We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought it was a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Torres de Alba
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I thought it was a good value”
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We checked into Torres de Alba for 5 nights and I was pretty impressed with the value for what we paid. $85 per night for a three room suite with washer and dryer is good by Panama City standards. The hotel itself is decent, if not nice. They were doing some painting while we were there so the hallways smelt of wet paint, but we had no problems. It's well located in El Cangrejo, next to the Veneto Casino. There's a place immediately below the hotel with free wireless. The rooms were pretty good although the low-flo toilets don't work all that well. The staff was courteous. The breakfast was okay but about par for what we've seen in other establishments down here. The horns from the taxis and red devils outside do echo in your ears in the morning so try for a higher floor if possible.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank getlostonpurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    128
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
81
73
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

I read the two previous reviews and guess I'd fall somewhere between the two. Wasn't amazed by my experience at Torres de Alba, but I didn't really have any complaints either.

The suites are VERY spacious, much larger than I had expected. Yes, the furniture is dated in terms of style, but it was comfortable and in very good condition.

The kitchen was well-equipped, with a full-size stove and refrigerator. I found the washer/dryer to be a huge plus, especially for a longer stay, since hotels tend to charge so much for laundry.

The pool was small but clean and attractive. The exercise room was small but modern and has everything you need for a whole body workout.

A breakfast buffet was included, and was not great but not awful.

The location could not be better--right in the heart of El Cangrejo with restaurants, shops, cafes, casinos all nearby. Yes, there is street noise (Panamanian drivers will honk at ANYTHING) but I can't see how you would avoid this except by staying in a more residential area.

Staff were basically indifferent, which was fine since I didn't really need anything, though my guess is you shouldn't expect much.

Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Read the other review and had the opposite experience. The suite was large with large bedroom, kitchen, living room and bathroom. Bathroom was all marble and quite nice. The staff was very friendly. Nice pool and excellent gym with brand new equipment. I thought it was a great deal for the price and comfortable for a long stay. I stayed 2 weeks more than once. It's also centrally located and easy to get to casinos, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of Sao Paulo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

Overall, this hotel is in very mediocre shape, and reminded me of student housing at a university. Washer and dryer are in the kitchen. Kitchens feel as though they are unfinished. Living rooms are anything but comfortable and feel like an eastern-block apartment. Bathroom was in poor shape. The room I was given was nothing close to what was described on their web site. The noise from the street below was unbearable, causing me to switch hotels after 1 hour. This is what I would expect from a $30/night hotel. With so many choices in Panamá within this price range (or cheaper) I'd advise travelers to, at the very minimum, inspect their room prior to checking in. On the positive side, they did not charge me for the hour spent in the room, or for canceling my reservation.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank RS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.5 mi away
Sevilla Suites Apart-Hotel
Sevilla Suites Apart-Hotel
#64 of 114 in Panama City
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#22 of 114 in Panama City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 114 in Panama City
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#42 of 114 in Panama City
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Torres de Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Torres de Alba

Property: Aparthotel Torres de Alba
Address: Av Eusebio A Morales | y 55, El Cangrejo, Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Torres de Alba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, comfort and wide spaces all our suites are equipped with living room, dinning, bathroom, laundry area and kitchen; decorated with an exquisite taste high quality materials and it is designed to maximize the space to host your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Torres de Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Torres De Alba Hotel Panama City
Aparthotel Torres De Alba Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing