We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-World Ambiance”

Grapes Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #73 of 1,070 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is situated in one of the rooms of a fully restored private mansion dating back to 1657 and is one of the very first structures built in the old fortified Spanish city. The original walls and arches are skillfully blended into a cosy dining and bar area. We have now expanded further into the old house and now offer private dining
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When you walk into Grapes, it's like walking into a charming restaurant in Italy. The hardwood floors and cask-like decor let you know that wine is imminent!

We had 4 people in our group, and we had 5 items between us. Each dish was very good, and it was fun to try so many things on the menu.

We didn't have reservations but the hostess squeezed us in, and we appreciated that.

Thank WineMavenPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed the visit and appreciate your taking time to submit a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Had a very good meal... Shrimp cooked to perfection, beautiful salad with avocados, and a deliciously tart lemon meringue pie. My only complaint is the noise level. We were given a very large square table for the six of us. I couldn't hear the couple across from me. I could barely hear my husband next to me unless I leaned in. The keyboard music and conversations of other diners overwhelmed the good food. This was a Thursday night... Cannot imagine Friday or Saturday.

Thank Cgpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Firstly, thank you very much for the review and we are happy you enjoyed the food!
Yes, some nights it gets a bit noisey as our guests tend to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of a Grapes experience . At these times the "locals get vocal" but generally most don't notice !

Maybe they get over excited at being in such a world famous restaurant!

Good news is on the way though as we extend further into this old (1672) house . We hope to open the extension soon with more space and a private dining room. Hope to see you again and please let us know in advance so we can reserve a quiet corner for your party .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

we were lucky to be informed by the staff of our hotel about this place. We made reservations (needed) and dressed for the evening which was by al means great. The atmosphere and placing of the tables was great as was the lights it was just perfect. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines and did some nice suggestions. The menu gave us a variety of choices of meat and fish and tailor made orders were not a problem at all. The climate is nice: not too cold and the pace of serving the food is excellent (no rushing at all) We really admired this restaurant and had a great time here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and especially for taking time out to write a review. ! It's very encouraging for all of here at Grapes to learn you had an enjoyable visit. We are expanding further into the house to accomodate the demand . Given the property was built in 1672 this has proved quite a challenge . We have taken over one of the bedrooms to facilitate this . Should be manageable given this beautiful old property has 11!
Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had high hopes about Grapes when we made a reservation this week. It had come recommended by friends and colleagues here in Panama City, but a rare solo night out for my wife and I was overshadowed by that blight on restaurants here in Panama City; poor service.
Despite booking 3/4 days in advance we had a call on the afternoon of our reservation to say there had been a 'mistake' and could we sit an hour earlier? That put paid to our plans for pre-dinner drinks in Casco.
The restaurant is currently in a temporary, less attractive, location across the road while remodeling is being completed. This wasn't mentioned at time of booking.
Our order at the restaurant for an aperitif cocktail never appeared and once the starters arrived we told the waiter not to bother. The first THREE of our wine choices were not available necessitating a wait until after the starter had been served for the wine to arrive.
My Sea Bass entree was cold when it arrived as was one of our side dishes. When returned, they were obviously rapidly microwaved. They were still not much warmer when they were returned and we didn't eat them. I would have returned them a second time but our waiter, who was generally pretty attentive, had gone AWOL.
The upside was the food we did eat, particularly the starters, were delicious. The tuna tartar and ceviche we had, were two of the best plates of food we've eaten in Panama. The balance of flavors in the tartar were perfect. Good food overshadowed by poor service.
The waiter did deduct the cost of our cold entree and side dish from the meal, but at that stage the damage had been done. A real shame.

Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are truly sorry to hear of your experience. Firstly you should have been told of our restaurant remodeling which is now underway. We did think of just closing in this period but our customers asked if we could provide the Grapes menu at our Pips cafe (located in Casa Antigua hotel) some five minutes from Grapes restaurant and we agreed to try.
This has proved to be quite a challenge and we apologize for failing to provide the service level you were entitled to expect.
We would really like you to try the Grapes experience in the original restaurant (dating back to 1672) as soon as we reopen. This should be in a weeks time . This will give us a chance to make amends and your visit will be as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we value every comment and hope to see you soon again at Grapes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cosy and personalized service. The restaurant is located in the historic old section of Panama City and in walking distance to the Presidential Palace. The tuna tartare starter and the slow cooked lamb shank were both exquisite in quality and presentation. The main was hot and so were the vegetables which was Brussel spouts.
The service was efficient and yet relaxing, we never felt rushed. The wine list was extensive with a wide range of affordable wines suit every palate. Grapes is great for all entertaining for any occasion, it has a great ambiance which make one feel very comfortable. This restaurant will always be on my radar for gourmet dining whenever I am in Panama.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cecile d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please come to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grapes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Grapes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing