We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day and nitght”

Amador Causeway (Calzada de Amador)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Panama City's Top Tour
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Half Day Panama Canal, Amador Causeway and Old Town Tour
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Panama Canal Miraflores Locks and City Tour
Ranked #9 of 174 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located at the southern entrance of the Panama Canal and stretching nearly three kilometers into the Pacific Ocean, this popular causeway features many tourist-related venues and activities including hotels, restaurants, and jogging and biking trails.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Day and nitght”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Its a beautiful place by day to have a walk, rent a bike, fish from a dock or grab a nice lunch ( lot of cafes and restaurants). At night time is full of night clubs, bars, and always check for activities and concerts. Avoid the place on Sundays afternoon unless you like big crowds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElPiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,426
    1,151
    490
    135
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very safe and nice area”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This área is huge, you can start near Balboa and the yacht club, walk along the Canal, (the mango trees are public property, eat all you can pick), enjoy the cool Pacific sea breeze, out on the 3 islands at the end is a Smithsonian Reserve open to the public, and restaurantes for every taste and budget. Look for signs of the heavy gun batterys that protected the Canal in WWII, near playitas there are sloths in the trees. The small boat anchorages are full of cruising yachts from every seafaring nation. You will want to keep coming back like the locals do.... Note, Sundays can be crowded and a little chaotic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sailor_mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Some shops, mostly bars and restaurants”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

You can drive all the way to the end of the causeway, a duty free shop awaits you. There are small trinket shops but mostly bars in this area that on two visits here are sparsely populated. The grown of Panama City has driven most traffic to the more developed areas. The causeway does have nice views of downtown good for a few photographs, I would go here for Lunch and the view but that is about it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“quite isolated”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We wanted to go there, but had difficulties finding a taxi who wanted to get us there for a reazonable fee. When we finally arrived, the driver let us out at the site where the Museo de la Biodiversidad is being constructed since quite a number of years (it was supposed to have opened already), and we walked the complete way to the end (as the Causeway is the connection of the mainland to the small Atlantic islands of Naos, Perico, Culebra and Flamenco, the end is the island furthest away). The views are nice, and there are some viewing platforms on the way. Maybe it was because we went out of season, but we had the impression that it wasn´t really taken care of, so we saw a lot of rubbish lying about. There are a lot of commercial businesses at the side, most of them huge places that don´t look too interesting, but you can make good purchases at the dutyfree at the end, and it was nice to have a beer at a terrace nearby (a minor point : these terraces are next to the car park).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Area”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Amador Causeway is a relatively new area catering to tourists. It was developed from stone dug for the Canal. There is a lovely walk along it entirety, maybe 2 miles. It is clean and you will see people biking, walking and taking pictures. There is a Duty Free Shop, but I think it was priced high compared to what we could purchase in the states. It is mostly perfumes, sunglasses and lots of GUESS products.
There are lots of great restaurants with prices ranging from $ to $$$$. Menus are available to review. Many are still in Spanish and it is difficult to understand. We ate at Mi Ranchito on Saturday and the food was all good, mid range. Monday night it was Lenos and Carbon, Gourmet. They were both open on Monday night. The night before we could not get in. The food is great. We had the Paella which easily fed 2 adults. The Sangria was the best I had. We also had the Onion Soup and Caesar Salad. Plenty of food for two people. They have a nice wine and beer selection.
This restaurant overlooks the city skyline and is usually quite busy. I agree that Bucaneers is overpriced. Be advised that MONDAY on the Causeway is slow, Many places are closed because (according to the taxi driver) they work very hard on the weekend and then relax on Monday. There is a native Indian market that is delightful. The Employees do not push anything on you and it is difficult to deal on products. Our thought was to pay what they were asking because it is all handmade and the Indians need the money. Everything is in American dollars. The fruit smoothies are very good, next to the rib place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaileyBoy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amador Causeway (Calzada de Amador) also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Amador Causeway (Calzada de Amador)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing