We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, beware some of the rooms are tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New hotel, beware some of the rooms are tiny”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The room I was assigned was about the smallest I have come across in a Hilton property. The "exec" chair was at the side of the desk as there was no room to fit it between the end of the bed and the desk. Effectively making the desk useless
When I complained I was told that was the only size room they had, I asked them to transfer my reservation to the Doubletree which they did, I duly left
Throughout this the staff were very helpful

Room Tip: Make sure you establish the size of room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
On behalf of all the Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Panama staff, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you've had during in your stay. We would like to thank you for your patience and consideration.
We are looking forward to offering an exceptional service and each of your comments will be taken into account.
You can count on us and your satisfaction is our priority.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    289
    100
    31
    21
See reviews for
145
198
63
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Excellent hotel with all the neccessary amenities of a Hilton hotel. It is very new and clean and superbly located in the buisness district, opposite to the Veneto and next to Apartahotel. The customer service by all employees was outstanding especially Miguel at the front desk who was always willing and helpful, also the front desk spoke English. We chose a room with with king bed and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and wonderful little hot tub area at the top with great views. It is a very safe area to walk around at night, with some nice bars and restaurants in walking distance- especially enjoyed the peruvian food at Macchu Picchu restaurant, and the show at Las tinajas. There is a lot of construction in Panama city, so if a little noise bothers you then ask for a room facing away from construction- however this was not a problem for us as we were always out during the daytime. If you are looking for best price- try booking.com where we were able to get a rate of USD $75 per night , not including 10% tax. Overall panama city is a wonderful vacation- don't miss out the canal and casco antiguo- and Hilton garden inn is the newest most affordable place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lennondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I had one night in Panama and stayed here for the good rate I got on Expedia and its central location. It's new so the room was great, very clean and comfy bed. The hotel is very business like, it's your standard Hilton Garden Inn. In fact you can't tell your in another country once inside, and that's both good and bad. It has no local feel to it.

OK so the pros: Free wifi in room plus a business center with 3 computers; large flat screen TV in room; free breakfast (at least with my booking); roof top jacuzzi with city views; accross the street from a casino if that's your thing.

Cons: no real cons except that I checked in at 3:30pm and the room wasn't ready until after 4pm.

Staff was friendly and helpful giving tips for sightseeing and local restaurants. Taxi to/from the airport is about $28 each way so might not be convenient if you have a quick layover but definitely a good place to stay if you have business in the city.

Room Tip: There is a new building under construction taking place behind the hotel so a front view room might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmartin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Tatiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I selected this hotel based on the web claim of complimentary airport transfer. When I arrived there was no transfer. A nice bilingual gentleman at the airport used his cell phone to call the hotel for me where I was advised there was no shuttle. I paid $30 for a taxi. When I arrived at the hotel, the room was extremely hot. The refrigerator was hot and not even turned on. The ice machine on my floor was not hooked up. The bed mattress which was supposed to be adjustable did not work (maybe it was not plugged in?). The AC quit working during the night leaving the room uncomfortably warm. There were smears of what appeared to be glue on several door and wall surfaces in the room. I twice asked to speak to the manager and was promised that he would contact me. He never did. Now for the good: The rate was reasonable (I probably should not have expected the transfer to show up at that price). The location is good. It is in a walkable area with many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few minutes walk. The staff though poorly trained were eager to please. This property has much potential, but at this time is not ready for the Hilton name.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huaschalocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
On behalf of all the Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Panama staff, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you've had during in your stay and also with the airport shuttle we make some changes in our page about this theme. We would like to thank you for your patience and consideration.
We are looking forward to offering an exceptional service and each of your comments will be taken into account.
You can count on us and your satisfaction is our priority.
Sincerely,


Tatiana Angulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband & I stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights (21 & 22 July) and were really impressed with the service, the comfort of our room, breakfast and overall value for money. I made the booking on bookings.com and was a little worried that I couldnt find a review on the hotel, but it was in a good location and the photos looked good, so we thought we would give it a try. The rate we booked was for room only & in the special requests section, I cheekily asked for complimentary breakfast. Surprisingly, they honoured my request, providing us with complimentary breakfast & it was fantastic with lovely fresh fruit, a good variety of hot & cold foods, great service and eggs cooked to order (yummy omelettes!). Being a hotelier myself, I would be proud to manage a property of this quality with such lovely well-trained and friendly staff. Well done Hilton!!

Room Tip: I booked a king room on bookings.com & ended up being allocated room 1009 which was very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escargot748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Tatiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This property was recently opened in May 2012 and is not entirely complete. Despite the construction on several floors, it is a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, we were met by a comedy of errors from well meaning, but not well trained staff. On the hotel website, it indicated free airport transfer. When booking our hotel stay, we requested to be picked up at the airport upon arrival. However, we cleared customs and there was no one there. When we called the hotel, they were dumbfounded but said they would have someone there in 20 minutes. One more call and one hour later, we were picked up. At check-in, they had trouble processing our AMEX card. The next day, they didn't have trouble with it. When we went up to our room, neither key worked. Maintenance had to come up and change the battery in the card reader. In the evenings for turndowns, they left one set of towels for four people. When we checked out, they charged us $50 for the airport transfer. They said the free airport transfer on the website was a mistake. We challenged it and the fee was removed. The property is very beautiful and the staff are very nice and well meaning. As they become more experienced in their jobs, this will be a great hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Make sure you are several floors above the floors that are under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
On behalf of all the Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Panama staff, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you've had during in your stay and, at the same time,
We would like to thank you for your patience and consideration.
We are looking forward to offering an exceptional service and each of your comments will be taken into account.
You can count on us and your satisfaction is our priority.
Sincerely,

Tatiana Angulo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.6 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#41 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Panama

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Address: Eusebio A Morales y calle 49 A oeste | El Cangrejo, Bellavista, Ciudad de Panamá, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing