We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The service, quality of the rooms and hotel staff are exceptional! We can not say enough wonderful things about how accommodating the Bristol is at handling our children's food allergies. Julio was outstanding and truly went out of his way to help us with our son. The rooms were enormous and the quality of the bedding, towels and furnishings were amazing. The internet service was great. The spa and gym are great with an excellent staff. I would highly recommend the hotel for a business trip or a family get away. The only issue is the pool is that of a true city hotel and therefore quite small.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We were more tan happy to help and prepare you some special meals for your children. I know how stressfull this could be and it is our duty to give to our guests the best posible experience in Panama.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama and wish you a Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    196
    32
    22
    13
See reviews for
109
276
43
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Bristol Panama was recommended by a business associate living in Panama. He knows my taste for quality and exceptional service and was confident that the Bristol would meet my expectations.

The recently-renovated building is beautiful as are the grounds. The restaurant and bar are lovely as was the food and drink. The service was exceptional. The room was just a little smaller than I would have preferred, and I think that the AC was not quite as cold as I would have liked it to have been. The crown molding and antique furnishings went a long way toward mitigating these minor distractions.

With so many options available, it is possible that I will try another hotel when I book my next trip to Panama City. However, there is no doubt that I will return to The Bristol, and that it may find its place as the only place for me.

Room Tip: Try a room in the recently-renovated Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HF1clTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food from our well known Chef Cuquita.

Next time, I kindly suggest you to have a Spa treatment on our last floor, from the relaxing room, you will be able to see the all bay.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama and wish you a Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

There are several nice hotels in Panama City and we choose the Bristol for our most recent stay....great location and relatively polished service in a small upscale property in the heart of the city. You can walk to lots of places and the hotel has a nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuseumTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food from our well known Chef Cuquita.

Next time, I kindly suggest you to have a Spa treatment on our last floor, from the relaxing room, you will be able to see the all bay.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel ranks right up there in fine hotels worldwide and I've stayed in many. Excellent condition, amenities, staff and reasonably priced. Not cheap but reasonable for what you get in comparison to other choices. Quiet stated elegance with an excellent restaurant and even for those interested, I'm not, a bar scene and disco. Emphasize quiet and elegant.

Room Tip: Choose view side otherwise you're right next to another building even as high as ten floors up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCP43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food from our well known Chef Cuquita.

Next time, I kindly suggest you to have a Spa treatment on our last floor, from the relaxing room, you will be able to see the all bay.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent the first two nights of our trip to Panama at the Bristol. While the surroundings are a little commercial and seem a little dirty and run down, the Bristol was an oasis in the middle of it all. Once inside it is hard to tell where in the world you are - you are just in a fine, comfortable hotel with a friendly staff. Some might miss the local flavor, but the large assortment of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel still allows you to experience Panama City.

After our initial stay we spent about a week traveling around Panama and returned to the Bristol. It was nice to end our trip back in the comfortable confines of the Bristol before the long trip home.

We had two issues on our second stay. The first issue we had was the water in our room did not work in the evening. We had a similar problem in Bocas del Toro, but there is a big difference between a remote island and Panama City. We called the front desk who said they would send someone. About 30 minutes later with no results we called again. Again, they said that they would send someone. About 30 minutes later the water was working, no one from the staff ever did respond to the request. But the water did work.

The second issue was the sound from the bar echoed through the hotel until very late in the night. We are not sure if there was a different event the second time we were there, or the fact that we were on a lower floor and much closer to the bar was the problem. Nevertheless, if you are a light sleeper make sure you request a room as far above the bar as you can get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Please accept my sinceres apologies for the incoveniences that you had during your stay in the hotel and this wáter problem issue. I will investigate when this happen as I have not been reported from y staff regarding this shortage problema during one evening.

I am happy to see that you liked the hotel and make sure to correct the two issues that you mentionned me.

We hope to welcome you during your next visit to Panama and have a complete different experience of The Bristol.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A plaque outside the hotel reads, " One of the Leading Hotels in the World." The rooms are nice, workers are generally courteous--but the staff is not well trained enough to merit that rating. Example: they let us know the water would be for a few hours, which turned into the whole day--ok, understandable. However, their attitude (to me and others was essentially, "too bad, so sad you are inconvenienced because you stayed at our hotel when we happen to have issues." They did nothing to mitigate those circumstances. That evening, after telling me the water would be out for 20 min, I ran for an hour and came back sweaty. The water was still out and I had to struggle to let me take a shower in the spa (which they said wasn't possible). The staff made no arrangements for bottled water. The water never came back on, so they finally moved me to another room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Please accept my sinceres apologies for the incoveniences that you had during your stay in the hotel especially with wáter issue.

I will investigate when this happen as I never been aware of a wáter shortage lately and definitly my staff must be there to help our guests.

We hope to welcome you during your next visit to Panama and have a complete different experience of The Bristol.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I very much enjoyed the Bristol. Luxurious is the word that comes to mind. The decor is a cross between an upscale European feel and vintage Hollywood from the 1920s. The restaurant (salsipuedes) was tasty, and their breakfast buffet was yummy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food from our well known Chef Cuquita.

Next time, I kindly suggest you to have a Spa treatment on our last floor, from the relaxing room, you will be able to see the all bay.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA

Property: The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Panama City
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing