We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect much”
Review of Los Mostros Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Mostros Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I was in the 12 bed dorm the first night and was attacked by bed bugs. I moved to the 6 bed dorm and was still bitten by Mosquitos all night. I felt like their wasn't enough showers either - the 12 room has to go down 2 floors to a bathroom.

The pool wasn't clean looking and no one was in it.

The breakfast was okay when flies weren't all over it.

The only above average thing was the staff. They were nice and tried to assist when they could.

I think it's good for just a night. I was there for 4. And don't do the 12 bed room because the less people the better chances of you being able to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_kin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    40
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
21
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 6-bed dorm with an awesome single bathroom. I slept well and it was clean. The lockers were spacious, too. Breakfast was simple but fine (toast, frosted flakes, coffee).

Staff was friendly, they have clean drinking water, a nice pool, big tv room, and a kitchen if you want to cook.

The location doesn't offer much. It's a 7 minute walk to multicentro, a mall/casino area with buses that'll take you to casco viejo in 15 minutes, IF you can get a bus pass.

Patrons there were nice. If you're looking for a quiet place on the cheap, choose this one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

This place has been so good we were only going to stay two nights now we are staying 2 weeks... It's sooo clean and modern it doesn't feel like all of the other dirty backpacker hostels in Central America... It is in an awesome location right In between two massive malls and a short walk from the ocean... Plenty of restraunts banks and super markets literally 200 meters away...
Great crowd of people too, very social place, but not a loud party hostel... In my eyes the perfect medium!

Los Mostros you guys are awesome!! Couldn't praise high enough!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Surely the best hostel in Panama, relaxing ambiance, good breakfast included, good area, perfect internet, comfy beds.

The staff is really helpful and the situation is very handy, it's right nearby the main mall, and from the nightlife area as well.

The hostel has a real client service which is not the case of many hostels in Latam.

If I go back to Panama I will go there.

Swimming pool could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

They have done a great job turning a villa into a hostel. Nice common spaces, pool in the garden and very clean. I ended staying up till 4am sipping beers with my room mates and one of the owners. They only have dorms but they were fine with a/c and lockers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Great staff, great location, great house, great facilities, great breakfast! Only downsides are weak internet and in my 4 days there I didn't find it particularly sociable, but this was probably due to the time of year (argentinian school holidays) so the place was overrun with large groups of them who tend to stick together. The place is like a 1960's playboy mansion with great facilities, however one or two of the bathrooms could do with a bit of updating as it doesn't look like they've been touched since the house was built! All things said I would definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: The 6bed dorms are quieter but all have a/c so you should sleep fine. Nice big closets for storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cg808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Los Mostros for 4 nights over new years eve, it was a fantastic time and made better by the helpful and attentive staff. They put on a brilliant feast for new years eve and made everyone feel welcome, even with a slight language barrier.

The rooms were clean and came with spacious bathrooms for each of the 6 dorm rooms, with clean linen and and air conditioning.

Very cheap laundry service, which was prompt and convenient, also the kitchen has everything you need and is kept clean and tidy.

Big thanks to everyone for making this a great start to 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 111 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 111 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Siriri
Hostel Siriri
#15 of 111 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mostros Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mostros Hostel

Property: Los Mostros Hostel
Address: Calle 54 Este | Marbella, Panama City 583, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Los Mostros Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mostros Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing