We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable place to stay in Panama City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very reasonable place to stay in Panama City”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Despite concerns about the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, overall, we had a positive experience at this hotel. The facility is quite new, modern and clean. Having a kitchenette was extremely helpful as we were traveling with children. As others have mentioned, there were no dishes or cutlery in the kitchenette, but knowing this in advance, we simply requested the supplies on arrival and received what we requested. The kids loved the pool (although the bottom of the smaller pool had several chips in the tile that resulted in a few scraped knees & shins). The staff we encountered including Jerry, Juan and Silvia were all friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus: the selection was reasonably varied and the omelette station was a favourite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    99
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
68
61
12
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Nice, spaceous mini-apartments, a good location with plenty of top restaurants around. We stayed for 3 weeks, enjoying the site, but not the service. On various occasions the staff was either not responding or responding late/poorly to our requests:
At 5 am the pool was lit for the early morning workout. At 0645 and 20min before dawn, the light went out, leaving me swimming in the dark. It took me 3 days and 3 reminders to change that.
I left swimming goggles by the pool. When reporting this to the staff they politely took note. After that I never heard anything back from them, not even the bad news, that the goggle had not been found. I had to follow up at the reception and wait for the lady's inquiry to find out.
When requesting to use the kitchen, staff brought the kitchenware - it is not in its place. When we tried to use the kitchen, the gas was turned off and locked. We inquired, and were told that we have to separately request to open the gas valve and sign a waiver. Why not in the first place?
When using the laundry services we were charged USD 16,- (!) for a little kid´s sweater, worth USD 10,-, as it was categorized as "abrigo" or "overcoat". Staff were completely unable to comprehend the difference between a sweater of a 5 y old boy and an overcoat of an adult. But after two interventions they gave a discount on the cleaning.
The first 3 days our key card was deleted whenever coming back to the room. So we had to go down again to the reception to fix it. Every time I asked to prevent that from happening again. Staff explained to me why it happened, but for three days did nothing to fix it.
The check-out and pay process at the end of our stay took over an hour (!). I also observed several check ins that lasted over 30 min. For a tired traveler that is exactly 25min too long.
The experience of staying in a nice hotel while looking for an apartment was serioulsy overshadowed by the fact that staff - however nice they may behave - appear very poorly trained and completely unaware of the fact that for their guests, time is money.
Noting that the Management of this chinese hotel in Panama replies quite defensively to customers' ciriticism here on this page, the service is rather unlikely to improve under this management. The fact that this hotel is rated the 8th best in Panama can only be explained if service quality is ignored.

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor. Panama's fire fighters cannot reach beyond the 7-10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbDurchDieMitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This property, which is in the process of affiliating with Marriott, is a very good hotel and nice place to stay in Panama City. The suite rooms are large and comfortable, the restaurant quite good for a hotel, and the service flawless and friendly.

My only negative, and it is a very slight one, is that the hotel is a couple of blocks off the main streets in a very quiet area (safe but a little bit of a walk to any major activities). However, I would stay there again in any visit to the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with two double beds. The rooms are even larger than usual. And the upper floors hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our 3-day stay in Panama City, following a week-long cruise in Bocas del Toro, ended our holiday on a very happy note. Whilst there had just been a change in ownership that we were not aware of we found the staff to be particularly helpful, respectful and answered our every request. In particular Jerry Brown should get a special mention - given our Spanish was woeful, he was able to explain to us what restaurants were well worth visiting, booked for us and ensured we had transport. Thank you Jerry!

We recommend the Finisterre to any travelers from overseas.

Richard & Patty

Room Tip: Suggest colors above 4 and get an end suite if possible (should have an ocean view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Rooms were very comfortable, and as big as some of my friends apts Iin NYC. Marriott is currently taking ownership of the hotel so I would think it would only be upgraded. The pool was nice and actually had sun all day. Only a short walk from Calle Uruguay and all of the restaurants & bars. Juan the bellhop was really friendly & welcoming. My partner & I (25 & 29) tend to travel as a couple but for a family having a working kitchen might be really nice. The Only reason for the four stars was it was a little noisy at night, but I do have really sensitive hearing so take it with a grain of salt.

Room Tip: We had an executive suite which gave two people a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmupitt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed many a times at the hotel. We love the location (ease to get in and out of the city via España) and the walking distance to the restaurants. Fairly safe neighborhood and minutes to the shopping malls.
We are a family of four and our kids love the fact they do not share a bed. Each has their own hide a bed in the sofa and lounge chair. I recommend to call ahead for a room high up for better views of the city or mountains as well as the staff able to prepare with extra sheets and pillows for the kids. We use the kitchen to store our food and drinks. It is sad we must call ahead for utensils and plates, but they deliver quickly.
Big Pluses:
We love the breakfast in the morning - omelette station is great!! Kids pay extra but well worth the price.
Kids loved the pool
The gym and spa is cozy but its available.
Wifii is also available in your room (just ask for the passcode at the front desk).
and FREE parking in a secure garage.
So if you are looking for a nice location for the family in Panama I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the city view on top floor. Also ask for the king room to be divided by the wall. More priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagoMamasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I don't know if I was spoiled, but I just stayed in a botique hotel in Casco Viejo (a charming neighborhood compared to this location). The Casco Hotel was a bit more expensive but well worth it compared to this property.
Where shall I start....
1. Very dark room
2. No flow in the room, every detail seems forced. Why even bother with the kitchen.
3. Doors hit door swings.
4. Floors are a cheap pergo
5. I feel like I am in a holding cell
6. Dirty bathroom with a hair bunch in the shower
7. Cheap corporate finishes, furniture, etc.
8. Marginal fitness facility
9. Weak hotel lobby bar, again, a forced detail.

I don't know who designed this place, but they should design jails. I am trying to understand why this hotel has so many good ratings?

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#12 of 113 in Panama City
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 113 in Panama City
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 113 in Panama City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#38 of 113 in Panama City
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 113 in Panama City
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Torres de Alba
Aparthotel Torres de Alba
#45 of 113 in Panama City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre

Property: Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre
Address: Calle Colombia Y Ave., 3RA A Sur | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre offers spacious luxury apartments in the heart of Panama City’s financial district. Quality and elegance combine to create the ideal setting, whether staying for just one night or a whole month. Both business and leisure travelers will feel at home at this Marriott hotel in Panama, offering loft and one or two-bedroom apartments with separate living, sleeping, dining, and work areas. Enjoy the convenience of complete kitchen, complimentary high-speed Internet, an executive desk, and soundproof thermo-acoustic windows. Relax with a cocktail at the outdoor pool, overlooking the ocean, or spend an evening with fine wine and fusion fare at Adegas restaurant. This Panama hotel is conveniently located in Bella Vista district near dining, shopping, and attractions, including the Casco Viejo (Old City) and The Panama Canal. The hotel also offers four meeting rooms and an outdoor venue that’s ideal for corporate functions, social events or meetings in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing