We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeVille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel DeVille
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were looking for something nice after four nights on a sailboat and chose this property. We reserved a junior suite and found it quite nice. The bed was huge after sleeping in a v-berth and the bathroom was bigger than in my house. There was a couch and sitting area and work desk. It was a lovely room for unwinding.

Only thing that I would change about the room would be to add a tub rather than the large walk in shower, which seemed inconsistent with the traditional suite theme.

The check-in was smooth and staff seemed ready to help when asked. We had them set up a taxi that went well. The breakfast was unremarkable but prompt and efficient. I just had some tea, fruit and cereal. There was also eggs and some other choices but we were in a hurry and I did not spend much time looking.

The area around the hotel was confusing to me. We made it easily to the waterfront and walked along the shore while people jogged, biked, rollerbladed and more. It was sunset and it seemed to be teaming with young adults getting in a workout. A great scene. Getting back to the hotel was a little harder, the street pattern made no sense to me and we ended up walking a lot. Could have just hailed a taxi though as they are everywhere and tap there horn to see if you are looking for a ride.

Overall, I thought the Deville had lots of character and was at a scale that I appreciated compared to the skyscrapers that are dominating the skyline these days. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soprisorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    107
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
45
143
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent one night at the Hotel Deville in early December. After a hectic flight, (flights canceled on American due to ice in Dallas, so new flights on United with extremely short layovers) we wanted a quiet, clean and comfortable place to rest for the evening and spend half of the following day. The Deville delivered!!!
Upon arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby is beautiful and very relaxing and inviting. We were taken to our room, Junior Suite,top floor, down the hall to the right when getting off the elevator. Second room from the end on the left. I can't remember the number. (31 maybe???) It had a bit of a view of the front and of the city, over the roof of the neighboring building. No Problem:) Everything was clean and as expected. The bed was heavenly and we slept better than I can ever remember in a hotel. It was a Saturday evening and the area was very quiet. I am a light sleeper and did not hear any noise.
The TV worked well as did the hair dryer and the shower, with plenty of hot water.
We ate dinner in the on site restaurant, which was alright. The service was a bit slow and the food just OK. Nothing special, but not bad either.
We ate at the included buffet in the morning and there was plenty to eat. Not a lot to choose from, but hey, who needs a huge variety. There was sausage and eggs, and many pastries and fruit and juices. You can fill your plate as many times as you like to be sure you get full.
I used the business center to print our airline tickets for our flight that day and it was very efficient and fast. I do not know about WiFi in the room, as I did not use it. My cell phone did not work the entire time I was in Panama, so can't rate that. I guess Verizon does not have permission to use the towers in Panama, or something. Nothing on it worked, and I travel a lot so do know how to set it so it works in foreign countries.
The following morning we walked around the city. The Hotel is in the middle of the financial district surrounded by high rises. You are close enough to walk out to the ocean or walk around the financial district. We found it very interesting. We then hung out in the lobby for about 45 minutes until our driver arrived to take us to Albrook Airport. By the way, anyone needing an excellent driver while in Panama City, Francisco Stanley (f_stanley1@hotmail.com) is the answer. Very knowledgeable, speaks excellent English and several other languages and will take you anywhere you want to go at a reasonable price!!
On our return to Panama City we opted to stay in Casco Viejo for 3 nights and got no sleep. It is party central, all night long!!! Wish we had stayed at the Hotel Deville again and just had our driver take us to Casco Veijo for an afternoon visit.
If we ever return I would definitely stay at the Deville again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
402 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This place was nice. The rooms were extremely spacious and clean. The shower is large with plenty of hot water and very clean! No mold! The bathroom lighting is nice and has an useful mirror to apply make-up. The breakfast is pretty good for being free. Lots of sandwich meat, bread, jello (called Latinas), hot food that varies daily. The people who work there are not very helpful if you don't speak spanish. They could not tell us where we could go to get coffee. The hotel is close to many restaurants and has free parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snipperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
287 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Located in the financial district in the centre of Panama, approx. 3,5 km from the Old town (which can be reached with a nice walk/run on the boulevard along the sea side). Taxi drivers know where to find the hotel. There is a restaurant on side. Check-in at the reception was professional and quick. Rooms are huge with a separate sitting area (sofa and chair) and decorated with classic furniture. Comfortable bed. Good size bathroom with shower. Free, good functioning Internet. Breakfast consists of cereals (sugary ones), cakes, different kind of bread, charcuterie/cheese, fresh fruit, no fresh juices, scrambled/boiled eggs. Staff is friendly. Tours/taxi could be organised via the hotel. Mr Oscar was suggested and we enjoyed his knowledge and professionalism. Price/quality of the hotel is good. A recommendable place to stay in the Financial district in Panama City.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel was excellent, very well located, with large confortable rooms and bathrooms and good breakfast. It´s a good value for money if you compare to other hotels. If I go back to Panama City I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is a charming hotel and its rooms have character. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms but there was plenty of space, with a sitting area as well as a bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. We had everything we needed but there were signs of some slackness in the details. For example, it looked like a lot of care had been put into the original design of the bathroom, yet the toilet seat was made of cheap plastic and wouldn't stay up. There was a small buffet breakfast and the service was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant once and the food was good, although pricey and slow to arrive. We enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't have chosen it if we hadn't got a good deal (it's expensive!).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cowsandmoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed there in September and loved it. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The personnel is friendly and the location is excellent. Would definitely stay there again. The restaurant also has good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepete88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#24 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#37 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#54 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Panama City
Occidental Panama City
#48 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeVille

Property: Hotel DeVille
Address: Calle 50 y Beatriz M. de Cabal, Panama City 0832, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Panama City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeVille 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVille Hotel was conceived as a Beautiful Boutique Hotel, taking you back in time, all the way to the romantic era when Ferdinand de Lesseps was making the first intent in digging the Panama Canal; hence its French name, its comfortable furniture imported from former French colonies, its cozy, quiet oversized rooms, reminding you of other epochs; but also with all modern amenities and services, like Cable TV, minibars, WiFi Internet Access, coffee makers, hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and all other amenities you have come to expect in the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeVille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Hotel Panama City
Hotel DeVille Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing