We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home in Panama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #52 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home in Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

El Panamá has maintained the air, elegance, courtesy and character of a venerable institution, whilst adding the modern amenities and excellence of service of present day first class hotels. The high quality and attitude of all the personnel, both in direct contact with guests and in the back offices, welcome, polite, considerate and well-mannered, are among its most important assets. The relatively recently remodelled rooms are excellent, the location optimum and the huge well-managed ground area of the hotel impressive in this day and age. The steaks in the poolside grill are delicious and always cooked to perfection. Having stayed there about twenty times in the last ten years, most recently in May 2013, I can state that I know of no better hotel in central America which I prefer to arrive at, and, to employ a cliché sincerely: it is my home away from home in Panamá. Richard Illingworth

Room Tip: 5th Floor and above, with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest
Please, receive our regards and special thanks for selecting at the Panama Hotel.
We have no words to express our joy to read your assessments so encouraging, not only of our facilities, if not with your experience with human warmth of the staff.
On your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us; we are working to be your best hosts.

Thank you for choosing us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    263
    178
    76
    56
See reviews for
187
180
53
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location is great, are a lot of hotels just in front o near, the price if you make a reservation is on 130 dolars if you don't madke a reservation the price could easily be 200 dolars or more. If you want some party this hotel give you the change to find something close or you can go to the casino, the pool or the bar-karaoke. If you want to rest maybe you need to find other hotel because in the nigth of the saturday at 2 am we can heard the music in the others hotels.

Room Tip: maybe if best if you ask for a room with view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and this definitively in not a 5 star, at least not the rooms in the 3 floor. This hotel is huge, but in need of major renovations. As soon as I entered the room the small of humidity was intense and bothersome, I had to ask 3 times before they send something. The room was very specious but with skimpy, old furniture (the drawers in the dresser were falling apart), the curtains did not worked, neither the plug in the bathtub. The temperature was freezing despite adjustments to the thermostat. I was there on business and I needed rest, nevertheless I could hear the music in the middle on the night. They rent to last floor for parties and it’s very noisy. This hotel has a lot of potential, but is not there yet. For now I would not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aracelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest:
Kindest regards and our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We want to share with you at this time we are renewing our most basic rooms. We also invite you to our exclusive floors with special amenities and personalized service.
regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The rooms were a bit noisy for me, especially the loud buses and early morning church bells rattling around the tiled room. The clunky old aircon didn't help either. I stayed here on business and had a good time. The pool and bar/restaurant complex was relaxing. The conference facilities and main conference hall were huge. The casino, I'm not so sure about, but it provided an interesting distraction.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms around the pool area lower down and not in the main tower would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank da_griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest:
Receive our greetings and thanks for joining us during your event. We welcome your participation in our facilities qualifies. We are already taking forecasts as to change equipment and sound insulation, as our city is growing rapidly and therefore have not been affected by increased noise.
Please do not hesitate to contact us; we invite you to view our renovations.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is beautifully designed and it has an accomodating lobby area, and you can really feel spacious with great access in the city center. But it really needs improvements in the training of the staff. And they need help with the logistics, and overall companionship between the staff.

They have all the hardware, but the software needs some improvements. The phone system is basic, and you can feel the recepcionist is somewhat indifferent to certain guests.

Room Tip: stay on the 4th floor or the 7th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chafungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest:
Receive our greetings, we wish to thank both their qualifications in terms of amenities offered during your stay.
We consider it very important feedback on our team of workers; it is our opportunity to continue our training and customer service processes, but especially now with more emphasis.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel El Panama, Panama City
The hotel is situated at a convenient distance from the airport. It has a fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The rooms have free WiFi and good speed broadband. The flat screen TV have access to cable TV with CNN and other needed channels. The cabanas have direct access to the pool area. The restaurant is ordinary and lacks items that are on the menu. The hallways need cleaning badly, they smell and looks filthy and are not at par with the rooms.
We would go back to this hotel in spite of the substandard restaurants and the dirty hallways.

Room Tip: The Cabanas have direct access to the pool area, very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oerelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.
We would like thanks you, because you are selected us in this visit to the city of Panama. We value each of your assessments through these page and give us the opportunity to make corrections in our processes and facilities.
We are continuing work to be your best hosts, hope your back soon, please do not hesitate to contact us

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Location was good. Stayed for the convention. The hotel room was roomy but main facility is old. Some of my colleagues could not get hot water in shower, View from room was not so good due to subway construction. Several good restraunt within walking distance, but due to subway construction, it was difficult to cross road. Also, there was traffic jams in the morning and evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranitajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest:
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, we want to thank, for chosen us in celebration of your event.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and opinions. We offer our apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us, and the works that are done in order to optimize transportation for citizens and visitors that are finishing very soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#38 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#40 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#27 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Property: Hotel El Panama
Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#9 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing