We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sheraton Panama City left me cold...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Panama
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Sheraton Panama City left me cold...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The room was typical for a Sheraton and was adequate for a few days' stay. The bed, however, was not very comfortable and it frequently caused me to awaken in the middle of the night with soreness in limbs and shoulders. I didn't see anything special about the location, although the hotel is part of the convention center complex.

My biggest complaint was that for three days it was impossible to get hot water in the shower. On the first morning there, I notified the front desk of the problem, but it was never resolved. Every morning I had to will myself to get into a cold shower before heading off to conduct business. The strange thing was that warm (not hot) water was available from the faucet in the bathroom, but hot water never reached the shower. Anecdotal evidence from colleagues staying at the Sheraton was that hot water was once available at 5:00 in the morning and another time at 11:30 at night, but no one was able to get a hot shower at a reasonable time.

I will be traveling back to Panama City later this year and I may, for various work reasons, have to stay at the Sheraton again. If so, I can only hope that their hot water problems are fixed by then.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT_Yank_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
July 28 , 2012

Dear Joeb1249: Thank very much to take to time to share with us your experience in our hotel. We are deeply sorry about your inconvenient with the hot water in your room. Your feedback is very important for our organization. We will take care of this situation. We hope we will have the opportunity to seeing you during your next trip.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    207
    85
    32
    27
See reviews for
88
77
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, A
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is awesome! The room was huge, the prices were reasonable. They helped me with my WIFI and the staff was very nice (except for a lady that was rude at the pastry shop to the gringos and the man that rolled his eyes when I ordered a drink at the lobby bar. The breakfast was also a bit expensive. Despite that, I recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
July 28, 2012

Dear Chipcouncil: We greatly appreciate your generous compliments about our property and services. We are sorry about the inconvenient at our Restaurant and Lobby Bar, we will take care of this situation. We are happy to know that you were able to enjoy our gym . We hope you will have the chance to come back and visit us again.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very nice rooms with comfortable beds. Fantastic gym with lots of workout equipment. Jimmy restaurant down the street good with reasonable prices

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chucky954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
July 28, 2012

Dear Chucky 954: Thank very much for all your compliments about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and opinions. We hope you will have the chance to come back and visit us again.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed twice, both times was charged $50 for mini bar, and one time was double charged. Just had it opened to check it out and the other time to store my sandwich. Never consumed a thing. Two months later only one charge removed. Credit card company taking over.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewardessFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
July 28, 2012

Dear StewardessFI: thank you for your comments, your feedback is very important for our organization. We are deeply sorry about this inconvenient with the Mini Bar Charge Charges. We hope we will have the opportunity to seeing you again during your next trip to Panama.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedberg, Bayern
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

... not the hotel or the staff is the reason for that judgment but the surrounding area ... Else I enjoyed the Sheraton standard and the lounge on the top floor ...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Support-Klaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Panama, June 16, 2012

Dear Support-Klaus: Thank you so much to take your time to share with us your experience here at Sheraton Panama Hotel, Your feedback is very importan for us. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next travel to Panama.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed a few days for a trade expo at the other side of the street, location very convenient.
Has everything you should expect from a Sheraton hotel. Staff is really kind, helped me immediately with wifi-connection, adapter and some other questions I had.
Decent (though not great) breakfast buffet and bar and restaurant pretty good as well.
Gym looked great but could not use it (too busy and lazy).
Bit pricey (probably because of the expo) and charging extra for wifi is not of this era anymore. Any (business) hotel should include this is room rate these days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Panama, June 8, 2012

Dear Gerard L: Thank very much for your comments acknowledging our staff. We strive to provide good service for our clients and your experience and feedback with us are greatly appreciated by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next travel.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend in late May 2012 before we departed for more remote locations in Panama, and then for 1 night after we returned.

It was a great experience. The front desk staff and the concierge were always very helpful, especially considering I speak only a little Spanish and my friend spoke none. We used the office facility and the pool during our stay, and both were very nice. There is a nice lobby bar, and also a casino connected to the hotel. The valet is complimentary. The location is directly across a small street from the Convention Center. There were always well-dressed hotel guests from all over Latin America coming and going in the lobby.

Although the rates are probably a bit high for Panama standards, I would stay here again, especially if I can do so using credit card points. They have good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Panamá, June 7,2012

Dear Jon M: Thank for your Kind note and comments acknowledging our staff and service. Your feedback and opinion are very important for us. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again and visit our hotel.

Best regards,
Fernando Cardoso
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#38 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#44 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
2.9 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Panama

Property: Sheraton Grand Panama
Address: Via Israel y Calle 77 | San Francisco, Panama City 0819, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#19 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#27 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Panama Hotel & Convention Center is a deluxe five-star hotel perfectly situated in the heart of Panama City’s business and financial district. Enjoy superb amenities and the proximity of Tocumen International Airport and the Atlapa Convention Center, which is located just across the street from the hotel. This luxury hotel in Panama City is surrounded by premier leisure attractions such as the famous Multiplaza Shopping Mall and the shops and restaurants of Old Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Panama City Hotel Panama City
Panama City Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing