We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not-so-good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night in August 2014. Room rate was $28/night ($14 each). Private room, shared bath. Booked/reserved online.

So we'll start with the improvements: room had 2 single beds which was a bummer. We definitely expected a double bed. The room was fairly basic with no dresser/horizontal surfaces except the bed and only a locker to store belongings. The bathroom didn't have any toilet paper. In my opinion, shared bathrooms should always have enough TP. Period. Even if it means storing several extra rolls there. Next, it appeared that people were using the common area as their bedroom. We found at least 3 people snoozing away on the couches in the common area at 8 AM. What's that all about??? Next, the internet sucks. They use this weird username/password thing that doesn't work. We went through 3 username/passwords that they had given us before one even worked. It's weird, too, because the signal from the city's free WiFi system at the park across the way was stronger than the WiFi for the hotel. Lastly, the breakfast was poor. It consisted of bananas, coffee and bread. At least get some gourmet bread or something other than the plain white loaf you buy in the mercado.

Now the good: the rooftop views. There are technically 2 different rooftops since you can't get to one from the other. But the views are really great. The water view at night is spectacular! The location of the hostel is great; centrally located in Casco Viejo. The building has a bit of character, too. It's not some modern monstrosity. The common areas were pretty nice, too, provided people aren't sleeping in the spot you want to sit.

This place is worth a stay with the right expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brandt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hostel has a nice location in the old town. Staff are friendly and knowledgable. I ended up in 3 types of room...ensuite with a balcony, dorm and double shared bathroom. All rooms are basic and simple but with all you need. Most have balconies which is great to relax on but no aircon so also helpful to get a breeze. The common area can get noisy and above the doors it isn't sealed therefore the rooms are also noisy. Bathrooms have good showers but don't think enough for the number of dorms/shared bathrooms. Breakfast although included was simple. Common room with TV was simple. Luna Castle where the party is at is just around the corner so nice place to stay to dip in and out of the action.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Common areas were nice, kitchen was well stocked and clean, rooms were clean with lockers (stayed in private double). Something about the acoustics makes the place really loud late into the night! The staff helped to arrange our trip to the San Blas islands which was amazing, and let us store our bags there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ilovetoucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in August 2014.
Good service, friendly staff.
Amazing location, just a minute walk from great bars (Mojito sin Mojito for example) and good restaurants.
Good breakfast, included in the price, but come earlier than later because our last day we came down at 9:30 and there was no bread left (but still plenty of fruits and coffee so it didn't matter). You can buy beer and water onsite and they do your laundry for 4$. They can call you a taxi for the airport for 25$ (they used to have a shuttle but the bus broke down).
We had a private room first on the first floor, and at the end of our trip on the 4th floor. The views by the balcony are great. It's warm without AC but bvery manageable with the big balcony doors and the ceiling fan.
Bathrooms are shared but cleaned regularly and there is hot water.
There is a roof terrasse that you need to see! The views are beautiful.
Only downside : our first stay was during the week-end and since it's centrally located and there is no AC, the noise from the street is awful... Our last day was a Monday, and it was very quiet, we got a good night sleep.
I would go there again, definitely.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a nice view. Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The great location in the old quarter is the big plus here. It has a great roof terrace too and I found it clean and quirky. It's a pretty big place and is popular with people of all ages so quite inclusive. It can be noisy due to it's configuration but isn't a party hostel. Staff were nice and helpful without being overly friendly. Breakfast is basic and pretty standard hostel fare but crowded given the size of the kitchen for so many people. Internet is free and generally worked fine but they have limited passes so if you check in later in the day, all passes might be gone though you can hang around reception and use its wifi.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pros - friendly staff, spacious common areas, rooftop terrace, kitchen, location.
We booked 3 nights but after the first night they moved us, apparently they double booked that room. We re-packed everything and lugged it up to the third floor. I was hoping for a better room, intead we got a closet size room similar to a jail cell. 4 cement walls and a bed. The hallway lights shined into our room all night. The other guests and cleaning ladies were loud. Also the building next to us was under construction so we got to hear power tools very early in the morning. Only two bathrooms per floor so you will have to wait for one to open up. The wifi is spotty. The hotel is nothing special. You can probably do better, it depends on what you are looking for.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jaman_spake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The panamerican has tons of playful murals and modern furniture. But much of the cool furniture is broken, like the chairs, and difficult to sit in. Rooms are spacious though not very clean and the rooms facing the basketball court are loud in the evening. Rooms are set up for cross ventilation with the balcony doors open but balconies are not private so you just hope no one is in your room when you wake up. I tried to enjoy my breakfast on the roof top, taking advantage of the beautiful views, but. The vomit on the deck was pretty distracting. The weirdest thing is the fact that there is no soap in the bathrooms. I don't mind bringing my own but are we assuming that boys are too? Gross. Just gross.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 115 in Panama City
666 reviews
6.4 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#36 of 115 in Panama City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#9 of 109 in Panama City
37 reviews
5.9 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#4 of 109 in Panama City
623 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 109 in Panama City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing