We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Miramar Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Miramar Panama
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

i have stayed at this hotel about 5 times within the past 2 years ,,each time has been a pleasant experience,,,the employees are very professional and welcoming.the 5th floor executive lounge is lovely ,,this is the first time the person working in the lounge was aloof,,he didn't smile both nights ,robert was unfriendly..other guests had commented as well,,perhaps he needs a break !!! Pastor is amazing,,glad he is back at this location,,he goes above and beyond to make guests comfortable{he is the front desk manager} the pool is fabulous,,the breakfast is great,,location is good,,i would suggest to walk behind hotel to catch taxis,,much less expensive,,,the gentleman ,,that helps with luggage is great,,,he was born in bocas del toro,,sorry don't recall his name ,,,,thanks again for an awesome saty !!! housekeeping is wonderful too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from InterContinental Miramar Panama,

Firstly thank you for your kind comments summarizing all of your stays. I already passed this review to all staff and manager for them to read how much you value our services and how loyal you are with us and the brand.

I will also take notes about the service at the club lounge, and take corrective actions. For us is always an honor to have you back, and serve your needs to exceed your expectations.

Below you will find my information, so when you come back we have everything set for you.
Kind Regards and hope to see you back soon!

Hope to see you soon!

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    234
    102
    52
    31
See reviews for
88
173
50
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel offers fantastic ocean views. The rooms are comfortable and the public areas are nice. Choose a concierge level room as the club offers a good breakfast and an afternoon happy hour with tasty snacks. Try for a corner room for enhanced views. But what sets this hotel apart form the others is the staff. Everyone was quite helpful, especially the manager, Mr Valdez. He was extremely accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a club level ocean view corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Panama City,

Firstly thank you for posting your review online, and share your tips and experience with other travelers. I am passing along your comment to all staff, so they keep on offering the best and high quality of hospitality to all our valuable guests like you.

I am happy to read we were able to fulfill your needs in every sense, me and the staff can’t wait to have you back in your next visit to our country. Thank you again for sharing, here you will find my information for any help, question or reservation you might need in the future.

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
pvaldez@miramarpanama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel is facing the ocean, with a beautiful view of the Marina. We do not speak Spanish and we were able to manage with or English. I say manage, because not all the staff speaks English.

We were in a junior suite. We ordered dinner and hate on our balcony the two nights we stayed there. What a wonderful experience it was. Food was excellent and the view "Magnifique".

We would certainly recommend this hotel and return if we go back to Panama..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Panama City,

Firstly thank you for posting and sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read how much you enjoyed the Ocean View from one of our suites, and to complement room service on the balcony.

I will take notes to improve the service at the restaurant english wise. I hope we could be the hostess of your next stay in our beautiful country, It will be an honor to have you back.

Warm Regards,

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel to begin an 12 day tour through Panama, the canal and Costa Rica. The staff at the reception desk were bi-lingual and very helpful. The room was newly refurbished but not at any great expense. There were two queen size beds, OK linens, and not much done to the bathroom. It was clean, but did not look fresh. We asked for more towels and the missing blow dryer. They were delivered fairly quickly. We found out it is better to call the front desk to ask for things for your room then housekeeping. Bi-lingual speakers ended at the front desk. The hotel dining room was a disaster. The staff was friendly but did not have a great command of English or did they know how to serve properly. At dinner they would bring the meal out of order. The buffet at dinner and breakfast was not replenished in a timely fashion. Not good when you want orange juice and coffee at breakfast. The food selections were odd and not tasty. I have traveled around the world and don't mind going with the local customs but the dining room staff was poorly trained, scattered and terribly disorganized. They really don't have their act together. The decor of the hotel could use a face lift inside and out. One would think that in a tropical climate they would have lush landscaping. It was minimal and fairly unimaginative. Although not a terrible experience because the staff really tried but they really need some hospitality training.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View. The Panama city sky line is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Nancy,

Greetings from Panama City,

Firstly thank you for sharing your coments about your recent stay. I will make sure to communicate this to all managers and staff for them to be aware of your feedback about some areas of improvement like the restaurant, food selection, and english speaking staff.
We do our best to improve day by day, and appreciate you have taken the time to let us know some of the things we can do better. I hope that we could be the hostess of your next trip to Panama City, to show you our improvements .

Warm Regards,

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great hotel with an awesome view and located close to great restaurants,definitely stay on concierge level,Robert is great to visit with in the club.The entire staff was always very willing to help.The pool is an awesome place to spend the day.

Room Tip: 24 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRay642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Panama City,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about the hotel during your recent stay. I am happy to read your kind comments about Robert, be sure this review will be known by him, and I am positive this will make his day! We enjoyed having you; don’t miss the opportunity to relax in our pool again in your future visit to Panama City.
Have a wonderful day back home.

Warm Regards,

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from Panama City and had a fabulous stay at the Miramar. We we a little skepitcal at first due to to negative reviews we had read but were extremely happy when we arrived. We were greated by Juan the Bell Man and he escorted us to the front desk and we were taken care of by a young man named Alexis and we were taken care of immediately. Our room was on the 13th. floor and was great, housekeeping was terrific in keeping our room clean and we were made to feel at home by all of the staff. The pool was great and we spent at least four to five hours a day relaxing poolside. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel as it was included with our room and it was fantastic especially the omelets that were prepared to our tastes. The fresh fruit was perfect.
We have traveled all over the world and we were extremely pleased with this hotel, found it very easy to access day or night and had a cab within in seconds of asking for one, so don't be afraid of staying at this wonderful hotel and have a great time while you are in Panama. Our sincere thanks to all of the hotel staff, especially Alexis and Edwin at the front desk.

Room Tip: Simply ask for an Ocean View and enjoy!!! Ac worked very well and was easy to control, safe in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Miramar Panamá,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that our staff fulfilled all of your needs to the point of making your stay really memorable. I will make sure to pass this on to Edwin, Alexis and Juan so they know to keep on offering high standards of hospitality to all of our valuable guests like you.

Remember that InterContinental Miramar Panama will always be your home away from home, so please do not hesitate to let us know when your next visit will be. It will be an honor to host your next stay to keep on offering you relaxing days at our pool, comfortable nights, and delicious food at our restaurant Bay View.

The entire staff remains at your disposal, for anything you might need in the future. Thank you for living the InterContinental Experience with us. Hope you have a wonderful day back home!

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Panama City's InterContinental is about what you'd expect from the brand as well as from a four-star hotel in a major Latin American city. The reception area and public spaces were fresh and clean. Both the rooms and the public spaces were tiled with marble (very pretty and very Latin). We stayed on one of the club level floors. Rooms were spacious enough and we had a lovely view of the bay and the city, but the tile did kind of amplify sound and we could hear our neighbors.

The hotel is conveniently located. It's an easy cab ride -- or long stroll -- to all major attractions (including old town and the Causeway, where canal cruise boats dock). There are also several nice dining options a couple of blocks away.

Again, as with many larger hotels in Latin America, The Panama InterContinental seems obsessed with air conditioning. Both our room and the common areas were freezing. Our room was set at 65 degrees F. The only way to warm the room was to turn the AC off completely. This didn't bother me, but my husband, who requires AC, was not amused.

Food was okay, about what you'd expect from a hotel restaurant. Both breakfast and dinner offer a buffet. We ate both. There was a plentiful variety of food for both meals. The quality ranged from pretty good to a little below Costco. Breakfast was included, so I can't complain about that. And some of the things on the buffet really were quite tasty.

The staff was friendly and did their best to be helpful.

I did have some issues with the spa, but they were resolved to my satisfaction. I would stay there again, but would not use the spa.

Room Tip: Book a club floor room and ask for an ocean view (one side of the hotel has city views; not as nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Panama City,

It is a pleasure to read all of your kind comments and specially that you took the time to point out all of the good service and perks received by the hotel during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what was great and what there is still a room for improvement, Is by feedback like yours that help us improve day by day.

I will pass this on to all managers in charge, as well as to the SPA owner in order for him to make corrective actions in his department as well as to verify the AC in the rooms.

InterContinental will be always your home away from home if your future travels bring you back to our country. I don’t want you or your family to miss the views, food, facilities and locations we offer as you previously mentioned.

I and the entire team remains at your disposal and hope to see you back with us!!

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#14 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Property: InterContinental Miramar Panama
Address: Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#27 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Panama Bay and the financial district, this luxury Panama City hotel is ideal for business or leisure. Boasting spacious ocean view suites and a scenic walkway that takes you direct to the marina, the hotel is the perfect spot for watching vessels as they enter the famed Panama Canal. Relax at our poolside restaurant or indulge in a spa treatment. You're ideally located for designer shopping and local markets or exploring the colonial old town of Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing