We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden hand shake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

No Bath Tub or vanity. Room was for ADA. We had made reservation well in advance. No hot water in room. At the end of our 4 days and repeated calls never did get adequate hot water. Called 11:00 AM for masseuse for 2:00PM, No show, Re scheduled for 4:00 , no show, Still no show at 5:00. Called for ice at 4:00, no ice at 5:00 decided to go out. Room was promoted with bath robes. Never saw one in 4 days. Went to pool floor two days. No Hot water there either. Met with night managers, He offered a free snack from the bar. Met with the day manager Jose Calvo, he assured us he would make it right. We got the golden hand shake. He was extremely apologetic. He said he would compensate us for four nights.
Two months later. No phone call, e- mail, letter, NO refund. Just the hand shake and a very bad taste in our mouth.
If you want a nice place to stay in Panama City try many other good choices. But if you just want a good hand shake and that is it, stop by TRYP Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr. Gary

Thank you for your comments and on behalf of our staff I want to apologize again for this concern. As committed with our guest satisfaction experience, we will be looking for a solution in order to make it right so you can visit us again in the near future.

We are always working hard in order to improve our guests experience in order to exceed their expectations hoping that a situation like this never happen. We will do our best ans find a positive solution to this concern.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fairly priced, well located, clean and big rooms with view. Restaurant was also fair. Breakfast mediocre but still ok. People very nice and the business center was very usefull. Printing and scanning was free.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istanbulapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Istanbulapt,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are really happy to know that you could enjoy your stay at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro and it would be a pleasure if you would come again in the future.
Please, make sure that we will verify your breakfast report with our F&B Department.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Was here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the following:
- rooms were new with comfy beds
- rooftop pool!
- location close to restaurants, casinos, n quick taxi ride to Ave Balboa along the water
- canal and old city and 7km n 5km away so again not a great distance to get to.
- fast and reliable free wifi access

Downside was to just not expect to much help from front desk staff when it comes to getting useful maps of the city, suggestions of things to do, or help Auth booking anything other than city tours. When enquiring about Island day trips we were told by the front desk girl who didn't speak that much English surprisingly again for a 4 star hotel which has many international guests, that we'd have to organize this ourselves and wrote the name of a website on a piece of paper in very bad hand writing. On the last day we learnt from the hotel car driver that was taking us to the airport that he did indeed offer such day trips!

We've been to hotels where not much English is spoken but where staff still try their best to help you with your needs so the language shouldn't be a barrier. We had a funny feeling about the level of their helpfulness when on the day we arrived we didn't have smaller than a $50 note to pay the taxi driver. Front desk pointed us to the hotel restaurant several meters away and when they didn't have anything nothing further was done. My fiance had to run about to the shops outside with his limited Spanish to try to break the note.

Not impressed w this aspect.. 4 star hotel that looks the part but with motel front desk service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Lynn99999,

Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate both positive and negative points. We are happy to know that you liked our comfortable bedrooms, rooftop area, wifi signal and convenient location.

Please, let us apologize in regards to our Front Desk service that you got. We will check this situation with the Front Desk Manager in order to keep improving. We currently have some people in training who are still learning about our policies "own the city" and "count on me". Please, also kindly note that Panamanian people manly speak in Spanish but we completely understand your position and we will definitely fix it up.
Regarding the $50.00 dollars bill, we apologize again but we did not have any change at that time. We usually have cash available to be exchanged.

Although we could not exceed your expectations, we would like to ask you for another opportunity. Please. let us know if you are coming back to Panama, we would love to have the chance to give you the service that you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a newer hotel, with a nice (though not large) pool on the roof, with a bar/restaurant in the lobby and a bar near the pool too. The rooms are good sized and the place is clean and well cared for. If you get a high floor, you can have nice views of the city, depending which way you face. There is free Wifi, and two computers in the lobby area to use. We stayed for over a week and were not as impressed as we had hoped though. We had a fair amount of room service both to our room and at the pool. The food was mediocre, though, and they had a hard time keeping it warm, it seemed. The New Years Eve dinner was terrific, however. Breakfast was good, with eggs, bacon, cheese, meats, cereal, fruit, etc. Breakfast is included for all guests. The gym looked quite nice, and there is a sauna and steamroom. They really should add a consierge service; at the front desk it felt like we were asking advice of locals without a good knowledge of tourist attractions/options. As others have stated, the taxis are extremely expensive, and if you book with the hotel, you will get the priciest ones. Finally: I think one could get along without speaking Spanish, though it could be difficult in some cases; a number of hotel workers spoke no or little English.

Room Tip: If you can get on top couple floors, you can have a nice view of the City, depending on direction. R...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourdoornthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Fourdoomthehouse,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at our property. We really appreciate your comment and your point of view about our facilities and service.

We are glad to know that you liked our menu for New Year’s Eve. We tried to provide a good meal for our guests from all around the world. It is also sweet to know that our breakfast could live up your expectations and you liked our variety and food combinations. Please, keep in mind that our breakfast is not included for all our guests, though. About our room service issue mentioned above, we will go ahead and verify what happened as this situation is not proper within our corporate standards. Please, let us apologize for all the inconvenience about it.

In regards to your feedback about our Front Desk acknowledge, please kindly note that we currently have some people in training and they still have to learn about our policy of “own the city” and so.
Nevertheless, the situation of our taxis is a bit different although it is true that their rates are a little more expensive than a regular cab. However, our taxi’s service comes from an external enterprise and our customers usually catch them because it is a private service, those taxi drivers have acknowledge about the city, they have accidental policies while regular ones do not, etc. We do not force any guest to take them but we completely understand your point of view.

Thank you again for your comment and we would love to see you in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The neighborhood is quite nice (There are many restaurants and a big Casino). Staff was great - they didn't help us a lot with directions, though, but that's because we wanted to take buses everywhere instead of the crazy taxis. But they're very nice! Breakfast was great! Room was clean and very comfortable. If you're leaving town after checkout, they can store the luggage for you. Definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, it was nice, but no great view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Renata S,

Thanks million for your great review. It is a pleasure to know that you and your husband had a great stay with us and both of you liked the hotel and the area around. Thank you for your feedback about the cleaning and breakfast! We would love to see you again so please do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you come to Panama in the future.

Kind regards and a big hug,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The staff is very professional. Everything was good from the reservation of à taxi at the airport to the check-out. Breakfast buffet is very good. However, the noise in the lobby is annoying and earplugs are useful for having a good night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear FlyingPr,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are glad to know that your experience at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro could live up your expectations. Thank you again for your sweet comment, especially in regards to our breakfast. We are currently working to provide different type of food concepts on each breakfast in order to extend our menu.
Regarding the noise you mentioned above, please kindly note that we had some groups of clients staying at the same time as your reservation so perhaps that was the main reason stated.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ricardo and his staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms are perfect. The breakfast is an excellent start to the day. They arranged a car to pick us up late at the airport, check-in was smooth, and they stored our bags for us when we were away for 2 days. Thank you for a great start to our visit to Panama.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Philip R,

Thank you very much for your sweet review. We are more than happy to know that we exceed your expectations and our staff could help you out during your stay. I will make sure that Mr Richard Gelabert gets your kind feedback! We would love to see you again so please, let us know if you come to Panama at any time!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#30 of 115 in Panama City
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 115 in Panama City
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#18 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro

Address: Via Veneto | El Cangrejo BellaVista, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Panama Centro is located in the heart of Panama City in the upscale El Cangrejo, Bella Vista neighborhood just 15 miles from Tocumen International Airport & 250 mts from the New El Carmen Metro (Subway) Station. The convenient location of our hotel puts you within walking distance to some of Panama's best restaurants (40+ or more restaurante within 10 minutes walk), shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham Panama Centro Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing