We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a really cool place to stay in Panama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riande Granada Urban Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a really cool place to stay in Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The design of this hotel is really modern. It's really well located in the center of panama. The pool is really big and nice. The staff is very nice and the food is amazing! We were really glad to stay there during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanzade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Hanzade,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our fully renovated hotel and that the pool was to your liking. The Solo Restaurant is home to Spanish chef David Quesada and is ranked as one of the nicest restaurants in the city by locals (see degustapanama.com for more information) so I am glad you enjoyed the food. Most of all we are delighted to hear that you found our staff very nice, because providing great service is our first goal.

Hanzade, thank you again for taking the time to give us your opinion. We hope to welcome your other half and yourself very soon.

Kind regards,


Janet Wernli
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    123
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
53
155
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I usually don’t comment on my stays; however, I had to make an exception with this hotel. I ended up at Granada Urban Hotel because a friend who stayed there earlier this year highly recommended it. The Hotel is newly renovated; the lobby is very spacious and has a nice lounge bar at the entrance. The rooms are very comfortable and the decoration delightful. But the best memory I take with myself is without a doubt Solo Restaurant. Not only was the service superb, but the food was delicious…from the bread they serve you at the beginning which is addictive, to the appetizers, main dishes and desserts. I will definitively miss eating here. I cannot end my review without commenting on the hotel’s service; everyone was always helpful and cordial.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Maria,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama. And thank you to your friend who recommended us!

We are pleased to know that our renovated facilities where to your liking and that you enjoyed the unique style of the Riande Granada. Your positive comment about the Solo Restaurant has been communicated to our restaurant staff and they are proud to have exceeded your expectations.

Most of all we are delighted to hear that you found our staff helpful and cordial, as this is an area we are constantly trying to improve.

Maria, we hope to welcome you very soon at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel.

Janet Wernli
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Panama City traffic is almost as bad as Sao Paulo. That means you must choose a hotel near where you want to be in the morning. If you're flying out of the domestic terminal (Air Panama, etc) stay at this hotel. It's about 10 minutes from the terminal -in traffic. Stay at the Riande Airport Hotel, not this one.

Lovely place with awesome rooms for an affordable price. The desk crew were slow and seemed confused, but the welcoming porters were quick and kind.

The Riande is a good clean and safe value in Panama City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainFriendsPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

It is true that traffic in Panama is often congested; fortunately we are located at walking distance from the financial, banking and shopping areas. As you also mentioned, we are close to the Albrook Marcos A. Gelabert International Airport (PAC) for flights with Air Panama. For travelers flying from Panama Tucuman International Airport (PTY) we would recommend the same as you: staying at the Riande Aeropuerto Hotel, Casino & Resort. So thank you for your helpful recommendations to other travelers.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your room and found our porters welcoming, quick and kind. Your comment about our front desk staff has been communicated to them and we will do our best to improve efficiency.

Once again, thank you for your positive comment and we look forward to welcoming you again at one of our two properties.


Janet Wernli
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

i can honesty say that this Hotel is alla bout customer service.
Everyone that i encountered was super friendly and helful from the front desk to the excellent restaurant SOLO,very good food!.
My room was beautiful and was an bigger suprise was how confortable the bed was!
I can tell you i looked at Many venues in the Panama area and this was by far the best!

Room Tip: superior rooms, executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 643Robertl643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Robert,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

We are very happy to hear that the service we provided exceeded your expectations, as this is an area we truly focus on. Your positive comments about our front desk and restaurant staff has been communicated to them and they are glad to have satisfied you.

We also take pride in offering high quality linen in all room types and are delighted to hear you slept well in our comfortable beds.

Robert, once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Janet Wernli
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at several Panama hotels over the last five tears as I travel there for business. The Bristol Hotel was full and I opted for the Riande Urban (over the Marriott which was more expensive.) It is in banking/business section of town close to banks, shopping and restaurants which was good for my business trip. The rooms go from small to large depending on which one you chose; but all are decorated nicely and have cable TV. I had a large corner room. The breakfast in the morning is adequate for Panama, but I found the Bristol breakfast better. I had a very nice dinner of Cornivna (fish similar to grouper) at the hotel restaurant. Telephone service is not great as you have to call the hotel operator for each call which was an inconvenience for business calls. The room was comfortable as well as the bed. The downstairs lobby is very nicely done. The pool was clean and inviting but a little small. Overall, a nice city hotel.
Taxis are pretty inexpensive and available most of the time outside the hotel. You can actually have a less expensive taxi by walking across the street in the small shopping center and just hailing one. The international airport is a 20-30 minute ($25-$30.00) taxi ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear James,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

We are, as you mentioned, ideally located for business travelers because of our proximity to the banking, financial and shopping areas, so thank you for mentioning this as well as giving valuable recommendations concerning taxis in Panama City.

The property has been entirely renovated this year and we are glad you enjoyed our brand new rooms, lobby and signature restaurant.

Our buffet breakfast offers a selection of fresh local fruit, two warm dishes such as eggs or sausage, a waffle maker as well as standard continental breakfast options (toast, cereal, cheese, meat cuts, yogurts and juice). We also feature a reasonably priced à la carte “American Breakfast” menu, if you feel like indulging in something more filling. Please develop on how we could improve our breakfast, so we can better satisfy your needs.

Concerning phone service, I will give you a tip: you can actually phone directly from your room for national calls, by dialing “9” and the phone number. International phone calls have to be processed by our operator simply because some guests do not know the national or area codes of the countries they are phoning. It is meant to make your life easier so we are sorry to hear it didn’t.

James, once again, thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you here at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel very soon.


Janet Wernli
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very nice hotel, good decoration, good rooms, good food.It's in a good situation, near A. España where are the best shops in town. Also near rent a car offices and casino. There is always a taxi at the door and the porter advise you for the best one; he also helps you (as the people from reception), in order to spent your journey.

Room Tip: Street rooms are better than back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Jose,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel, I would like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

Thank you for mentioning our location because we are indeed close to banks, shops, restaurants and casinos in Panama City.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our entirely renovated facilities which have a unique style.

Most importantly, our receptionists and porters are proud to hear that you found them helpful, good service is our prime goal.

Jose, once again thank you for your comments. I hope to welcome you back soon at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel.


Janet Wernli
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

After extensive travel around Central America it was a refreshing experience to arrive at the Riande Granada. The hotel is newly refurbished, very funky decor, with spacious clean and interesting rooms. Attention to detail is excellent. The staff were most helpful and the Manager was outstanding. The hotel is close to lots of restaurants, although the hotel's own restaurant was not to be bypassed. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel, which was also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebGee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiandeHoteles, General Manager at Riande Granada Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Riande Granada Urban Hotel and with a small delay, I would personally like to thank you again for choosing us as your home when visiting Panama.

Your positive comments about my staff and I make me very happy, because exceptional service is always our aim. I’m also happy to hear that the unique design and style of our brand new facilities were to your liking.

Once again, thank you for your review. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.


Sharon de Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#17 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Panama Zen Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riande Granada Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riande Granada Urban Hotel

Property: Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales | El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Granada Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riande Granada Urban Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riande Urban Hotel! We are an urban hotel located in the heart of Panama's financial district and commercial area for the comfort of both business and leisure guests. Our modern boutique hotel was entirely renovated in April 2013 and offers 141 spacious rooms for a productive business trip, leisure or even a shopping expedition in Panama. We offer great service and a chic atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy all your needs: exclusive executive club, a well-equipped business center, free wifi access throughout the hotel; ample meeting rooms, relaxing swimming pool, a wonderful terrace with tanning area, and a 24/7 gym. Our signature restaurant operated by famous Chef David Quesada, "Solo Restaurante" will satisfy the finest palates. You will also find a beautiful artisanal Biergaten with a large selection of beverages and a tasty menu. The hotel also offers 24/7 room service, free buffet breakfast for all guests and Solo Cafe all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Riande Granada Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riande Granada Hotel Panama City
Hotel Riande Granada
Riande Granada Urban Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing