We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE, TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
Review of The Westin Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Panama
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Colón, Colon, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE SERVICE, TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When I checked out at front desk, the staff mention the bill is okay and I don't have to pay anything. So I went to pick up my car. Suddenly, the staff make a gesture and request me to get inside again from 10 steps far away. And since my car just arrive, the staff call again just like I am running away. I feel this kind of gesture is very unprofessional and un-respect to the customer.

He mention I have to pay $10 becuase I use the valet parking. I was surprised again. All the Panama City Hotels, like Hard Rock, Riu...etc, they all provide valet parking service and we never have to pay the parking fee if we stay in that hotel. And if it's WESTIN's rule, you should mention very clearly for valet parking and self parking when we arrive the hotel. $10 is not a big money. But the way how they handle this is totally unacceptable.

I feel very disappointed and angry about this case. Especially can not accpet the front dest staff's attitude. Not recomment and I will never went to this hotel again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinLEE185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban U, Quality Manager at The Westin Panama, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr. Lee,

Thank you for reaching out to us.
Please allow me to apologize for the poor experience during your checkout.
Certainly the attitude displayed by our front desk associate is not characteristic of the level of service we intend to provide our guests. I am very sorry your bill was not presented correctly.

Mr. Lee, as I wrote in the email sent to you a week ago, I would like to speak to you regarding this unfortunate event.

I look forward to hear back from you.

Kind regards,

Esteban Ulate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    177
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
58
19
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice area, with some bars and restaurants nearby. The decoration is very nice and the staff is very friendly. The room has an excellent size, huge bed and the bathroom is very nice. The room service is good.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the Pacific ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReinaldoViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban U, Quality Manager at The Westin Panama, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ReinaldoViola,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It gives us great pleasure when our guests have a comfortable stay and enjoy our services. Our team will be delighted to hear these great words.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

Be well,

Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed 3 times in this hotel and 2 out of 3 the shower was not properly cleaned. It's a shame they are not able to keep a room clean.
Otherwise, the service is nice, but I'm worried they don't pay enough attention to the hygiene of the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Analu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban U, Quality Manager at The Westin Panama, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Analu R,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear the cleanliness of our rooms was sub par during your stay. We take pride in offering our guests a pristine, clean environment and we live by this promise. Since we heard about this, we have made some changes in our cleaning procedures that have produced wonderful results.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future!

Be well,

Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great service with lots of TLC from the staff and team. Even though I was constrained with my Spanish, the staff made the entire stay a pleasant experience and one that I would recommend to my fellow colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Room was spacious and well equipped. Problem with toilet water was running all the time due to faulty valve in cistern, didn't help me sleep.... I didn't call this in as I was given a twin bedded room to begin with, for some reason and had just been moved to a king room. I just reset this myself, and had to keep doing so.

Bar good and restaurant too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When working in Panama, the options are limited for hotels in Costa del Este, but luckily the best hotel and service already exists. It is a great experience to be greeted each time by a friendly and familiar face and receive the same great service and attention that is to be expected from a Westin. Congratulations and thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban U, Quality Manager at The Westin Panama, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Ryan H,

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear your stay is always friendly and comfortable. I will pass along these comments to our staff as they will sure be glad to see the result of our efforts.

Be well,

Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The breakfast is good, their employees are very educated and helpful. The best thing that I had in the hotel defenitly was the pool, it has an amazing view of the city, they can work better with the service at the pool, but after all it´s a good one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
8.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
3.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
4.0 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Panama

Property: The Westin Panama
Address: La Rotonda Avenue | Costa del Este, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Panama is ideally situated in Costa del Este, a premium lifestyle development with corporate offices, real estate projects, and recreational areas. Corredor Sur (Southern Corridor) connects this upscale area to downtown and the airport. Make time for a WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio session, a swim in the pool, or an indulgent Sensory Spa treatment. Eat well in the restaurant and snack bar. Inspire others in our meeting spaces that are complemented by a business center and an executive lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing