We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good option”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights and it was overall pretty good. The location was perfect, right in center of old town.

We had a private room with private bathroom which had lockers and felt very safe.

The downside was the location of the room as it shared a wall with the floors shared bathroom which made it very noisy (think hearing people pee and slamming doors)

Staff was friendly, wifi was good (different networks for different parts of hostel) and it offered breakfast though it ended a bit early so we never made it on time.

A big plus is that they allowed us to crash in the common room upon arrival at 3 am from Costa Rica.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank minkys189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    78
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
81
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The double room was very simple but acceptable - literally just two beds and old school-like lockers. The socket was very loose and difficult to use. The bathroom in the corridor was okay and quite clean.
We received PBJ sandwiches, coffee and fruit for breakfast free of charge.
The hostel provides a computer with internet access which is great but unfortunately the wi-fi didn't work on the top floor.
Overall, it was pretty good value for money although nothing shockingly great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank the_real_gregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited here in December 2013 and had a great time. The location is perfect. The price was great too for the time of year. Our room was clean. Some rooms have a bathroom. Ours had one and the ceiling fan and open windows made helped to keep the rooms cool. Since it's a hostel, it's not the quietest, but after midnight, the noise wasnt an issue. There is a nice kitchen and lounge area for everyone to use and awesome rooftop deck. We felt that our belongings were safe at all times. Staff is very friendly and the artwork on the walls added a nice colorful and spunky touch. If I go back to PC, I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This place was so great. Best roof top patio chill zone in Casco viejo. The dorms were huge and airy and with French doors opening to a patio the room felt breezy, clean and quite beautiful. The private room was average, but nice enough. Staff was helpful and there is coffee and breakfast. This is a great location, and the roof top is absolutely incredible on a warm breezy night. The location is great and the I much preferred the relaxed atmosphere of this hostel compare to Luna's castle, a loud party hostel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saltchunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for four nights total on two occasions over a week with my boyfriend in a private room with a private bathroom. The location was great, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. We also really enjoyed the rooftop space, which had great views of the square below, the ocean, and the rest of the city. As a lot of people have said, the price was very reasonable.

There were also a couple of downsides. First of all, it is extremely loud. There is no air conditioning, so the rooms have open spaces above the doors and windows to allow for ventilation. There is also a large air shaft in the middle with an open roof. These features were great for keeping the rooms a comfortable temperature, but they mean you can hear everything in the hostel and in the surrounding buildings as if they were happening in your room. As an extreme example, there was a party with really loud reggaeton music going on in an adjacent building on our last night. I don't want to complain too much because it was a Friday night. That said, it wasn't just loud music through our windows; it was like trying to sleep in the club. Maybe in other circumstances, we would have been out until 2:00 when it stopped, but we had to be up at 4:15 the next morning to fly to Chicago, and then I had to drive 7 hours from there. On other nights, it was pretty loud just from people coming and going until 2:00 or so, and then the noise picked up again at 7:00 or 8:00 as people woke up. I would say that Panamericana Hostel is a good option if you're a late night person, but not a good choice if you go to bed earlier or if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay.

The other issue is hit or miss staff. A lot of them were extremely helpful, but some of them were pretty questionable. We arrived late on our first night and got shown to our room. The guy went back down to the front desk and we got ready to go out for some drinks, but realized the key didn't work in the room's lock. I went and got another one, which also didn't work. He came up and checked it out and agreed it didn't work. He asked if we wanted to go out, I said yes, and he just said, "disculpe" (sorry), and went back to the front desk. So we didn't go out. The people in the morning found a different key that worked. The other thing that kind of irked me was one afternoon when we were leaving for the domestic airport. A taxi driver was hanging out in the lobby and asked if we needed a taxi. We did, but he quoted an outrageous price (I knew because some other staff people that day before told me what it should cost). We negotiated it down, but it would have been nice if they had advocated a bit for their guests.

Overall, this is a good choice if you're looking for a cheap option in Casco Viejo that is clean and well located. Just be aware that it's not great if sleep is a priority.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmalloy917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location in the heart of the old town, Casa Viejo. 5 minute walk to the coast and a great view of modern Panama City. The Hostal is good value for money, we paid $25 for a double room, all rooms share the bathrooms. There are 2 rooftop chill out areas and free breakfast, which is bread, peanut butter, jam, bananas and coffee.....just good for a snack. The kitchen is quite dirty with very few utensils, plates etc so don´t count on being able to cook. There are cheap local restaurants nearby. Staff not so friendly, bathrooms OK, there is hot water. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and I would recommended it. They nicely accommodated us when we arrived in the early hours of the morning. Our private room was big and airy with a shared balcony. Lovely. The hostel was big and therefore noisy at times (not too bad). The wi-fi connection wasn't great. The kitchen was ok, but fridge nowhere near big enough for the size of the kitchen. Breakfast included, but basic (bananas, average bread, peanut butter and jam and coffee). It's a big hostel, so not intimate, but I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 113 in Panama City
591 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 113 in Panama City
173 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 113 in Panama City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
5.9 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
606 reviews
5.9 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Property: Panamericana Hostel
Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing