We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love love love”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This place was really great. You absolutely cannot beat the view from the canal view rooms. Our Carlson Gold status scored us a sweet upgrade to a Master Suite - perfect for our family of four. They have a play structure for the kiddos and the pools are nice. The breakfast spread is great, and there's a rotating menu.

I had to take off a star because the wifi was pretty much non-existent in our room. It only worked on a narrow corner of the balcony, and there not very well.

If we come back to Panama, I'd gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for the Canal View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrollerPacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest:


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.

We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    489
    189
    75
    35
See reviews for
347
399
73
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The view from the bayside of the hotel is great. be sure to ask for a room with a view of the bridge and bay. Otherwise you will get a view of the parking lot. It is worth it. The hotel itself is just OK. Nice pool and a great view, and there is a TGI Fridays in the hotel. Service is mediocre, and most front desk staff treat you more like an annoyance than a customer. It does have free wifi which worked well, and free breakfast which was good. The walls are thin in the rooms to the point that you can hear people talking as if they were in your own room. Not so good. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, but the problem is that there is no market in the hotel, or near the hotel, so you can't really use it, unless you rent a taxi to drive you to the store, and its not real close. Actually that is the other problem. There is nothing except one local restaurant (which was cheap and fun BTW) within walking distance. You have to take a taxi everywhere. It is a good place if you don't want to do anything but swim and eat there. It is only a 5$ Taxi ride out the Amador causeway to the island where the Smithsonian is, with many fine restaurants and a fantastic view of the city. Highly recommend that. Also the Miraflores locks of the Panama Canal are a short (but expensive 20$) ride from the hotel, but worth it. I would not recommend Casca Viejo (the old colonial city) dangerous area, and not really much to see. Overall, I would probably stay there again for a short visit, but not a long one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest:


We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition with TGI Fridays Restaurant, wiffi service and also the other incidents. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Mr Jack Cordoba our Manager on duty.


Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centroamérica
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's not as modern, but just the fact that you can sit on the terrace, and while having breakfast watch the ships enter the canal, it's worth a stay...

The service was good, breakfast was varied and delicious, and it's very close to a famous concert hall where many important concerts are held.

So if you happen to go to Panama on business or pleasure and don't need to be so close to downtown, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitante10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest:


We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The canal view was great, but I have never encountered such a rude front desk staff (not everyone, but most). It was so bad that I decided to write a review - my first. The gal at the check-in counter (Yma) was probably the most rude person I've ever dealt with. Then when my husband and I went to check out, we couldn't find anyone to help us (it was early). We waited a while then rang the bell, then a guy came up to the counter. It turns out the employee was sitting in the lobby the whole time, saw us, and ignored us. We told him that we got a couple of things from the mini-bar and wanted to pay for it because we knew housekeeping hadn't had a chance to record it. The man (he didn't wear a name tag) scolded my husband numerous times for not knowing exactly what we got. We told him everything we could think of. This continued for a few minutes, with our driver waiting for us. I finally told him that if we forgot to mention something, which we didn't think we did, we'll call it even because we didn't have any hot water the whole time. He ignored me completely then continued to chew out my husband! First of all, we were the ones who brought up the mini-bar and we were being honest. Not all guests would have done that. And, we were never told in the first place that we were supposed to track it! I will say though that a couple of the employees were friendly, but the other two were so awful that I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALD302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Andrea:


Pedimos disculpas por el decepcionante servicio recibido de nuestro personal. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your comments mentioned to our Front Desk Manager, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel room is adequate, most rooms over the past couple of years have been "updated". The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are pleasant and helpful. The selling point for this hotel is the view! Enjoy a cocktail or two while watching boats and ships transiting the canal. We've have stayed several times over the past 4 years and it is always because of this view. Maintenance is not a major concern at this place. From our first stay to our most recent the hot tub has been being "repaired" ;).

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount and get a room with a balcony and view of the canal. So so worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions,on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Not luxurious, but it was perfect for our group of 20. Breakfast was a large buffet style and there was plenty to choose from. Decent rooms, and it was clean. The view from the patio is AMAZING and I would go back just for that!!! Great service and quiet location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a view of the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Melissa:


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well, let me begin with the good points of our stay. The best thing we noticed from this hotel was the friedlyness of all of the staff. Everyone was always helpful and friendly to us (maybe because we spoke Spanish fluently). We decided to upgrade our room to a canal view and the total was a very resonable $148.50 for the eight nights we stayed there. The room was clean and spacious since we got a junior suite that included also two flat screen televisions. The pool was always clean and big. The view of the big carrier ships slowly moving towards the bridge of the Americas was awesome as it was the beautiful sunsets behind the bridge of the Americas as you can see by the pictures. The breakfast was very good and it was always served for quite a long time, so if you needed to sleep a little late it is no problem. Maid service was good and always provided us with clean towels and misc. needed.

Now, the negative points of this hotel. I would have to start with their restaurant. This is where they served their daily breakfast. The seat cushions were white (at some point), and all of them were stained with coffee and black stains of some kind. This is a shame, since this would be an easy fix by just cleaning them or just replacing them for a better color and fabric. We decided to try their dinner and was very disappointing. Very expensive, and the waiter that served us, was clearly drunk ("Ernesto") as we could clearly smell alcohol on his breath. During breakfast I tried to warm up my food on a small microwave they have but it was unplugged. I had to ask one of the girls there to plug it for me. The problem? The AC power plug was being shared with the hot water used for instant coffee and chocolate. (WTF?) I also tried to toast some bread on a small old toaster but it got stuck and smoke started to come out of it. The ice maker on our floor was not working so I had to go up one floor up to get some, the food from the TGIF restaurant was average and also expensive, there were no ATM facilities inside the hotel. We had to pay for a taxi to go to "Perico" island, about three miles away to get some cash needed.
Finally, our room was just above the pool area, and the second night we noticed this loud music coming from below our room. It was midnight, and even with the door closed we could still hear this music blasting. I called the front desk and they told me it was music emanating from a disco not far from there. The next morning we found it was from any disco music, but from two loudspeakers that were just below our room for people using the pool. Second (WTF?).

All in all, we did enjoyed our stay in Panama, even with all of the minor problems from the hotel. The most we liked was the friendly Panamenians, and the beauty of the country. But next time we go, we will not stay this hotel.

Room Tip: The extra money to pay for a canal room view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Frank:


Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.


We appreciate your good comments and suggestions about your last stay with us. Also sorry to hear that your unsatisfactory experiencewith the services. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed all issues with our team work, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,161 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
549 reviews
9.2 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
914 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing