We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and smooth”

Panama Canal Railway Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$170.00*
and up
Panamá Canal Railway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This tour on the newly restored Panama Canal Railway, the western hemisphere's first transcontinental railroad, follows the east bank of the canal that offers excellent views of the waterway and rainforests along its shoreline.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing and smooth”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are really spending time in Panama and have made the transit by ship, the train is a great way to return to Panama City. Seats are comfortable, there is an observation car (reservations needed) and some food is available while you make the hour journey. Because of the time the train goes, part of the trip may be in darkness. So just relax and enjoy the ride. Stations at both ends of the run are clean and well lit with plenty of available ground transportation. Enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank planner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    140
    54
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great ride”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We took the railway from Colon to Panama City. It was great! We saw the canal and some great scenery. The rail has lovely seats, and make sure you sit up on the top part, where it is a glass roof. And spend some time outside on the deck to enjoy the scenery. They serve little snack boxes too. The only problem was when it arrived back into Panama City (just outside) there was not any taxis waiting to pick up the passengers. We had to walk in the dark to the highway and just hail a cab that way and I didn't feel very safe doing that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waleska, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Panama Railway - Could have been better”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As part of our cruise we took the excursion on the Railroad to see the canal from another perspective. The rail ride was nice. The cars are renovated in a retro look back to the early 1900's. Our guide narrated the trip while we traveled back to the Gatun Lock from Panama City. The railroad played a very important part of the history of Panama and its independence. We saw some beautiful parts of Gatun Lake and saw the locks from another perspective. Unfortunately we had to bus our way back to the ship. The lunch provided was not very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I am sure we would have loved it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived by Cruise Ship on a Saturday. Unfortunately the train does not run on the weekend. You do not want to stay long in Colon so we took a tour to Panama City.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaileyBoy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“a shame the station is situated in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we returned from Colón by railway, and it was a wonderful trip. Both in Colón and in Ciudad de Panamá, the station is located far away from everything, so make sure to get a taxi (and negociate the price!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panama Canal Railway Company also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Panama Canal Railway Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing