an amazing time at our Restaurants, where each Hard Rocker gives the extra mile to give you the best. Once again thanks for your review, We appreciate your honesty. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It is a huge hotel but if feels like checking in at a mega resort of Las Vegas on a Friday night. There are long lines for everything, even the elevator. The hardware is very good but the service level is of an all inclusive, which many of the packages offered are.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear lazytravel, Thanks for sharing us your review! Our stage is designed with a Rocker Vibe were you will find each of our Hard Rockers providing our best service with rock and roll style. Considering the specific case that you mentioned regarding the elevators we have at your disposal an elevator operator in each lift, bear in mind that this is only on the rush hours. The Hard Rock band is really sad to know you have this perception of our magnificent stage. Nonetheless we were really happy to have your unique rocking presence at the stage, that’s the reason why we would love to have you back soon. Please have in mind that our band is always on constant sound checks to be each day a better one. Thanks again for your review. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First, when i arrived, they asked me to meke a deposit 1,5 time more than the price of my stay Because the extra !!!! extra i didn't begin to get....
By the way, the price of goodies, bar, restaurant are very very expensive :(
Second, the room service doesn't exist.
You call them and nothing happens... and call again.... and again...
For exemple, I bought a little bottle of wine in a small bar at the M1 floor. In my room, I was not able to open it. I came back to the bar and they (the same person who bought it) began to explain me bla bla bla, they had to see with the manager... few minutes after, i left them and my bottle to go in my room... It is incredible: They had just to change my bottle... ou open it as I asked...
It is a crasy expensive place for the worst service i could know in this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Eric, Thanks for taking your valuable time to let us know about your experience. We truly understand your frustrations and we do apologize for this inconvenience. Nonetheless its totally true, that one of the strict procedures in our check-in process is to ask for the deposit amount which is the warranty per night of the room and for any extra fee that you can have during your stay at our hotel. In case you don’t have any extra fee at the moment of your check-out, the money will be refunded immediately to your bank account. We have let our Management department know about your comments on the service provided at the M1 Floor, proper actions will be taken. At this moment is really important to know that for hygiene purposes we cannot exchange any sort of sealed bottle . Once again we are really sorry to know we did not fulfill your expectations. On the other hand we are sad to know, that early in the morning our Management Team tried to cordially assist you and give to you the proper solution to this problem. But unfortunately you did not accept our help. We hope this experience does not prevent you from coming back once again to our hotel. You will always be a Rock Star at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in an ocean view suite with balcony. The rooms, restaurants, bars, etc are great but if you are used to "service with a smile" you will be quite disappointed. Nobody smiles in this hotel, from the front desk employees when you are checking in, to waiters, hostesses, bartenders, etc, etc, NO SMILES, at all. I guess the hotel is so popular, they really don't need to make an effort to attract guests.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meowsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Meowsi, Thanks for sharing your review with the Hard Rock Band. We were really happy to have you on our magnificent stage performing with the band. Our whole staff strives to make our guests happy and thanks to your feedback and comments we are able to use them as tools to improve our unique service. Once again thanks for your review. Please have in mind that we would love to have you back soon. ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed for few days on business trip and the rock atmosphere of the hotel gave my busy business days a positive and emotional sprint! The service is well managed (considering that the place is huge), personnel is young and nice, the buffet meals are well varied that you can really chose what you prefer (both fish&meat are great). The place is very trendy, you can spend the evening at the roof bar (amazing sight of Panama bay) and join the disco later, a bit posh but nice place. Of course you must like big hotels and rock music, played all around the building. The bedrooms are big and well equipped, with quality stereo systems to keep on rock'n rolling. But don't worry, the room floors are quiet, you are not annoyed by loud sounds. My group had an all inclusive service so we had meals a drinks 24h for free. I would just improve the reservation system for the internal restaurants (there are different), not easy to do (need to call and speak Spanish). The place can be very crowded especially in the weekend (people coming to enjoy the bars and disco), but apart for waiting a bit more the elevators there are no negative remarks. Thank you Hard Rock for making a business trip a life experience!

Room Tip: They are all good and big, I wouldn't spend much time in the bedroom though, because the atmosph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanelbullar_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
The Hard Rock Band is really happy to know you had such an amazing time with us! Each day our Hard Rockers work hard to give the best Rock and Roll experience. Its wonderful to read you liked each food plate, social areas and our magnificent rooms. We would be preparing the stage for your soon return. Thanks for sharing with us your life experience dear, Kanelbullar_77! SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While staying in Panama City, and preparing to run the Gatorade International 1/2 Marathon, we stayed one night in this hotel, since it was fairly close to the area where the 1/2 marathon was going to take place, the room was huge on the 34th floor, the view of the City amazing, great staff, he atmosphere is as expected in a Hard Rock hotel, we heard there is a bar on the 62th floor, but we did not got up there, too tire after the race.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ary0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service Coordinator at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
WOWWW we are glad to know we had Healthy Rock Stars at our Stage, Ary0310! We were really happy to have your unique Rock Star presence at the stage. It is amazing to know you enjoyed each corner of our stage and more our BITS bar on our 62nd floor with an excellent view of our Panama City! We would love to have you back soon. SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Address: Avenida Balboa con Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Latin America's hottest destinations just got even hotter. In the heart of Panama you will find the spectacular Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. This breath taking sixty-six story tower invites you to come and experience where rock star service meets urban chic design - all infused with the passion and irreverence of rock 'n' roll.Located just a few miles from the Panama Canal, this Hard Rock Hotel puts you center stage with breathtaking panoramic views of the city and the Panama Bay.Live like a true rock star in one of our 1453 stylish rooms and suites, then come experience our five exciting bars and four tantalizing restaurants, Ciao, Tauro, Soy, Bazaar. Relax in our Rock Spa(R) or soak in the sun at our infinity pool cabanas.Want more? The hotel is just steps away from MultiCentro Mall and Majestic Casino, offering amazing shopping, restaurants, bars, convention center, and movie theater.The show is about start...Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing