We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Inn & Suites, Panama Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites, Panama Canal”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While visiting Panama, this hotel was recommended by a couple who had worked and lived in the country for years. We changed our reservation to this hotel and were glad we did. Great view of the canal and the causeway bridge from the balcony. Suite was comfortable. Large, well kept swimming pools. Our refrigerator leaked water all over the floor the first day, but it was replaced within a couple of hours. There is a Fridays restaurant attached to the hotel, but the menu is different than it is in the States; good but different. Famous Balboa Yacht club is a block or two away. Good buffet breakfast is complimentary. Use the taxi service provided by the hotel, as it is safe, reliable (they picked us up from Casco Viejo at our specified time), and the same price as commercial taxis.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 3rd or 4th floor, facing the canal as near to the center of the hotel as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlahuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    471
    188
    72
    35
See reviews for
332
391
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panamá City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly located between the panama canal and cost way Amador, means breathtaking sunset/sunrise views, windy weather and a lot of activities to develop around. Breakfast included was awesome, food amenities like mermelade, butter, chesse cream, maple honey are always available. For dinner or lunch you can get room service from Friday's Restaurante located on the hotel facilities. Fully recommended at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Better to get a canal view room. Breathtaking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jero420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jero420,



Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.



Also thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Confortable rooms, good canal views, and restaurant services.



On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!



Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I came to this hotel as it was the location of a conference I participated in. The bed is comfortable, the views lovely (even if you don't have a water view), and the towels fluffy and clean. The pool is big (long enough to swim laps!!). Things generally work smoothly here, the staff is very friendly, and the value is good. It's not luxurious, but it's very good and I definitely enjoyed my stay!
The AC is a bit loud, so it's a great noise breaker while it's on, but it gets quiet when it shuts off. A colleague had a room near the elevator and it was too loud, so he moved, so just be aware of that. I had a basket of snacks (bar) in my room, but other colleagues didn't, so bring your own snacks, if needed!
Housekeeping came to my room multiple times, which I thought was a bit strange: to pick up the towels, to mop/tidy, and to replace towels.
There isn't too much to see/do immediately nearby, and to get to the city is through some rougher neighborhoods so taking a taxi is recommended.
The breakfast buffet varies a little bit each day, but they always have coffee, fruit, cereal, yogurt, something hot, and a variety of pastries/muffins/bagels. Service is fast, and they clear my plate immediately after I've finished eating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ennaidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Cons: the hotel is located quite far from any interesting attraction, so you need to take cabs constantly; The men staff is rude, and they spend a considerable amount of time checking out ladies in the swimming pool; The breakfast is pretty much nothing, no real options besides bread and eggs.

Pros: It is very clean; The room is amazing, very big, nice bathtub, comfortable mattress; There is a cab available pretty much all the time right in front of the hotel; It is relatively cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthurgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beware night staff...

Good: I arrived about 11:00 am and asked an early check-in. I knew hotel was sold out an wanted to beat the scores of people behind me. Front desk person (Orlando Temple) did an outstanding job and found an available room.

Bad:
My room had a parking lot view and was next to the elevator with the bell ringing all night. Didn't really care cause I got the early check-in.

I had an early morning canal transit and scheduled a 3:30 wake-up call. The call didn't come till 3:50.

Taxi driver wanted $12for the standard $5 fare back to marina Flamenco. Night manager at Country Inn (Desmond) and he also said that would be the fare. It was clear they had an "understanding" so to speak.
Other crew members received fares ranging from $7 to $10 at the same time period.

Beware of the night manager at Country Inn.

I would not stay here again. There are several other hotel options on/near Causeway and marina Flamenco.

Room Tip: Not next to an elevator. (1124)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear SanMo,


Thank you very much for choosing our property on your recent visit to Panama!


We appreciate you took the time to share your experience about the need to improve by some of our Front Desk staff.


Actually we dont have a night Manager working very early in the morning, for this reason it is very strange to when we hear this situation, but we apologize for inconvenience mentioned about the taxi and also we apologize for incident with the wake up call 20 minutes later. I have addressed all your issues mentioned with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived at 3pm to a an extremely rude receptionist that couldn't guarantee us a room. She said the rooms vacated that day hadn't yet been cleaned and the house keeping staff had all but left for the day.... Despite huge turnover, of 6 yachts (120 people in total) leaving and 3 yachts arriving they were unprepared and quite frankly rude about everything. We we're made wait in reception without any guarantee of a room for the next two hours. By 4pm you would expect them to have cleaned all the rooms! Finally a room became available or rather clean. Nice room, empty mini bar, no room service after 11 and rather crap bar staff in the adjacent TGI fridays. Only plus points would be a decent bed and a Samsung TV!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyFairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Anthony Fairweather,


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your recent visit to Panama!


We appreciate you took the time to share your experience about the need to improve by some of our Front Desk staff, we apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service, thats why we are especially sad to hear that your last stay not was like you was waiting and we assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future.


Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed 1 night to catch a flight out. Hotel is very clean. The staff during check in was friendly and professional. I ate next door at TGI Fridays (recommended by hotel staff).The service was very, very poor though the food was OK. The hotel has a great view of the canal and the bridge of the Americas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear jlg07,


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit


Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in the hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our nice canal view rooms where you can see the ships entering and leaving the Panama Canal so close and all services.


We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area and enjoy again our beautiful canal view rooms and location near to the Panama Canal.



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#28 of 116 in Panama City
480 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
742 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing