We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awlful even for the low price - u get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand International Hotel
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Ft worth, tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awlful even for the low price - u get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

got there & no Wi-Fi in room changed rooms and the Wi-Fi was weak and kept disconnecting me but I did not want change rooms so i decided to grin and bare it, Wi-Fi is bad everywhere in the hotel, The hotel web site shows they had hairdryers on requested, I asked for one several times they said they would get me one finally at about 9 PM they said that they did not have any so I had to go spend $40 to get one. at about 11PM I started to take a shower and there was no hot water, they did not have the boiler lit so they lit it but said it would be 4 hours before it got hot. There were no plugs in bathroom to plug in dryer and shaver, the room did not have a clock/radio of any kind. I had paid for 4 nights but left the next morning. they did refund me for 3 nights but stll charged me for the night from hell just glad to be out of there, talked to other guest the next AM and they also had no hot water. would not recommend to any one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    173
    125
    56
    47
See reviews for
132
155
59
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Clean room, nice bathroom hot water, big towels. Very nice furniture think it was new. Friendly personnel not bilingual but ok. Breakfast acceptable. Well located,although it's so difficult to get a cab. Manager need to get better staff

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

After traveling and staying at hostels for several months now, this hotel was a nice treat for a good price. Really comfortable rooms... Quiet AC, comfortable new bed, hot shower, soaps and shampoo, big bathroom, flat screen tv, closet and hangers, outlets next to the bed for charging devices.
Location is really good, and keep in mind that the hotel is relatively new... Some taxi drivers hadn't heard of it. Tons of restaurants everywhere. Laundromat is nearby, up around the corner. Pharmacy is close by with a good ATM. A Casino is 20 min walk or quick cab ride. Area is safe for walking at night.
Breakfast is okay (coffee, juices, fruit, pastries... Eggs for extra charge) and a little crowded with guests. Internet is the only bummer about the place... Strong signal, but not fast. Couldn't really stream, download, update, or load much of anything. Sometimes the lobby connection was better.
A room like ours would've cost at least $150 a night in Waikiki, so overall, a great deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I'm not sure why the reviews are so high. The location is great and the price is right, but that's it. Over 4 days I had to stay in 3 different rooms. On first day they put me in a corner room where there was no wifi signal. So I went to a different room that I had to leave because of a water leak, and then on to a 3rd room. Even where the wifi signal was there, the internet is no good. It works about 50 minutes of every hour and is out for about 10 minutes. When it is on the signal is too slow to even watch a youtube video. In all three rooms I was in the construction was shoddy and the shower doors didn't really close. I suppose at it's price it would make sense (assuming you don't need internet) back when other hotel prices were so high, but now that hotel prices have crashed in the city it's worth an extra 10 bucks a night to stay at Veneto.

Also, (like a lot of cheaper hotels in Panama) the hallways and room floors are hard tile and everything echoes so if a couple of people walk down the hallway it wakes up everybody.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nicer but internet connection is weaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hassan a, Gerente at Grand International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
we sincerely regret the fact that any of our guest could have a bad experience staying with us. i could see that your case was an exception to the rule, but i can see that everything you mention refers to technical problems concerning our installations. we very few times move people from one room to another without a very good excuse and sometimes i have to accept that some repairs require more time than normal and in those cases we have no other choice. we hope that separate from those facts you had a good service and that you had a good time in panama.

we are always working in o goal of perfect service and we only learn from our guest opinions. we sincerely appreciate your comments and i can promise you that we will work really hard so situations like yours will not repeat.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Caracas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is very well located, near a lot of restaurants, cafes, mini markets, pharmacy. The staff was very friendly and helped us all the time. The rooms are clean The breakfast was good and plenty. The area surrounding is safe to walk around at night.
I highly recommend this hotel to bussiness travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscillaquintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

For a bussines trip with a small budget, this will fit your needs. Room is clean and pleasant enough, personnel is friendly. Hotel is very well located on an avenue full of alternatives of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernerM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I loved the location, actual restaurants instead of cafeterias on the street. Very unique design, especially the rooms and bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly - most spoke decent English. The breakfast was great, with more kind service.

I had to change rooms because my air conditioner didn't work in the first one; that type of quirky stuff doesn't bother me, but might some. They were also having trouble with the WiFi at the time of my visit; had to resort to using it in the lobby. A nice park very near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#55 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#57 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#67 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#54 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand International Hotel

Property: Grand International Hotel
Address: Via Argentina, Esquina con Calle Jose Marti | Via argentina con calle jose marti el cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand International Hotel has an excellent and strategic location on Via Argentina, near the banking district just a few minutes from the best restaurants, entertainment and shops. Very close to major shopping centers Panama City and just 25 minutes from Tocumen International Airport. We have 118 fully equipped and comfortable room to make your stay very pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing