We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good value,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. We requested a room on an upper floor several months prior to our stay and were given a room on the 5th floor, which is actually the 10th floor since lower floors are used for parking. We were told that floors 6 through 11 were already full, which caused some confusion since my Spanish was about as limited as the staff's English. The hotel itself is clean, modern, and attractive. The room, which had a king bed, was sufficiently large and had a roomy bathroom with a large walk-in shower. There could have been better lighting in the bathroom at the sink. The bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The breakfast area is very pleasant and had fresh pastries and fruit, but the hot items weren't very good or fresh. We were told that breakfast starts at 6:30am, which we were delighted to hear because one morning we needed to head out early for a tour, but when we got to the breakfast area about 6:45 the lights were still out. When the lights were turned on a few minutes later the hot items were placed in warming containers that were not yet turned on and these food items - eggs, meat, oatmeal, were cold (until the containers were turned on). One morning I noticed two juice glasses that were chipped (and potentially could have cut someone's lip). The coffee, however, was very good. There was one small bottle of water in the room upon arrival. When we didn't get another bottle the second day, we were told it might take some time to provide it until more staff arrived, and we never were provided with the water that day so we went down the block in the evening to buy a bottle from the store. Despite the above complaints, I really liked this hotel because it was a very good value, was in a good location with many restaurants nearby, and had a very clean, modern atmosphere. I think this hotel could be even better if there were a little more attention to detail by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear MER1,

Thank you for taking the time to write us on Internet. We are glad to know that you found our property Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro a very good value despite the complaints stated. As mentioned, we will definitely make sure that our staff will pay more attention to detail in order to provide a great quality service to all our customers.

For sure we will discuss with our chef about the points stated for breakfast. We have some strict standards that have to be done every morning and it is not proper if we do not accomplish them. In regards to the missing bottle of water, please kindly note that we had a delay with our supplier and we got the product a littler later of the due day. It will not happen again, though.

Thank you again for your review. We would love to have you back here in Panama so please, let us know if you plan to come back at any time. All those incidents will not happen again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    433
    102
    27
    17
See reviews for
226
453
87
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The title says it all. Hot breakfast with choice of fresh fruits and fruit juices were delicious.Cons are it would be great if they had more formal knowledge of tours/tour companies around Panama city and those leaving from Panama City.Also the pool area is fairly small, limited bar selection (not as well stocked as restaurant and bar on first floor) and could use some umbrellas for those who want the heat but not direct sun.Was no significant problem with being crowded though.Plenty to see around Panama city to keep guests out and about town.
Friendly and courteous staff. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear 2kwine,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are very grateful to get such a great rating and also to hear that you liked our property and you would stay again at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro.
We really appreciate your comment and we would love to have you back once again.

In regards to your feedback about the tours, we currently have some people in training but we will definitely take your thoughts into account in order to improve our service. Regarding the umbrellas on the roof, we already have them so we will verify why we did not use them during your stay.

Thank you again for you kind review. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
476 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night at the beginning of our Grand Circle Panama trip, and also on the last night. Both tines we had a suite, the last night being a huge suite with separate large sitting room, and two huge full bathrooms! Decor was stylish and updated, toiletries were very abundant and upscale, wi fi reception was good throughout the entire hotel,,including the guest rooms. Breakfast was not good! It was buffet style, with steam table containers of not good quality Panamanian items, watery scrambled eggs, NO pineapple, meager yogurt, and bad baked goods. Service was almost non-existent. We had to find our own silverware from other tables, while the staff watched do so. Good location, and spectacular city lights view of the downtown skyscrapers at night. Gorgeous rooftop pool and hot tub.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Grice-Fearing,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for such a good feedback. We are more than happy to know that you liked our Suite Executive and you could enjoy your stay on your tour with Grand Circle. We are also glad to read that you found our location convenient which you could even watch from our rooftop area.

Secondly, we are sorry about the service provided in our restaurant for breakfast. We are aware of that situation and we will definitely make sure that this will not happen again. We will forward your review to our F&B Manager in order to offer a buffet according to our guest needs.

Thank you again for your comment. It is a pleasure got a review from such a traveler and we would love to have you back, at least once again, to make your stay excellent.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Tryp Panama Centro has a downtown location and is good value for money. They offer a nice breakfast with changing specialties and have big rooms with nice big showers. We found the staff very accommodating especially because they let us stay up at the rooftop pool after check out on our last day, gave us a special key to enter the terrace, supplied us with towels because of a late departure in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Bas_8,

Many thanks for your sweet comment!. Please, do not thank us for let you stay at the Pool Area after your check out time, actually, thank you for choosing us on your trip to Panama and for let us be part of your destination.
We are glad to know that you liked our facilities and customer service, and we hope that you liked our little tiny country on the same way.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you come to Panama in the future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was only there for one day, but I was sad to leave! The hotel was wonderful, modern, and clean. I had paid for a normal room just for myself, but was upgraded for free to a suite. I'm still not sure why, but I most definitely didn't complain. The front desk is extremely friendly during my entire stay. The breakfast in the morning was simple, but good. This honestly was the best hotel that I have stayed in, and I have traveled to many places in this world. (PS-the view from the roof is amazing, make sure to head up!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepino2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear pepino2366,

Thank you so much for your sweet comment! We are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations and you liked our hotel and service that much!

We are also sad to know that you could not stay any longer at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro. In fact, we would love to see you again in the future so please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you plan to come back to Panama!

Thank you again for give us such a great feedback!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I had a great experience at this hotel overall. I stayed from February 7th to February 9th. My flight was delayed 2 days so I was going to miss a couple of nights at the hotel. I called the hotel to inquire about the nights that I would not be there and they fixed everything very quickly. I spoke to Bernat Amill, the manager, and I was not penalized for the nights I wasn't there. I spoke to Bernat about activities that I might be able to do in my short time there and he gave me a bunch of suggestions and was very helpful. Any interaction that I had with the front desk was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and fresh towels were given everyday. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, they had a good variety and the waffle maker was a big plus. The only thing that was disappointing was that we didn't know that once you leave the table, you can't grab anything else from the breakfast area. My friend wanted coffee and was denied. The free wifi was another big plus and worked really well. The roof was amazing, a beautiful view, and the pool was clean and refreshing. The only thing that we did not like was that the hot tub wasn't hot at all. It was a great experience, and I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was nice, 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Director General at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Steeley D,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad to know that our staff could assist you with anything you needed during your stay at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, from the front desk staff to the MOD Manager Bernat. It looks like you had a wonderful stay and this make us really happy.
We hope you did not have any trouble flying back home. We would love to have you back here in the future as you missed two nights due to the weather conditions.

Thanks for your information about the breakfast. Please kindly note that our Executive Chef is currently working on it in order to solve that problem. We are also taking care of the hot tub.

We look forward to seeing you!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we arrived after a 24 hour flight we ordered Pizza with room service. They ended up delivering a frozen margarita... And then they would'nt accept to charge us at our bill, we had to go down to the lobby and pay in cash. Sort of takes the meaning away of ordering room service... The hotel is OK otherwise. My mobile phone got stolen in the (locked) gym, but I guess that's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona_matilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Matilda

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay back in December with the room service. I cannot undo what happened, but make sure that I will pass this to our Executive Chef in order to take the measures to correct this, also I will take make sure that a situation like this do not occur again and hopping that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Thank you for your feedback and don't hesitate to contact us if the travel bring you back to Panama again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Panama Zen Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro

Property: Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Address: Via Veneto | El Cangrejo BellaVista, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Panama Centro is located in the heart of Panama City in the upscale El Cangrejo, Bella Vista neighborhood just 15 miles from Tocumen International Airport & 250 mts from the New El Carmen Metro (Subway) Station. The convenient location of our hotel puts you within walking distance to some of Panama's best restaurants (40+ or more restaurante within 10 minutes walk), shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham Panama Centro Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing