We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Panama”
Review of Hotel DeVille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel DeVille
Ranked #64 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel in Panama”
Reviewed 25 January 2008

This little hotel was worth every penny! The rooms are huge, service excellent and very easy access to all of downtown Panama City. I can't say enough about the staff and how nice they were with us. They arainged a taxi to and from the airport at a very reasonable rate, helped with directions around town and gave us a great rate for the beautiful room. After looking at the hotels around town and the busy streets that they are on, I was happy that we found Deville and the quiet street they are located on. Can't say enough good things here...

  • Liked — the staff, the location and the breakfast in the AM
  • Disliked — too close to the action, stayed out too late at night!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panama_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    108
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
144
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

I just returned from Panama and spent two nights at the Hotel DeVille. The DeVille is a lovely, quant, charming hotel that is a refreshing change from the "max" hotels that cluster the rest of the town. Even the standard rooms are enormous and the staff is as friendly as can be. We hired the doorman to taxi us to dinner and return later to pick us up (most doorman at the DeVille also have cars and the hotel encourages them to offer transit service). When our driver returned he walked with us through Casco Viejo and helped us translate a story told by a local artist about the subject matter of his painting. Afterwards he drove us on a mini-tour of the historic district without asking for additional compensation. The round trip service was a whopping $10 but we gladly gave him $15. If the DeVille was located in the US it would be considered a boutique hotel. The location is also very convenient as Calle 50 is very well known to taxi cab drivers and within a few minutes walking to the casinos. Most streets have names but not signs and drivers need references rather than street names to locate the intended destination. I found it very easy to navigate them to the DeVille. If your main goal in PC is gambling then I would suggest staying at the Veneto or another large casino but if you prefer a more quiet residence then the DeVille is superb. It's also across the street from an ATM and has free computers with internet and printers. The breakfast is included and has plenty to offer- vegetarians and meat eaters. The DeVille is a great find. The only imperfection I experienced was when the restaurant (Ten Bistro) was closed so to was the room service.

  • Liked — Amazing quality of rooms- linens, bathrooms, sitting areas
  • Disliked — Limited hours of operation for the room service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CassidyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

With a name like DeVille, I was expecting a Cadillac of a property and the hotel delivered. It's a small hotel that focuses on business travelers but did not look down our on leisure trip. Everything about the rooms is first rate: size, bedding, linens, amenties, selection of programs on TV, large bathroom, etc. We stayed for 2 nights and the maid service was very good too. The hotel is located on a quiet street, yet it is only about 2 blocks to the financial center of town.

  • Liked — overall quality
  • Disliked — open show area that flooded the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

The rooms are great although whilst we were staying there there was a building site next door that started work at around 7am. The staff were friendly enough but really did not seem to want to put themselves out too much. This is shown by the fact that we were locked out of room for an hour on the first night and the receptionist was on the phone to his girlfriend and thought this was more important.

  • Liked — The rooms were spacious
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigDN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We booked to stay at this hotel for 3 nights but extended this to a week we liked it so much. Our room was luxurious, spotlessly clean with a large comfortable bed. The staff speak good English and are very helpful and the location is brilliant – within walking distance of most of Panama City’s restaurants and nightlife. For the price this place is a bargain.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank CarolineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

I spent a night at the Deville before our flight out of PC. We were very impressed – great rooms, beds, and just 3 blocks from the Bristol, so a good location. (we stayed at the Bristol on the same trip - also very nice but more $$$) Does not have 24 rooms service like the Bristol - but is still a very nice hotel and can be much cheaper. Would stay here again!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank crwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2006

We stayed for three nights in this hotel in March 2006. We were delighted with the service, and the spacious room (suite).
It is rated as one of the Author's choices in the Lonely Planet guide, and for good reason. There were slippers and bathrobe provided, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also huge, with an excellent shower (no bathtub). There was a safe in the walk-in closet off the bathroom. The trendy -looking restaurant (Ten) adjacent to the hotel is not worth the money. Food is mediocre and matches the service. The hotel provides a nice hot breakfast included in the price, but go somewhere else for dinner. There is a very trendy restaurant district just a short ($1 or $2) cab ride away. Staff at Hotel DeVille were very helpful, and spoke good English. You get a substantial corporate discount if you fax them a reservation request on business letterhead.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TulliusTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 114 in Panama City
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#40 of 114 in Panama City
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Occidental Panama City
Occidental Panama City
#44 of 114 in Panama City
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#18 of 114 in Panama City
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeVille

Property: Hotel DeVille
Address: Calle 50 y Beatriz M. de Cabal, Panama City 0832, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Panama City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeVille 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVille Hotel was conceived as a Beautiful Boutique Hotel, taking you back in time, all the way to the romantic era when Ferdinand de Lesseps was making the first intent in digging the Panama Canal; hence its French name, its comfortable furniture imported from former French colonies, its cozy, quiet oversized rooms, reminding you of other epochs; but also with all modern amenities and services, like Cable TV, minibars, WiFi Internet Access, coffee makers, hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and all other amenities you have come to expect in the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DeVille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Hotel Panama City
Hotel DeVille Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing