We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, but far from everything else. Nice owners.”
Review of Hostal Aleman

Hostal Aleman
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Aleman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to the airport, but far from everything else. Nice owners.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Your first impression of this hostel is when the very friendly and excited Patrick (son of the owner) picks you up from the airport. He makes you that much more excited to be there. However, other than this home turned hostel being very close to the airport (20min) and the very helpful and accommodating Patrick, it's less than exciting and far from all the sites and nightlife. And there is nothing other than 2 grocery stores in the immediate area. The private room was basic, felt more like someone's bedroom we were staying in. We did meet some nice travelers and had a BBQ together, but it's not located in a place for any sites, nightlife or restaurants. It's an hour bus ride to the main bus terminal on the most uncomfortable bus we've been on in 6 months (but you can't beat transportation for 25 cents and awesome blaring reggaetone). From there you take a taxi to other sites like Miraflores Locks (another 15 minutes) or Casco Viejo. Taxis are very expensive, better to try and find a collectivo van for $2 each. We were only there for 3 nights, so we thought it would be better to stay near the airport. I had high hopes for a big German breakfast, but we only got eggs the first day and other than that it was white bread or thin sliced German bread (yum), deli cheese and ham, coffee and juice. Regrettably, we should have stayed downtown or in Casco Viejo.

Autumn and Abe
Asquaredadventures.com

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asquaredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

At the end of my trip, I arrived at Hostal Aleman! A great place with very sweet people. Panama city is crowded but the place where the hostel is located is very quiet. Anything goes with Patrick and his mother. It is clean and the beds are good. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful! The cheese so tasty! That made me very happy as Dutch! The supermarket is very close and there is an opportunity to cook in the hostel. We even barbequed with the whole hostel That was so fun! Patrick took me to the airport, which was extremely nice!

Room Tip: Book a room a couple of days before you go because it's a very populair hostel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deesjepeesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Patrick picked us up from the airport and he was the perfect host for our first night in Panama. We had an early flight out the next day and he even ensured we had a nice breakfast for my girlfriend and I as he wanted to "get something in our stomach" before our early departure. Great service and a good real experience.

Would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: Privates were very reasonable with private bathroom
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank byronbcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome little hostel. We stayed for one night before heading to the airport. Patrick and his mum gave us such a warm welcome and were so friendly and helpful. We instantly felt at home.

I had read about the amazing breakfast and had high hopes. I was not at all disappointed. It was excellent and an amazing breakfast. Just delicious.

I really liked the fact it was in a residential area. It was good to see a different, more local side to the city and it was lovely and quiet. We walked about to the local shop and restaurants at night and felt perfectly safe.

This hostel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerS1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Run By Patrick and His Mother, this hostal is very clean. Patrick will pick you up at the airport for a very fair price, and the hostal is a great place to start off from or leave panama from as it is close to the airport ( traffic in panama is horrendous so being close to the airport before departure is a good idea. They are very helpful, and the breakfast that is included is superb. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James-Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Patrick is incredibly helpful, and really friendly. Our luggage was lost and he contacted the airline to find out if it had been found. Great service! There are several restaurants nearby, as well as supermarkets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last summer for a couple of nights. Patrick and his mother were really helpful. The best thing at this place is the breakfast: we got eggs, bread, yogurt, fruit, salami, ham... a REAL breakfast!
The place was very clean, we had the private room with private bathroom. A bit noisy in the morning but who cares, we were there to travel, not to sleep in.
The only downside we found was location. The neighbourhood was quite and we felt safe, however, 5 blocks from the hostel there are very very busy avenues, noisy and dirty roads. I would not recommend anyone walking alone at night. Take a cab. Overall, Panama City is a mess, there is no good or bad neighbourhood to stay at. I asked locals and there is no DOWNTOWN Panama, everything is scattered. I would stay at this hostel again, no problem.

Room Tip: We stayed at the private room with A/C and private bathroom. It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darinka84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#36 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 111 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Roque Bed & Breakfast Panama
San Roque Bed & Breakfast Panama
#62 of 86 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ramirez
Casa Ramirez
#11 of 86 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Aleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aleman

Property: Hostal Aleman
Address: Nueva Gorgona Las Palmas Z-12 | Chame, Panama City 00000, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little piece of paradise in the middle of Nueva Gorgona. Nature, birds, lizards etc .... And above all, peace. The beach is only a 5-8 minute drive away. We also offer free transportation. Pool, BBQ and kitchen are fully accessible, but please clean the kitchen after use. We are available 24/7, if you have questions or need what ever, just tell us. Nice and quite neighbours,in fact most of them are only in this area on the weekends. There are buses available on the main street that get you around pretty cheap.We also take you to the beach and will pick you up. No extra charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Aleman Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing