We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel, good location, but noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
Broome, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean hostel, good location, but noisy”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and had loads of great information and were very helpful. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in a room which faced an internal opening so we got no breeze and the high ceiling fan meant we didn't get much relief from the heat. Also, having internally opening windows, and openings above the doors for ventilation means the place is always noisy. We really struggles with the noise at nights. The rooftop has great views but lacks any shade and there was no existent bar whence were here mid-Jan (there was a little area which looked rundown, with a chair?). The included breakfast and coffee was a good start to the day. The large common lounge area was nicely laid out relax (unless there are 3 people spread all over the couches sleeping, from the night before?) but it's not good for watching tv or anything. The shared bathrooms were generally clean and very spacious.

Avoid rooms with no external windows.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    78
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
81
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed two nights in a private room for two, including the very basics: two lockers(need to bring your own lock thought, or rent one), fan, shower (with hot water), toilet, view to a narrow alley. The room was really noisy, earplugs were a must if you planned to sleep any. The reception were really friendly. Breakfast worked (as I guess in most hostels in general) as self-service mode, with first come first eat the goodies provided by the hostel, which were bananas, toasted bread, peanut butter, jam and coffee. Wi-Fi worked well, no issues. The main advantage of the hotel is the location in the heart of Panama City's small old town, Casco Viejo. Good restaurants and bars on a safe walking distance away, with tourist police on guard on every street corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, in top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed in the hostel 3 times, once I arrived first time and in between san blas island and st. catalina tours. The hostel is an excellent choice in the old historic part of panama. 30 min. By foot to the city center, 5 min by taxi. But there is enough to see and go out around the hostel. Restaurants, a small supermarket and bars, some souvenir shops, i felt very safe.
Lockers in the room ( bring your own lock) good mattresses, towel and linen for free.
Nice balconies for almost ever room with a great view over casco viejo or the canal.
Great rooftop terrace, lounge room, clean kitchen, luggage storage and very helpful staff going the extra mile for organizing a trip or activities.

I stayed first in a dorm, then in a private room with shared bathroom. The bathroom was cleaned
about 4x a day!! And laundry service was available for $4 per load.

Overall I can highly recommend this place for a stay in panama city. Great location, awesome friendly staff (english and spanish) and good value for a hostel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokomo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Ideal location in Casco Viejo and very good value. Myself and my husband spent one night here in a private room with bathroom. Basic, as expected, but clean. It was particularly warm when we stayed in December, the ceiling fan helps, but not much. But like I say, it was a cheap sleep. Quirky decoration. Nice rooftop bar - wasn't open when we went up there early evening but you could buy drinks in ground floor reception to take up. Assume it did open later though as during the night it became very noisy! The large concrete spaces simply help the noise to echo. But there was also noise coming from the main square out front. Above room doors there are grills open to the corridor, so again you hear noise coming through these.

Staff were friendly and generally helpful. There was a woman on reception desk early evening who wasn't as keen to help when we asked if we could book a taxi - no , we were told. However on check out the next morning the guy at the desk offered to book us a cab (it wasn't any cheaper or any more reputable however! Easy enough to just flag one down and negotiate yourself). The guys on check in were talking about trips that can be booked, so there are options for advice on further travel. Good English spoken too. Also were able to check into our room early so that was a bonus.

There is wifi, husband got it working, but I didn't. He didn't have any problems with reception signal.

Depends what you are looking for - cheap sleep in a good location, then bring ear plugs and you'll be grand!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The first night we stayed was a Saturday, and it was unbelievably noisy. We anticipated a bit of typical hostel noise, but were completely unprepared for the dance club music blasted at a volume which vibrated the walls of our room. The second night was much quieter, but only in comparison to the first. The style of the hostel is cute and colorful, and the murals on the walls add a distinct charm. The location is fantastic. In our private room, the shower was powerful and hot with a very nice shower head. While I was a bit curious about how clean our bathroom would appear if the lighting were not green but rather brightly lit, I did not want to give it too much consideration. Two other snags we encountered were another couple opening our room with a key around 11 PM, and the credit card machine not working at the time of our stay. I know this review sounds quite critical, but this hostel was not terrible. The staff was nice, the breakfast of bread, peanut butter and banana sufficient, and the bed comfortable. That said, it was not what we were looking for. *Cough cough* years ago, had we joined the party, I am sure it would have been fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed her for our first 2 night in Panama. It's a big hostel and it was super noisy. Shared bathrooms were not always clean. The hostel is well located. Great view of the city though. The staff was always helpful. Room were clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmiRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel is centrally located, accepts credit cards. We stayed in a private with a separate bathroom and then at the end of the trip in a private with a bathroom. The place was clean, clean sheets, centrally located. The breakfast is decent: they give you coffee, bread, peanut butter, jams and bananas. The place is not super social and the communal areas are ok, but overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zayatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
609 reviews
5.9 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
578 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
#4 of 105 in Panama City
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Property: Panamericana Hostel
Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing