We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service ruins an otherwise good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Customer service ruins an otherwise good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The lobby is clean, modern and inviti g. Rooms the same. But the reception and check in process is probablematic. Ok i can understand there possibly being confusion about reservations. But rather than being polite and pleasant there is rudeness, or should i say plain "ignoring and not responding". Location is very good with direct access to the mall which is also an amusement park of sorts which is great for kids. The rooftop pool is pleasant. The food in restaurants is good. If you have to stay in the city this is a good option just be ready to be greated by sullen faces and discourteous service

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for you for staying with us last month and for your detailed feedback. Our goal is to make sure every guest leaves satisfied and I deeply apologize that there was confusion with your reservation. I sent you a direct message and hope to learn what happened with your reservation. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to the mall, our roof-top pool and the food in our restaurant. Wishing you & your family the very best in the New Year. Glenn Simon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    457
    98
    17
    5
See reviews for
461
341
74
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were traveling as a group of 8 and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location was great because it is close to the Panama Canal and is attached to a huge mall. It is also far enough away from downtown and the congested traffic. The hotel is very clean and modern. Check-in was easy and most of the staff spoke English. The staff was very willing to accommodate most of our requests and what they didn't know, they were able to put us in touch with someone who willingly helped us with transportation and tourism. We asked for a driver that spoke English and could give us personal attention for the day and we were directed to one of the drivers that worked with the hotel transportation, whose name is Luis Lopez. Mr. Lopez did a great job of representing the hotel and the transportation company in a friendly and professional manner. We will definitely stay at the TRYP Panama Albrook Mall again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veehrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad you liked our location close to the Panama Canal -- just and 8 t0 10 minute drive in a car from the hotel and that you found our hotel clean & modern. We pride ourselves on our service so I was so pleased to hear that you found our staff was very willing to accommodate your requests and what they didn't know, they were able to put you in touch with someone who could assist you. Great to know that you will definitely stay with us again. Please email me at gsimon@tryphotel-am.com if I may be of any assistance with future reservations. Happy New Year -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The most convenient aspect of this hotel is obviously its location in/next to/ inside Albrook Mall?? Never actually figured out which it was but it made my shopping experience fun. We were so happy that we did not have to fight up with the traffic to enter the mall and search for parking!

The rooms were clean and well maintained. The room we had was a bit small for my husband and two year old and the crib provided for my son was too short for his length so he ended up on the main bed. Our requests to reception via phone were always dealt with promptly. Staff were courteous which is good. Panama needs to work on its customer service and I was glad that in this case the staff was helpful.

The restaurant had a good variety for breakfast. We never had lunch or dinner there as we ate in the food court of the Albrook Mall.

A suggestion might be to have a snack machine on each floor if one does not feel inclined to head downstairs to the little area by the reception.

A good idea would be to have a mini business center... something simple like a computer, printer and a desk for those of us who like to web check in on COPA and print our boarding passes in advance. I spent 20 minutes at reception when I was leaving trying to email my boarding pass to the reception email address so that they could print it for me.

Generally speaking we enjoyed ourselves and are more than likely to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall – the largest shopping mall in Central America. We pride ourselves on our service so I am so happy to hear that our staff was courteous & helpful. Regarding your suggestion of having snack machines on each floor – although we did not have snack machines on each floor we are in the process of putting signs on each floor to remind our clients that we have a “Grab & Go” – a mini store next to the front desk that is open 24-hours. The prices are very reasonable water $1.75, sodas $2.50 and Pringles $2.50. We will also be locating a computer near our front desk to print boarding passes. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Panama City. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Good things about the hotel: Great location IF shopping is the purpose of the visit. Great for families travelling with children, again because of the mall entrance right at the lobby and the pool. Rooms VERY clean. Service at the front desk was POOR and there is no bell boy service. We arrive by 4:00 a.m. and had to carry our bags upstairs ourselves, when we finally arrived to our room after a check in that took forever the key did not work and had to go back to the front desk ourselves to get some help. There were several confusions about our reservation. They confirmed a rate for our family of 4 (I was very clear about the ages of my kids from the very beginning) in writing by e-mail and then on site said they forgot to add the cost of the third adult child, they offered an upgrade to a Family room for the last 2 nights which was a total mess, they left us in our standard room, waiting for hours and never cleaned the room. We ended up losing one entire afternoon of our short visit waiting for them to switch our rooms. After several phone calls and a trip down to the front desk finally a bell boy showed up and offered no help with our bags. By 9:00 p.m. we finally were able to move to a clean Family room (of course we again had to carry our bags) which is the same as a standard with no desk and instead a bunk bed. We would have stayed at the standard if we had known this was the "upgrade". Definitely not worth it for the waste of time.
We sent them our comments and they apologized. The hotel is nice and promising although they still have to work some of the kinks out. Hopefully they’ll be much better than they were in November, but it definitely does not have the “flavor” of a seasoned Tryp Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjimcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for you for staying with us last month and for your detailed feedback. Our goal is to make sure every guest leaves satisfied and I deeply apologized that we failed to do this in your case. I apologize that a bellboy was not available when you arrived at 4:00am in the morning -- I can understand how after a long trip you wanted assistance with your luggage. It’s unfortunate to hear that when our team members tried to upgrade you to what is called the Tryp “Family Room” that it took longer than it should of and that it was not what you expected. I am truly sorry your stay did not go well. I know you talked in length with one of my team members regarding your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With my sincere apology -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The rooms are clean and lovely. Air Conditioning is built in and modern and quiet and works well. Coffee pot, great towels, nice furniture. Beds are terrific. Everything works.
No ice machines yet, however you can get ice from the bar, or the staff will bring it to you.
The maids are delightful, the reception desk staff is efficient and quick. The food in the restaurant and the bar is above normal. The bellboys are terrific.
Attentive staff. Most staff speak English.
I loved the Bird of Paradise in the bathroom vase.
Attached to the mall, so you can shop.
Around the corner from the Albrook Airport which is great.
The hotel actually has a fleet of cab drivers who all speak English and are very fair.
Some city cabs will not do the short trip to the airport or the bus station. The hotel cabs will do so with no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms look out to Ancon Hill or to the highway along the Panama Canal. All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schipblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad you liked our hotel, our clean & lovely rooms and that everything worked. We pride ourselves on our service so I was so pleased to hear that you found our room attendants delightful, our front desk efficient & quick and our bellboys terrific. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great room. Great service. Awesome breakfast buffet. Starts early too at 6:30am so you can catch your flight. Apparently a great pool say the husband and kids, but I went shopping. Walk out the side door and you're in the mall!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad tour “awesome” breakfast buffet and we officially open the restaurant at 6:30am but truth be known – we have many guests sneak it before 6:30am and we are happy to accommodate you. So you missed out seeing our roof-top infinity pool where you can lounge, soak in the sun and enjoy the amazing sights of Ancon Hill (highest point in Panama City), the city, Balboa Port, and Albrook Airport? Well you are just going to have to plan to stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is attached to the Albrook Mall, which is one of Panama's largest. Very modern and sleek hotel. Great place to let your significant other go shopping while you enjoy the pool, gym or the bar. Within the mall there is also a movie theater and casino. Breakfast was outstanding with a large buffet and a omelet bar. My only complaint was they lost my reservation but they still had rooms for the night so it all worked out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall – the largest shopping mall in Central America – by the way besides the movie theater there is an awesome bowling alley as well. Our large breakfast buffet and omelet station almost always receive high marks. I apologize that we lost your reservation but I am glad to hear that everything worked out. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Panama City. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.5 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall

Property: Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Address: Ave. Marginal, Ancon | Albrook Mall Shopping Center, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the largest shopping mall in Latin America (Albrook Mall), less than 5 min away from the City of Knowledge, Panama Canal & the US Embassy & 10 min away from the Financial District, this upscale Wyndham is 35 minutes from Tocumen Intl. Arpt. (PTY). Wyndham offers 331 comfortable guest rooms, 3 restaurants & lounges, cutting-edge technology, over 36,000 sq.Ft. Of naturally-lit meeting space, a roof-top solarium and infinity pool and direct access to over 600 shops and boutiques of Albrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing