We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, Mostly Bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
Ranked #52 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My first hint was when our local tour guide asked why we chose this location over the County Inn and Suites on the Canal...This hotel's condition and furnishings are dated for American standards and the management appears to recognize this with the amount construction going on. The construction workers seem to be very energetic, (as they started work as the sun rose between 6:30 am and 7:00 am, removing tile or concrete with a hammer and chisel...tap...tap...tap...) If you are staying just above the breakfast area, you will not need to worry about the construction noise as it will be drowned out from the traffic noise that comes in through the broken window.

Overall the bathroom we had lacked a working shower head and a fan to remove the humidity. Also, be careful in the tub as ours was very slick.

On the upside, the pool area was clean. The rooms, while dated and needing attention, were clean. Breakfast was also very plentiful, although some of the food appeared to have some common traits with the food from the TGI Fridays next door. Security in this area also appeared to be good.

A good evening meal can be found at the Grill (can't remember the name) on he other side of the Chinese Casino. Service was very good, reasonably priced and came with a few good smiles.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HornsFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Panama City, Panama!

We are happy you enjoyed our free WIFI connectivity, full breakfast buffet

We would appreciate you write us as to learn more regarding your experience in our hotel.

Our associates strive to offer guests like you a warm, welcoming experience. They will be very motivated by your comments

Again, many thanks and best regards,

Country Inn & Suites Panama City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

This is an exceedingly friendly hotel with helpful, accommodating staff. Because I returned three times, they greeted me extra-warmly. Be sure to leave a credit card impression at the desk or you won’t be able to sign for room service from Friday’s.

There is a good breakfast with 4 stations. I didn’t notice the fresh fruit station (by the newspapers) until my second day. The hotel offers free internet in the business center and there are 6 computers available.

Room 325 has a view of the side street. It has a balcony, but the air conditioners for several rooms are on it. The balcony is not accessible.

Room 305 is smaller than 325 but it it had an upgraded and larger bathroom. It faces the main street. Its balcony also has four air onditioners and it is noisy at night.

My last room was 326 was right over the entrance and very similar to 325. Has a larger expanse of windows and only one air-conditioning unit on the balcony, so it is quiet. The only odd thing about this room is that the mattress did not fit the box-springs -- it was smaller.

I am pretty sure each of the three rooms were rennovated rooms.

The location is good, close to the Canal Zone, the domestic airport and El Dorado Mall which has a good food court. Also Citibank is about 1 1/2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed here as part of a small group tour. The first impression was not good. The staff in reception were less than welcoming and not very professional. The quality of the rooms varies . The first room we stayed in, at the rear of the hotel, had no natural light, as it looked out on to the concrete wall of the neighbouring high rise development. In addition the water temperature in the shower barely reached luke warm. However the second room situated to the front of the property was bigger and better, with good hot water and with at least natural daylight, although with a viiew of a derelict lot.

The TGI Friday restaurant attached to the hotel is noisy and dimly light, but with a lively atmosphere.

One of the few good features of the hotel was the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My husband and I were booked into this hotel on our "Grit and Glory" tour of the Panama Canal through Elderhostel, now Exploritas. I read the reviews and asked to be booked somewhere else - then was assured that this hotel is just fine. Well, it isn't fine.

Our first room was dank, with a window that faced a huge concrete wall. It was so large that we couldn't tell if it was day or night - sunny or raining. Everything needed to be upgraded. After complaining and being promised a different room, the staff told me they had changed their mind and we would stay in our current room. I demanded to talk to the manager, who did move us to a different room with a window. Also, this new room was next to a room being renovated, so we spent a couple hours in the afternoon listening to hammers and electric tools. Since it was pouring rain, it took this much noise and aggravation to push us out to explore around the hotel. Also, the free internet didn't work except standing under one of the wireless routers in the hall.

Hotel is located in a busy downtown area, nowhere near the much more interesting former Canal Zone or historical areas.

Walking into this hotel totally soured our feelings for the entire "Grit and Glory" tour of the Panama Canal - that we really enjoyed up until this last day. If I were recommending this tour to someone, I would strongly recommend skipping the last night in this hotel and spend the money to go back and stay somewhere interesting and acceptable - like the Amador Country Inn and Suites in the Former Canal Zone. Even if it's free, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VillasdePalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I recommend you stay away from this hotel.

It is operated under license of the Carlson Company and has a sister property in Panama City named the Country Inn & Suites Amador. We stayed in both properties and the Amador location overlooking the Pacific entrance to the Panama Canal is a very nice property and should not be confused with El Dorado.

At the El Dorado, we were put into a room with a view of an air conditioning duct and a wall. Some daylight filtered into the air shaft, but not much. The room was small and badly furnished with shop-worn, dirty looking furnishings.

The public areas were not well tended with standing water at the foot of the stairs and a smell of ripe garbage in the stairwell.

This property has had other bad reviews and when our booking agent recommended we stay there we mentioned the bad reviews and were reassured that the hotel was not as reported. Trust me; it is as reported or worse. We have reported our experience to the booking agent and requested compensation. We shall see.

We complained to the property manager who somewhat reluctantly moved us into another room for the second night of our stay. The second room at least had a view of the busy street but was also saturated with cigarette or cigar odors. The shower provided a trickle of warm water. A tray of dirty plates from room service remained outside of our door for more than 24-hours and was there when we left.

The hotel is on a busy commercial street with few attractive restaurants or other points of interest within a reasonable walking distance. The restaurant on property is a TGI Friday's and is no more interesting than any other in the chain. The hotel advertises free high-speed internet connectivity and that is the case if you are willing to stand in the outdoor hallways under the router antennas.

Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I stayed one night at the beginning of a week long trip to Panama and found the hotel to be pretty much what you expect from say a Hampton Inn in the States. Clean, well equipped room with nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Staff helpfully arranged an early morning return taxi ride to the nearby Metropolitan Park. A highlight was the freshly cooked breakfast, much better than you expect in a similar establishment in the US

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrossmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I had the misfortune to spend 2 nights at this hotel on a trip through Panama. It was booked by the Travel Agency I used who I have advised of the same.

The room was filthy and smelt very musty. The hot water was tepid and the Front Desk most unhelpful.

To be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mango74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#87 of 115 in Panama City
97 reviews
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 115 in Panama City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 115 in Panama City
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
1.6 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#54 of 115 in Panama City
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama

Address: Blvd El Dorado Calle 23 1/2b N, Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Country Inn & Suites hotel on El Dorado Boulevard is located in one of the best areas of Panama City, close to the Panama Canal, US Consulate and US Embassy. You will find great dining and nightlife conveniently located near us. We are walking distance from El Dorado Mall and Cirsa Casino; and minutes away from Albrook Mall. The amenities offered include Free WiFi, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Business Center and Fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Panama Hotel Panama City
Country Inn And Suites Panama
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing