We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s a former mansion!”
Review of Los Mostros Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Mostros Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It´s a former mansion!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a great idea! Turn a former house, and a very large one, into a hostel. The amenities here are super. The kitchen is huge and very well equipped (except they could use oven mitts and a working can opener) and can accomodate many folks prepping and cooking simultaneously. There is a medium sized pool which is kept very clean and is a great spot for afternoon breaks from the heat. The rooms with the ensuite bathrooms are the best deal, the bathrooms are huge, with warm water showers and the bed areas are not cramped. There are large security lockers as well. All the rooms have AC at night. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, even down to the folks who clean. And WOW, do they clean. The hostel is constantly swept, mopped and maintained. It is not in the most superb location for accessing the sights, but well worth the slight extra cost for the taxis or the slightly longer walks.

Room Tip: The low cost dorm is a bit cramped, has old carpet and get quite hot during the day. Opt for the dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    42
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
23
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Los Mostros for three nights and it was just great! Helpful staff, nice rooms, big lockers, great pool and garden where you could hang out and chat with other travelers. Clean and safe, I would deffinately recommend it! The only tiny downside was that sometimes the music was a bit loud, but most of the time they played some very cozy music.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svadilfarinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This place has it all: comfort, cleanliness, amazing culture, great people, good music, boards games, pool table, ping pong, lounging, full kitchen, excellent location, inside and outside places to relax, and includes breakfast. The people who work here and stay here are friendly, fun, and easy going. This place has MADE our trip in Panama!!! I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmkulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I'm traveling for six months, and this hostel was by far the best of all. Very clean, great private and spacious bathroom and lockers in the room, nice and comfty beds.
Great atmosphere, very nice pool and breakfast, laundry service even at night.
But above all this, the best thing in this hostel is the staff. Esequiel, mati y fernando are awesome! Willing to help with everything and being nice and attentive anytime.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheli_mualem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I was in the 12 bed dorm the first night and was attacked by bed bugs. I moved to the 6 bed dorm and was still bitten by Mosquitos all night. I felt like their wasn't enough showers either - the 12 room has to go down 2 floors to a bathroom.

The pool wasn't clean looking and no one was in it.

The breakfast was okay when flies weren't all over it.

The only above average thing was the staff. They were nice and tried to assist when they could.

I think it's good for just a night. I was there for 4. And don't do the 12 bed room because the less people the better chances of you being able to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_kin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 6-bed dorm with an awesome single bathroom. I slept well and it was clean. The lockers were spacious, too. Breakfast was simple but fine (toast, frosted flakes, coffee).

Staff was friendly, they have clean drinking water, a nice pool, big tv room, and a kitchen if you want to cook.

The location doesn't offer much. It's a 7 minute walk to multicentro, a mall/casino area with buses that'll take you to casco viejo in 15 minutes, IF you can get a bus pass.

Patrons there were nice. If you're looking for a quiet place on the cheap, choose this one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

This place has been so good we were only going to stay two nights now we are staying 2 weeks... It's sooo clean and modern it doesn't feel like all of the other dirty backpacker hostels in Central America... It is in an awesome location right In between two massive malls and a short walk from the ocean... Plenty of restraunts banks and super markets literally 200 meters away...
Great crowd of people too, very social place, but not a loud party hostel... In my eyes the perfect medium!

Los Mostros you guys are awesome!! Couldn't praise high enough!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 114 in Panama City
2,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mostros Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mostros Hostel

Property: Los Mostros Hostel
Address: Calle 54 Este | Marbella, Panama City 583, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Los Mostros Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mostros Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing