We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay, but concierge service would be helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay, but concierge service would be helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at TRYP Panama Centro with my wife. We had a great room that exceeded any expectations we had before coming down. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great, and we had a wonderful view of the Panama City skyline from our room. If I came back to Panama I would stay at this hotel again. Aside from the room, I really enjoyed the rooftop, which featured a pool, bar and million dollar views!

However, the one thing this hotel could use that could really make it great would be a dedicated concierge service. The hotel staff that works there now is very friendly and helpful, but having stayed in other hotels around the world, I have had some great tips as a tourist from various different concierge desks. For instance, it appeared that the hotel is associated with fancier taxi services that were more costly than the typical Panama City taxis. It would be nice to have someone there to explain the regular taxi system, or offer their alternative taxis if a guest desires to travel in them. Also, just having a concierge person to explain how to get to different tourist sights in the city would be helpful. My wife and I managed to see everything in the city on our own, but to a less seasoned traveler, or someone on vacation that wants convenience, someone telling them how to get around in general would be helpful. Panama is a large city that does not yet have a solid public transportation system so better concierge services are almost a necessity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Bryan W,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your point of view and it is a truly pleasure get a feedback from you.

Thank you for you sweet comment about our bedrooms. Our housekeeping department is constantly doing site inspections to ensure guests comfort. I will make sure our cleaning staff gets your message!
Thank you for your comment about the concierge. We are aware of that situation and we are currently working on it in order to satisfy guest needs during their trip.

We are really happy to know that we exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    433
    102
    27
    17
See reviews for
226
453
86
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We are a couple (55-65). We just got back from Panama & stayed at the Tryp Centro for 5 nights. I picked it based on prior reviews and we liked the neighborhood. We were not disappointed. I called a day before to arrange a driver to pick us up at the airport, we were given his name & the price. Ivanovich was waiting for us at the terminal with a sign. He was the first great thing,(see other reviews). Ask for him at the desk if you need a driver.(He works for himself). No Spanish fluency is needed. There are many taxis around so not a problem to get anywhere.
The hotel was centrally located to the occupants of the city, shops and to restaurants & casino (if needed). It takes up a small footprint on the street and is 10 stories high, The pool is on the roof with the fitness center, etc. Only about 7 rooms on each floor. Nice bartender upstairs. Some nights there are private parties, but that did not interfere with our enjoyment of the pool area. Also a hot tub,which was the temperature of the pool. Hoped that would have been hotter..
The check-in was effortless and the staff extremely pleasant. We asked for a view (Rm 607 King) and loved it. It faces the city, skyscrapers, streets & overall growth in the city. The restaurant is just as pictured in professional pics and that is where you have the continental breakfast. Huge selection of cooked egg dishes, juices, pastry, yogurt, hot beverages, side dishes all refreshed throughout the meal. Servers were great.
The bed was so comfortable, bathroom clean with huge shower & lots of hot water. Hardwood floors and a mini refrigerator for your own purchases. Cleaning staff did a nice job.
We walked to many neighborhoods, shops, churches, restaurants. and did not eat in the hotel only because we were always out. Did stay poolside many evenings to enjoy the temperate air (90 degrees) & bought our own wine at the grocer around the corner to enjoy up there.
Just great,,, would recommend & would stay there if we travel to Panama again. Many of the people we ran into on our tours stayed on the Amador peninsula or Casco Viejo. It seemed so distant from center city and there is more to do near and around the Centro. It is safe as well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor. Ask to face the city. We were across from the elevator & had no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaZexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear EaZexcursions,

On behalf of Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, we would like to thank you for such a outstanding review! We are delighted to know that we could feel you as home and your stay was pleasant for those 5 nights.

Thank you for your comments about our area around and staff. Indeed, our customers usually think that our location is really convenient as they have almost everything just around the corner. Plus, El Cangrejo, our neighborhood, it is totally safe and it has parks, restaurants & pubs and friendly citizens around. Pleas note that all our staff have been informed about your great feedback and we are so excited! From Ivanovich to the front desk staff, including the bartender and our cleaning department.

Thank you again! We would love to have you back. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you come back. We look forward to seeing you again!!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

It's hard to write a fair review of this property, since I think the hotel itself is very nice and in a nice convenient location, with a great italian restaurant next door. We arrived late to Panama from California and found out from the front desk person that there was no room for us, even though I had confirmed late arrival 2 days earlier. Not a good feeling after flying all day. The girl at the front desk spoke halting English, exasperating the situation as there was no explanation as to why we had no room even though it had been confirmed 2 days earlier. The manager came out and told us they had had a computer glitch and had booked us at nearby Toscana Inn instead, they put us in a cab there and it worked out well on the other side. The 2 following nights we came back to Tryp as planned and were upgraded to a nice room. The roof top bar was another story, most guests brought their own beverages as the bartender either wasn't there or didn't have wine or limes or whatever in stock. Otherwise the pool and bar is very nice on hot afternoons and evenings and so is the breakfast buffet in the lobby. Overall I will say the hotel handled our situation well under the circumstances, but I still have a hard time believing it just wasn't overbooked and we drew the short stick coming late... Since a similar thing happened to our friends a week later, I would be wary of returning to an otherwise nice hotel, at least if I have a late arrival.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Plumesie,

Thank you for your email above. Please, let us apologize for the issue of your room at the time of the Check in. Indeed, we had a computer glitch a few days ago and some systems were open at the time we were fully booked. We had to relocate several customers in the meantime our IT staff were fixing the problem. This took almost 10 days. However, we wanted to compensate all our customers for such inconvenience so we gave them upgrades when they were back in order to apologize in a proper way.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate it and we do hope to have you back in the future. Please note that this problem is not going to happen again

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

An overnight stop in Panama caused a stay at the Tryp Panama Centro. The hotel was very clean, modern and staff helpful. Our afternoon of the overnight was terrific thanks to the tour provided by Ariel Hughes, an American x-Patriot and Tour Guide. Great look at the Canal, Old Town and fish Market, which was bopping on Saturday night. We had langoustine ceviche and a local beer...delightful. The complimentary buffet morning of our departure was first rate. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are delighted to know that you had a great overnight stop and as you mentioned above, we also want you to stay here again. Please get in touch with us if you are planning to come back at any time!
We are really happy to know that you like our city and its main attractions! Panama is waiting for you again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights here and it was a very nice experience. The hotel has a great location, close to good restaurants, banks, stores and other places of interest. If you intend to go sightseeing, taxis around here are not expensive - the hotel taxis cost much more than just flag one in the streets, so if you speak very basic Spanish, that is the best option (for example, the hotel taxi would charge us 12 dollars to go to Multicentro, where the red sightseeing bus leaves, and we arranged one in the street, at the corner, for 3 dollars). The rooms are very comfortable, we loved it. And like people already said, the pool and bar at the rooftop offer amazing views of the city, mainly at night. Gastro Bar, the restaurant at the lobby has few vegetarian options, but I asked the waiter for something vegan and they brought me some delicious grilled vegetables (it is, indeed, a little bit expensive). But the hotel is very nice and we recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Jhessica R,

Thank you very much for your review above! We are excited to know that you liked our hotel that much! We are also happy to know that you also liked our beautiful country beyond our property.

Thank you so much again for such a sweet review! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Best location! In the middle of city, close (walking distance) to restaurants, casinos, stores, banks, shopping mall, whatever you ask for! Good size neat rooms, very comfortable beds, plenty of clean towels and hot water works perfectly. The roof top bar and pool are amazing with stunning city views! The staff is always nice and helpful to any request.
The food at the Gastro Bar was delicious. They have a good variety of great dishes for lunch and dinner!
Overall, this hotel is great! I would definitely recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Virgilio M,

Firstly, thank you so much for such a great review! We are more than happy to know that we could exceed your expectations and you had a comfortable stay at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro.

Secondly, we are glad to know that you found our location so convenient. We are located in the core of the city with many stores nearby so our guests can find anything they need just around the corner.

Finally, it is a pleasure to know that you loved our facilities, staff and food. Your satisfaction is really important for us and we are extremely happy to know such a great point of view.

We look forward to seing you. Please, get in touch with us if you come back at any time!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

No Bath Tub or vanity. Room was for ADA. We had made reservation well in advance. No hot water in room. At the end of our 4 days and repeated calls never did get adequate hot water. Called 11:00 AM for masseuse for 2:00PM, No show, Re scheduled for 4:00 , no show, Still no show at 5:00. Called for ice at 4:00, no ice at 5:00 decided to go out. Room was promoted with bath robes. Never saw one in 4 days. Went to pool floor two days. No Hot water there either. Met with night managers, He offered a free snack from the bar. Met with the day manager Jose Calvo, he assured us he would make it right. We got the golden hand shake. He was extremely apologetic. He said he would compensate us for four nights.
Two months later. No phone call, e- mail, letter, NO refund. Just the hand shake and a very bad taste in our mouth.
If you want a nice place to stay in Panama City try many other good choices. But if you just want a good hand shake and that is it, stop by TRYP Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Mr. Gary

Thank you for your comments and on behalf of our staff I want to apologize again for this concern. As committed with our guest satisfaction experience, we will be looking for a solution in order to make it right so you can visit us again in the near future.

We are always working hard in order to improve our guests experience in order to exceed their expectations hoping that a situation like this never happen. We will do our best ans find a positive solution to this concern.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Panama Zen Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro

Property: Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Address: Via Veneto | El Cangrejo BellaVista, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Panama Centro is located in the heart of Panama City in the upscale El Cangrejo, Bella Vista neighborhood just 15 miles from Tocumen International Airport & 250 mts from the New El Carmen Metro (Subway) Station. The convenient location of our hotel puts you within walking distance to some of Panama's best restaurants (40+ or more restaurante within 10 minutes walk), shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham Panama Centro Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing