We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an overhaul but has its good points!”
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #51 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Needs an overhaul but has its good points!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My room was large and beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a badly chipped tub but the counter was large enough to line up all the toiletries. The first morning the water in the shower never got even up above cold and my hair dryer was broken. I reported it and the reception staff had everything fixed within an hour. The free buffet was average but the wait service for coffee etc was painfully slow and unfriendly. The outdoor restaurant and bar was fantastic. Made a hectic day of work just melt away. Great service and incredible appetizer of chopped beef with rosemary. The pool looked gorgeous but never seemed occupied. Wifi in room was fine. We rented a meeting room for 150 including meal and it was perfect. I will stay again should the opportunity arise. Great value.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest:
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
It our mission to verify every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your comments and opinion are very important as they will ultimately help us identify opportunities for ours and our staff improvement.
We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you made comments or suggestions about and are working hard in ensuring that all our services meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.
In your next visit to Panama, please allow us to host you again. We will work very hard to change your perception of our services by offering our disposition to serve you in a manner you will not soon forget.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    270
    184
    77
    58
See reviews for
193
185
55
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Since my last visit a few years ago there has been significant improvement. I was on the 6th floor (called Executive Floor). Rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. My view was down to Via España (main Avenue) where now they're in the process of constructing a subway station (75% done) so Via España is but one lane today. At one time and hopefully once construction is completed, shops small and large, vendors and restaurants will be active. WI-FI in common areas gave me fits for 2 days but finally issue was solved by hotel staff. Would I return ? Given the right circumstances, yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hotel El Panama, would like to tell you "Thanks to you" for choice us in your last visit to Panama City .
Your comments and appreciations have been very incentive for us, because we are working always thinking about the comfort of all our guests and customers.
On behalf of the country and the progress with the construction of the subway, we issue our apologies, since by the time they are uncomfortable, but at a near future, many advantages by our location for all our visitors.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We missed a flight connection in Panama City, so Copa put us up for the night in this hotel. I would guess at some point in the past this was a very nice hotel, but it looks as if it hasn't been maintained very well, as it shows its age. The room was a bit musty as well and the buffet meals were not very inspiring.

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable, the room was very large, and the free Internet was reasonably fast.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rgeXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear guest
We extend our thanks for take a few minutes of your time to qualify us through this ways. We are very pleased, you have detailed about our facilities, as these comments are of inspiration which leads us to continue to work towards continuous improvements and to provide care and comfort that each of our guests.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed there for vacation 3 nights while in Panama.Too old,needs restoration and food average.
During breakfast or dinner needed to be following up the waitress to get service. Next time in Panama will look for another option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titita013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Please receive warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.

It is our mission to check every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your feedback and opinions are very important to us. We have been working day by day to improve our services; equally we have new areas that have been remodeled for the comfort of our guests.

We thank you to provide us the opportunity to compensate any discomfort on your next stay. Thank you for your understanding and remain your disposal for any further information.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel El Panama is a nice place in downtown Panama. A nice place to visit nearby is Cosway . Hospitality and restaurant was fantastic. Pool Side restaurant is perfect to have dinner irrespective it is little warm outside.
Room I stayed was pretty good with two huge beds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anurag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest:
Please receive a warm greeting on behalf of El Panama Hotel`s entire team.
We would like to thank you for chose us, at the same time thanks for write your experiences about our facilities with such good references.
We work day by day to be the best hosts for our guests, in faithfulness to his election to visit Panama City.
Thanks again and for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us.
We will be waiting for you to multiply our best efforts and serve as you deserve.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Staff is very friendly, and they make their best. The rooms are very big, and beds are good, great plasma screens and very nice pool. However the place is overall a bit run down and it has obviously seen better days, that is why I am not sure it is a five star hotel. The price is not expensive and breakfast it is good, but if you are looking for luxury it is probably not the best alternative in the city.

Room Tip: get a view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest:

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews about our hotel.

It is our responsibility to check every detail of our quality and services provided by our group of collaborators and the renovation of our facilities. Therefore have been very important your comments and suggestions, since your comments are the contributions that help our corporation to improved the process and thus provides an optimum service.

We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.

We thank you for your preference.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Since the last time we stayed at the El Panama, many things have changed. Much of the construction work at the hotel is done and a lobby bar was added. Unfortunately, the service has declined (so as common sense, might I add). They started by getting my reservation wrong. Had asked for a cabana, had to settle, for the first night, to an "Executive" room which didn't even have curtains! Not great for sleeping when they are building a subway station in the middle of the night right in front of your room. Don't bother complaining, you won't even get an apology. The generally think they are doing you a favo by letting you stay at the hotel.

Also, note that the prices at the hotel restaurant have skyrocketed lately. A steak I used to pay 25$ is now double that and, the quality has not followed the price.

On a positive note, they still have one of the great pools in the city...

Disappointing...

Room Tip: If you must go, definitely get a poolside cabana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear guest

Hotel El Panama, thank you, chooses again to return to Panama City.
We appreciate your comments and special recommendations about the cabañas and our pool.
We apologies for any inconvenience caused for the process with your room reservation. On behalf of the progress of the country and the construction of the subway, we want offer our apologies too, this is a project that advance quickly, and will bring us many advantages for our location with the transportation to all tourist.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#38 of 114 in Panama City
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#39 of 114 in Panama City
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Property: Hotel El Panama
Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#9 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#31 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing