We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overcharged for 1 nite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Miramar Panama
Ranked #36 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 6 March 2013

When l arrived at this hotel, l was informed that my reservation had been canceled. My company had made resos for 4 people -- 2 arriving on Sunday and 2 on Monday. l was informed that my room was canceled and the room rented to another guest because l was a 'no show' for Sunday. l explained that l was never arriving on Sunday and that we did have 2 guys arrive on Sunday. After nearly an hour of waiting and requesting to speak to the hotel mgr, l was finally told by the front desk that they had "found" me a room [...not a great room, no view, the mini-fridge didn't work, and there was no ice machine on the floor -- but at least it had a bed!]. Anyway, l thought everything was worked out, but then when l checked out the front desk charged me over $210 for the 'no show' date of Sunday!!! l was outraged and l will never stay at this hotel again! l will tell all of my colleagues not to stay there. Usually l have good service from Int'cont., but not this time! Very, very disappointed.

Room Tip: They blamed my sec'y for booking the resos online instead of thru the hotel directly [...but rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmedlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you have taken the time, to bring this matter to our attention. We’ve been investigating about this situation, and we were able to notice that your reservations were made through the webpage Google Gbr Search. It is important to inform you that our reservations department, do not take any actions in the information your company gave trough the site. We just receive the reservations already made, if there was a mistake in the arrival date, this one came from the person in charge of making the reservation in the company.

We are really sorry that the reservations were made with the wrong dates that we had to charge the No Show. In this occasion the hotel was at its full capacity, trying to meet your necessities we were able to get you a comfortable room, so that you could enjoy staying with us. We are sorry this effort didn’t meet your expectations.

Just to clarify, all of our rooms have excellent views, some of them to the Pacific ocean and the one you were in, has a view to the beautiful natural and ecological Hurraca park. About the Ice machine, we do have it in different floors of the hotel, also if you don’t feel like walking to get it, for your comfort you are more than welcome to call Instant Service 24hrs and they will bring it up to your room.

Thank you again dear guest, for taking your time to let us know your experience with us, you will always be invited to Int. Miramar in your next visit to Panama City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

The room was very simple, I am used to other Intercontinental with very cosy rooms and nice furniture, this was definitely not the case. Obviously it used to be smokers room, because we could smell it everywhere. Restaurant downstairs was very poor, stuff wasn't botherd speaking english ......hey guys wake up, not whole wolrd speak automaticaly Spanish especially not people from Central Europe . . . .. . .the menu wasn't special either, I had pasta and it was bellow average. Overall if you can, book some other place, this is not the money worth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear costumer, we appreciate your comments and also we want to thank you for taking the time to make a review about our hotel.

Our goal is to provide high quality of goods and service. That is way much of our staff speak English.

I think it is a good opportunity let you know that our hotel is split onto sections; section A Classical Rooms and the section B Modern Rooms. We want to invite you to visit us again, so that we can offer you a room that meets the qualities that you expect.

Also, we have a full restaurant menu, apart from this we offer buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a surprise! Not only is Panama City a vibrant, bustling, energetic city, but the InterContinental Miramar Panama Hotel is a sophisticated and upscale facility. The rooms are well-designed, comfortable, and quiet; the amenities are high-quality, and the hotel, restaurant, and lounge service is good. Location along Panama Bay is convenient to designer shopping, local markets, and the colonial old town of Casco Viejo.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Pacific Ocean - fantastic view of the Ocean, the ships queuing for the Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear guest, we want to thank for your lovely comments about the Panama City and the Intercontinental Miramar Panma Hotel.

It´s extremely important to know, that your experience with the InterContinental Hotel Miramar was good at all.

Thank you once again and we hope to be your host in your next visit to Panama City. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The once so popular Intercontinental Miramar is in need of a total make-over. Apart from the view and the location, the hotel has not a lot to offer. The service could be a lot better. The room was clean.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank magdak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

We want to thank you for your opinion, and we will take care of any detail to be better.

Thank you once again and we hope you choose Miramar in your future travel plan to assign you in one of our newly remodeled rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I've stayed at the Intercontinental in other cities and it was fine, so I thought that it would be the same in Panama City. The view if good, if you like looking at 5 lane traffic in 2 directions. I was on the club floor. There is no bathtub, the thermostat for the air conditioning was non-functioning (either on or off, no temperature control), the shallow sink didn't have a stopper so I couldn't wash my clothes. There was only one bathrobe in a room for 2 people, and it took 3 phone calls to the "instant service" holine to get another one. The scale in the bathroom didn't work. It took another 3 phone calls to make it operational. The hotel has its own overpriced car service and doesn't allow regular taxis to enter its driveway to take passengers, so we had to go out on the highway to get our own taxi. The hotel service charges $25 for a $10 taxi ride. The staff is mostly unresponsive to these issues. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear customer, we appreciate you taking part of your valuable time to write about your experience at our hotel, it's a shame that we have not exceeded your expectations, however, I would like to inform you that we do have rooms with bathtub and I remember very well that you requested us complimentary breakfast in your rate prior your arrival and we did it, but we did not received a request for a room with a bathtub.

Furthermore, I offer you my sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction that you might have experienced in our hotel.

Regarding the taxi service at the hotel, we recommend the tourism taxi services because they are safer than yellow taxis, it is not mandatory that our guests have to use the tourism taxi service. The yellow street taxis work 24 hours and can be used by any person, the only suggestion that we make is that these taxis will be taken at your own risk and the hotel does not accept any responsibility.

We know you have many options to stay in Panama, but we would like you to stay with us again, to show that we can do it better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have stayed at the Miramar a number of times over the past few years I have traveled to Panama City, and I must say after these new renovations (new swanky lobby bar), the removal of the executive floor pool, and the somewhat new staff it is no longer a place of choice. There were too many inconsistencies that no one there could really help with, and when we checked out there were erroneous charges on the bill. It has been over two weeks and we have still not yet received our credit for the additional charges that were incorrect on the bill. I would rather be down in Casco Viejo (San Felipe) and deal with smaller bed and breakfast businesses than a bigger hotel that cannot accommodate accordingly.

Room Tip: The higher floors (about 18 and above I think) are renovated and modern, below that they are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dntnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear guest, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Our goal is to provide high quality of goods and services, our hotel has the biggest and beautiful pool of the lodging industry in Panama, as you said we have new staff in front office but they are friendly and helpful as have been mentioned in others review. Regarding your concern about the erroneous charges on your bill please email me at jrivas@miramarpanama.com and I will resolve this shortly.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2013. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff were very helpful. I really liked the pool and the view it offered of some of the skyscrapers in the city. The breakfast and dinner buffets were good and was happy with the choices that were offered. The only drawback - the service at the pool bar/snack bar was very poor and the staff hardly spoke any English. I found the location of the hotel ideal as everything seemed to be a 10 minute cab ride away or sometimes even a long walk.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Guest I am pleased that your expectations were met during your stay in our hotel. I want to thank you for the time that you have taken to tell us about your satisfaction with the pool side, the food offer in our hotel and the staff helpfulness.

Many thank you for your important comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 115 in Panama City
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#9 of 115 in Panama City
791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
4.2 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 115 in Panama City
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Address: Avenida Balboa | Miramar Plaza, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £105 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Panama Bay and the financial district, this luxury Panama City hotel is ideal for business or leisure. Boasting spacious ocean view suites and a scenic walkway that takes you direct to the marina, the hotel is the perfect spot for watching vessels as they enter the famed Panama Canal. Relax at our poolside restaurant or indulge in a spa treatment. You're ideally located for designer shopping and local markets or exploring the colonial old town of Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing