We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Executive Hotel
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I wished I could give this hotel a better review, but the shortcomings are just too many. On the positive side, it is well located, clean, good sized flat screen TV and definitely good enough for the spartan mindset. It is not a bad value choice compared to the neighboring alternatives. But the placed is badly needing updating. Furniture is really old and basic. The whole place better reminds a hospital than a hotel. The door had some visible gaps that allowed hallway noise to seep in. I could hear the next door guests talking and laughing. They were not being loud; the walls were just that thin. There is a shy attempt at an in-room coffee maker that raises serious doubts about its reliability and integrity. There is no decoration or a dab of color in the room. Just a stern, sterile and underfurnished room. I am as value conscious as they come, but I just can't recommend this hotel when I would not stay here myself again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank ragrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at the Executive Hotel for six days while visiting Panama City on vacation. The room was small but clean and everything worked although the air conditioning unit was a little on the noisy side. The hotel is located in the banking district of the city and is with walking distance of several nice restaurants. The hotel has a good restaurant on the property that has a very good buffet breakfast each morning. The service is prompt and very efficient and friendly. It has WiFi, big screen TVs, and exercise area and pool. It's located in a safe part of the city. One tip is to never get a taxi at the front of the hotel because it seems that the taxi drivers charge more than if you hail a taxi at the corner. Most employees speak some English but they appreciate it if greeted in Spanish. Un monmento por favor, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

On Sunday we enjoy brunch at different restaurants and or hotel restaurants.
A recent brunch at the Executive hotel was one of the best! In a pleasant atmosphere,
it appeared there were many Panamanian families dining. We did not have the
breakfast buffet but rather ordered from the menu. I had the Heuvos a la Ranchero.
WOW - the best eggs I have had - 2 sunny-side up eggs smothered in salsa which
had a nice heat level (not too hot or too tame) It looked like there was a layer of
refritos under the eggs, and the breakfast came with 2 hash brown potato patties
and 2 pieces of toast. A freind had the French Toast - look out, these are 4 thick
pieces and looked delicious. He took 2 home for dessert - imagine with Nutella and
ice cream. Looking forward to returning for another wonderful brunch with the
Executive hotel and their wonderful ,attentive staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keywestbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed 21-25 November 2012. The room is basic, but sufficient. The bed is OK. Big screen TV. Computer nook. Tiny bathroom. Fridge, coffee maker. Hair dryer (I'm bald, hehe). Balcony with great city views. I must have a balcony, so I only pick hotels with balconies. There is a fantastic restaurant in the hotel, reasonable prices. There is a free breakfast buffet, and it is actually pretty decent. There is no pool, as it's being renovated or whatnot. There is a lot of construction going on nearby, but it's not really troublesome. Panama City has a lot of construction going on everywhere, including a new subway system, so traffic nightmares everywhere. This hotel is really centrally located, close to a lot of restaurants, entertainment, shopping, grocery store, etc. Wi-fi worked nicely. They even give you a free cell phone rental, just pay for the calls, and it's not a rip-off. Staff are really pleasant and helpful, nice. I'd recommend this hotel if you are wanting to be centrally located, want a balcony, and not pay through the nose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, and with a view, away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieHole99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Executive Hotel for 6 nights. The first night we were in a very crowded room (3 beds) on the 9th floor. We changed to a nice, bigger room with only 1 bed. It was clean and comfortable and had a great view of the city looking toward the water. Most of the staff was friendly, helpful and spoke English well. The restaurant had great food at reasonable prices (we ate breakfast there daily and two lunches). Only complaints-- the hallways had a very musty smell and they forgot our wake-up call on our last day.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosieronthemoove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay in Panama City. There are some fun disco just 7 min by walking. The location is just between España Street and Calle 50. It´s a beautiful district that you can feel safe. The facilities of the hotel is regular and the service is not that good, but I think in general are all like that. The sound of the cars in a peek time is just horrible but i is not a big problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cezar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Returned to The Executive Hotel after many years of staying at other high priced hotels and will make The Executive my hotel to stay at while in Panama from now on, the room was clean and quiet, the A/C worked very well and kept my room nice and cool, the service from the staff was very helpful, great views from the balconie and a good free breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors for the great views off the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBlairs_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 115 in Panama City
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#42 of 115 in Panama City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#65 of 115 in Panama City
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#37 of 115 in Panama City
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Hotel

Address: Aquilino de la Guardia Street 52nd | Panama Zone 5, Panama City 0816, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £53 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Executive Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the downtown financial district of Panama City , Panama, The Executive Hotel has been the only choice among discerning international business and holiday travelers for over 45 years. While our tradition of award-winning service has set The Executive as the city's most privileged address, it is our warm, personalized hospitality that brings our guests back to us again and again. Whether you're arriving for the first time or the fiftieth, you will be welcomed as family. Each of the 102 beautifully appointed rooms and suites at The Executive Hotel Panama City blends contemporary design and decor with fully modernized comfort. Whether you're visiting Panama City for business, a family vacation or a weekend getaway, our accommodation has been designed to be an exceptionally tranquil and relaxing retreat. On your next visit to Panama City, discover the timeless style and refined service of The Executive Hotel.We look forward to having you as our guest. Spacious floor plans feature plush bedding, hypoallergenic pillows and deluxe linens. Modern amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, fully equipped desk space, 42" flat screen LCD televisions, mini refrigerators with bottled water, . All rooms offer a private balcony with soundproofed double-paned doors. The Executive Hotel boutique, allows guests to enjoy a productive stay while staying with us. Guests also have access to facilities like Gym, Lobby Bar Gallery and American-style Restaurant. Facilities for meetings and events, The Executive Hotel offers everything customers need for productive travel in Panama City, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Panama City
The Executive Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing