We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right hotel to stay in Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The right hotel to stay in Panama”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

To celebrate my birthdate, we decided to travel to Panama from November 28th to December 2nd, 2012. Our decision to stay in this hotel was based primarily on location: not in the center of the city nor too far from it. It was the right choice. This hotel is located, as advertised, at a fair distance from the shopping centers and malls of Panama, and close to the highways that leads you to the NW Pacific side of the country.
While in the hotel, we were very pleasantly treated by a staff that always show a sincere smile (smiley people is not that common in Panama). The hotel facilities are fine and the amenities of the rooms suits perfectly your needs. If you are looking for a comfortable and nice place to stay in Panama, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    140
    62
    19
    19
See reviews for
102
80
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is your basic Holiday Inn Express that you would find in a smaller town in the United States. It was clean, updated, and pleasant. The breakfast filled me up every morning and they have a nice business center with lots of computers to use. There is a TGIF connected to it that offers some good food. Also has a pool which looked clean to me, but not very large or private. This hotel seems to be in the city but it was not close to anything I needed, maybe that was just me. Overall, not a bad deal for the price. I am sure it is finished now, but when I was there they were doing lots of construction.

Room Tip: They were doing a lot of construction when I was there, so I assume asking for a "new room"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivingLifeByTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for approximately a week in late February / early March of 2012. Apparently we used the check card (bad move) at the front desk, along with a separate credit card for some other charges. About 6 weeks later, after returning to the States, we started seeing strange charges on the credit card from the Country Inn. We called and contested the charges with our bank and we were able to get it taken off. Then a few weeks later -- this is like 2 months after we stayed at the Country Inn -- they charged us TWICE more for the full amount of our stay on our check card, well over one thousand dollars. We were eventually able to get our money back after some time, but this place is clearly trying to steal people's money. Moral of the story: do not use your check card during international travel, and do not stay at the Country Inn & Suites.

As far as the hotel goes, it was in a good location. That's about all I can say. It was more or less clean. The pool is right next to the kitchen of the Friday's and all the employees of the Friday's come out to smoke on their breaks and stare at the people in the pool. By the way, the Friday's is WAY overpriced. Do not eat there. Walk down the street to Lenos Y Carbon. The only way I would ever stay here again is if they had new management who are not criminals, I had cash, and I was going to take a morning flight from Albrook Airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank futureb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando_Machado, Director of Operations at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Panama City, Panama!

We are pleased you enjoyed our free WIFI connectivity, our plentiful breakfast buffet, and that our location was convenient for your family visit.

Please contact us to our email address cx_panm@countryinns.com. Send yuor full contact information (full name, dates of stay, phone, email address) and all the information regarding the situation you describe.

We strive to offer guests a warm and welcoming experience. The information you share helps us improve constantly.

Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in Panama, before a morning flight. We got this hotel on hotwire.com for $57. The value we got on Hotwire was great, can't beat $57. The hotel is not really near places to walk to for dinner. There are a few restaurants around the corner from the casino. There also really is no shopping or attractions nearby. Our room was small, but clean, except for the shower. The shower had some mold on the tiles. The humidity is so high, and I know it is hard to battle mold in Panama. The bed was comfortable. The elevator had a horrible smell, like vomit. It really needed to be cleaned! The front desk personnel were very friendly and arranged a taxi for us in the morning. The free wi-fi was nice. The pool is small and sits in the middle of the hotel, with no view. It is nice in the evening to use the pool tables for a glass of wine. We did not eat breakfast because we left before it was served. For $57 it was a great value, but not something I would have paid $100 for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here when we first arrived to Panama before we headed off for a cruise.

Upside:
- had a small pool, (my daughter says - it was clean)
- free wi fi
- we were there with friends - so we enjoyed ourselves anyways

Downside:
- in the city, but in the middle of ? nowhere
- rooms very small, musty smell
- breakfast included, service staff not very friendly or pleasant, food not hot, not interesting
- found a cigarette butt on the window sill....yuck


If we had only stayed at this Country Inn and not the one later in our trip near the Panama Canal, we would have written off this chain as place to stay - the alternate one, also not to far from the airport, was in comparison, divine

Room Tip: don't know where to start on this one - ask for a bigger room, if you have to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

very clean and well maintained, the internet was free and worked well all over the building. The swimming pool was cleaned every morning. breakfast better than average. staff friendly and helpful. stayed 7 nights in a room left for a couple of days came back, they didn't have a fridge so they upgraded us to a suite for the next 6 nights (highly recommended) safe and convenient neighborhood. We come to panama for two to three weeks every year. and this was by far the best value I've found in the city. the only downside I've found is parking (although we did always find a spot) the lots fill up at night due to the attached TGI Fridays. already looking forward to next year

Room Tip: if you need to spend more than a few days in the city try to get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

nice big rooms, clean. nice pool. breakfast dinning room with a variety of food which isn't enough for all the groups that stay there. they hardly supply more.

Room Tip: facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#89 of 114 in Panama City
94 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
7.1 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 114 in Panama City
893 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Panama
Hampton By Hilton Panama
#35 of 114 in Panama City
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
Address: Blvd El Dorado Calle 23 1/2b N, Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Country Inn & Suites hotel on El Dorado Boulevard is located in one of the best areas of Panama City, close to the Panama Canal, US Consulate and US Embassy. You will find great dining and nightlife conveniently located near us. We are walking distance from El Dorado Mall and Cirsa Casino; and minutes away from Albrook Mall. The amenities offered include Free WiFi, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Business Center and Fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Panama Hotel Panama City
Country Inn And Suites Panama
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing