We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Hotel DeVille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DeVille
Ranked #65 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel de Ville is a boutique hotel in the banking area of Panama City.  By boutique, I mean not 'big box' like a Marriott where every little service has a cost.  Staff at HDV are very pleasant and recognize you when you return from your busy day.  We took the hotel shuttle from the airport for $30 for two.  Driver was very friendly and helpful and we saw him daily working as conciege.  We arrived at 9 pm  and were given 2 free welcome drinks at the hotels's bar/restaurant (alkimia).  The sangria is fabulous and the wine was decent.  We had to have more of course, extra drinks range from $3 beer, $4 wine, $5 for sangria.  We also enjoyed very good meal in the restaurant (pesto pasta and 4 cheese pizza).

The rooms were very large with nice furnishings, safe, large showers, and double sinks.  Ice is provided each day and there is a mini-fridge supplied with goodies (we could not find a price list nor did we purchase anything other than a small bottled water which we discovered at check-out was overpriced at $2.50).  Over-priced mini bars are one of my pet peeves.  Water from the tap is actually drinkable in Panama which makes travelling much easier.  The hotel is small in comparison to the buildings around it, meaning that the rooms other than at the front face buildings or a parking garage.  There is not much light and no ability to look out onto the streets.  At first we were disappointed that there was no sunlight but them we realized this was somewhat fortunate because the rooms were protected from the noise of the streets.  During the work week, Panama City is grid locked and very noisy (lots of activities and honking). If you need to give dircctions to get back to your hotel just tell the drivers you are near the Marriott or Royal Casino (a 4 minute walk away).  Taxis to most places in town (not the airports or  canal) are $5 each way but remember to negotiate prior to getting in the cab.  The hotel also provides free wi-fi and a business centre with 2 computers and a printer.

Included in the price of the room is a breakfast (a step up from continental) with eggs, pancakes, bacon on request and lots of fresh fruit, meats &cheeses, cereal, and delicious breads available from  7am to 10am.  Remember to leave the breakfast host with a small tip as she works very hard to keep the room presentable and supplied for the next customers.  The minimum wage in Panama is $1.50 an hour.

Next to the HDV is a luncheon restaurant called Alexi's.  They serve authentic panamanaian food for about $3 or $4.  Most panamanaians' ordered soup and a side of white rice,  then added the 2 items together.  We ordered chicken, rice, salad, beans (for over the rice) and 2 soda drinks.  Total was $10.  We arrived 11:55 with 2 other people and by 12:05 the place was packed (outside eating filled) and non- stop local workers coming and going who were ordering take- out.  They are only open for lunch.

Around the block from the HDV is a great little safe community with lots of restaurant choices.  One street down is the Royal Casino, Beirut restaurant (amazing Lebanese food- try the Taboulleh), Costa Azul (also authentic country fare) and Sushi. 

I would definitely recommend the HDV. Book early and the room prices will be lower - dont pay rack prices as the rooms are not worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Hosta_La_Vista ,
Thank you for your generous compliments which are very much appreciated.We are really proud of our team who are working really hard to give you the best service.
Hosta_La_Vista, we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Nelly Goff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

As part of our trip to Panama, we started at this hotel and ended at this hotel. Of all the places we stayed this had the best breakfast, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, hot dishes all included in the price of the stay.

As the others have mentioned the rooms are very large, we were first on the third floor, and finished on the ground floor, as the windows face a wall they don't open the curtains, as there is nothing to look at.

I also agree with another reviewer the rooms are very dark, total of four lights, two bed side tables each with a lamp, one desk lamp at the other end of the room, and then a ceiling light bulb about 10' up (as the ceilings are very high) Due to the lack of light its very difficult to see what is in your luggage,if they changed the ceiling light bulb to a chandelier with a few more bulbsthe lighting would substantially improve.

Bed was comfortable, linen fresh & clean and soft, pillows were great, I had three great sleeps here.

Also of all the places we stayed this was the only one with a coffee maker in the room (even though only one cup), they also had a safe, clock and blow dryer, but no iron.

They are located in the heart of the business district, there are alot of restaurants within walking distance along with the Multicentral shopping centre.

Great spot to stay, and you also receive a complimentary cocktail.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevada60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear nevada60 ,
First of all than you very much for taking the time to share with us your stay at the DeVille Hotel Boutique.
We strive to deliver excellent service to all of our guests. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing time in Panama and in our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Nelly Goff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just returned from a visit to Panama and stayed in the DeVille. I wanted a hotel that was not so large and polished that I couldn't tell what country I was in. This hotel is great for feeling the city and its identity. The hotels calls itself "boutique" which means it is small and has been redone to have the amenities expected by American travellers. The rooms are quite large and the bathrooms are also large and marble. Good light in bath and huge glass shower. All quite nice. Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean. Linens nice and housekeeping service good. The only less than great thing is that the room itself does not have adequate lighting--rather dark though there is a reading light by the bed that is good. The other thing is that the two windows in the room looked out to a white wall less than 2 feet away. Very little light could get in so room had a shaded light all the time. Staff is very nice and always tried to help and seemed truly happy to help. Breakfast (included) was a simple but completely good offering-different each day but with all the hot and cold items you would want. Only negative would be that the advise of the staff on some restaurants, etc. was not accurate and now I think it was because they had not been there themselves. Still, they were so eager to help that we just adjusted! Restaurant in hotel is very good but they did not have an English menu or a waiter who spoke English. So we ordered chicken! Excellent. Overall, I think anyone looking for a good hotel in a nice part of the city would like this. Not for those looking for the "big box" hotel that looks like most other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

From the moment we entered Hotel DeVille, we were greeted by the most beautiful smiles and engaging personalities of the women (Anik) working the front desk. They could not have been more gracious and helpful. Our room was a good value - it was very large, impeccably clean and well appointed. There was no view to speak of, but we weren't in the room during the day, so it didn't matter. The restaurant has some very nice tapas and serve the best white sangrias I have ever tasted! I'd highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask some questions first....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraGrace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is a gem nested between the skyscrapers of the modern Panama. We had a great stay.
We booked the hotel through Ancon Expedition, who organized a great 4-day Panama trip for my wife and I.
I was looking for some charm, in addition to comfort, and I was very pleased I found both in spades. The hotel has only 33 rooms, beautifully furnished in a European style from early century and has a lot of charm. There are plenty of hotels in central Panama but they all seem to be a big worldwide chain with modern deco. We were looking for something more authentic for our trip.
The hotel is very centrally located to all main restuaruant and attractions, the beds are very comfortable, bathroom is spacious and finished with real marble and the staff was helpful and corteous.
Really nice hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is lovely, well-apponited, and formal yet maintains a small hotel ambiance. .The room was clean. Its located in the middle of the city, great location quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

First, I have to say that the bed we had was absolutely the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The linens are high quality and the mattress is supreme. The room was VERY clean and spacious, and the bathroom was very nice-- large shower, pretty sink area, etc. The room is dark and there's no view, but this doesn't matter because the hotel is located in a dense area and so there is no scenery.

There are a couple of good restaurants very close by. We went to Beirut, which had surprisingly good Lebanese fare.

Staff was friendly and helpful, and there was always someone around when we needed something. Good value considering other options.

Hotel is about 15 minutes from the regional airport and about 20-25 minutes from the international airport. Taxis aren't cheap-- don't expect to pay much less than you would in the States. We paid about $30 each way.

Great hotel. We had no complaints. Also, breakfast was pretty good, with a lot of options.

p.s. Don't come to Panama expecting good coffee. We could never find any.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.6 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#61 of 115 in Panama City
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#42 of 115 in Panama City
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#27 of 115 in Panama City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeVille

Address: Calle 50 y Beatriz M. de Cabal, Panama City 0832, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Panama City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#20 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £40 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeVille 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVille Hotel was conceived as a Beautiful Boutique Hotel, taking you back in time, all the way to the romantic era when Ferdinand de Lesseps was making the first intent in digging the Panama Canal; hence its French name, its comfortable furniture imported from former French colonies, its cozy, quiet oversized rooms, reminding you of other epochs; but also with all modern amenities and services, like Cable TV, minibars, WiFi Internet Access, coffee makers, hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and all other amenities you have come to expect in the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DeVille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Hotel Panama City
Hotel DeVille Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing