We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, convenient mall next door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great new hotel right next to the mall. This hotel is perfect for the business traveller. Nice room, clean, well lit, good Internet connection. Good breakfast and very nice cafe area in the mezzanine level. The pool is nice, though a bit small for laps. The convenience of the mall is priceless, specially for long stays. The only tip for other travelers would be to walk one block down to get cheap taxis. A hotel taxi can charge up to 4 times more than a regular cab.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Thiscarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent feedback. As you mentioned, many guests have told us that they appreciate the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall – the largest shopping mall in Central America. We have received so many complements about our comfortable, well equipped and quiet rooms. Our hotel does have a company that offers secure transportation and service 24 hours and our guest are also welcome to call a “yellow cab”. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am the President of the Non-Profit Boquete Jazz and Blues Festival Foundation (BJBF). As such, I deal with transporting and housing many performers and festival attendees.
What I have learned over the years is that how you deal with a mistake once the mistake has been identified says much about your character and is a good indication of your future performance. My relationship with the Tryp began with such a mistake. I won’t dwell on it. I mention it only because the effort by The Tryp’s manager, Mr. Glenn Simon, to make things right has been extraordinary. As a result, I had the pleasure of a wonderful stay in the hotel.

Now this is an honest review of that stay. The hotel is centrally located in the Albrook Mall for those who wish to shop, with very easy access to the Albrook Airport (Marcos A. Gelabert International Airport). This is also a convenient location to the central bus terminal, the metro rail system, and the North Corridor highway. The location is very close to the Panama Canal and ports facilities.

The hotel is a new, modern structure with some portions still under construction. This is not inconvenient for hotel guest. The rooms are pleasing, large, quite, and clean. You get a very good sense of security in the hotel as you need a room key to use the elevator.

I was there on a Thursday night and there was very nice live entertainment in the lounge. I did not have an opportunity to dine in the hotel, but the breakfast buffet was phenomenal.

The BJBF does intent to use the Tryp for our performers and we will recommend it to our festival attendees.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bigjohnpanama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for giving an opportunity to set things straight. Our goal is that “every guest leaves satisfied” and I am glad we were able to accomplish this goal despite an initial mistake. Music has always been part of the culture of this hotel -- since opening the hotel last August we have always had “live music” on Thursday & Friday evenings. Iit’s a natural extension of this culture for music for us to partner with what many consider the premier music festival in Panama – the BJBF (Boquete Jazz & Blues Festival). We look forward to welcoming your international musicians & guests who will be staying with us on their way to Boquete for the BJBF and afterwards as they return to Panama City for their flights to their home countries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Tryp is at one end of the massive Albrook Mall, between the little Albrook airport and Ancon Hill. It is actually a solid 3 star property, like a Holiday Inn or Comfort or Fairfield. But I'm going with a 4 as I had good experience. Pro's: 1- nice size room with good closet space, good lighting, lovely bed: 2- very nice bathroom with great shower: 3- room also had a little safe large enough for laptop, a dorm fridge, iron etc. 4- the included breakfast, a full buffet, was very good with lots of choice; 5- personnel were always friendly, spoke good English; 6- standard of cleanliness was quite high. 6- the included wifi worked great, best hotel wifi I've ever had! Con's: 1- it took a ridiculous amount of time to check in. I was number 9 in line with more behind me. The only guy kept saying to other agents who would pass by 'could some one come out and help?' ridiculous! 2- breakfast- great, food in restaurant for one dinner, quite mediocre. Had Caesar salad with mich warmed-over chicken. Better options in the mall. 3- English tv options were limited. Overall, though, I had a very positive experience. The location is good if you don't need a business district location. if the rate was right I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on above floor and never heard any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BonVoyage2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thank you for staying with us over the summer and for taking time to share your experience with us. I was delighted to hear of the many things you enjoyed in our hotel – including the large guest rooms, breakfast buffet and great WIFI service. I apologize for the slow check-in time and that another team member did not come out to assist. We have now implemented a new procedure so that a team member gets assistance quickly if there is a line of clients at the front desk. Should you travel plans bring you back to Panama City, please contact me at gsimon@tryphotel-am.com as I would be happy to assist with your reservation. Hasta Luego – Glenn Simon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Raphic R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent:
Staff - polite, helpful, accommodating, friendly, responsive, courteous
Restaurant Meals - great selection and prices
Location - perfect for local transportation and proximity to Tocumen airport
Amenities - well maintained, clean and safe
Rooms - modern furnishings, good size
Entertainment - great
Security - visible and helpful

Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Panama City and we intend to only stay here if visiting again - loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review. The location of our hotel is very convenient since is attached to Albrook Mall-the largest shopping mall in Central America, it is also a short walk to the Metro (subway) and can take you to the “center city” in just a few minutes and in 4 minutes to Albrook Airport. Thank you for expressing your appreciation for our “friendly staff”, they really do make the difference and for mentioning all the good things we have to offer, for example we have received so many complements about our comfortable, well equipped and quiet rooms. Thank you for selecting us as your hotel of choice in Panama City. Hasta Luego -- Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose to stay here as we had a 6:30am light leaving out of Albrook airport.

pros:
the rooftop pool is really lovely
only an 5 minute $8 taxi ride to the airport at 5am for a family of 4 with 3 bags
it was great to be able to wander through the mall after being in remoter areas of Panama
the location - next to a massive bus station and 5 minutes by taxi from Albrook airport

cons:
the rooms are small but new & adequate
the location - less convenient to down town, cacso viaje etc

reason for 5 stars: We left to go to the airport at 5am and found that the hotel leaves a table with coffee, juice and baked goods out in the reception for those that have to leave before the restaurant opens for breakfast. This is a really nice touch that we really appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bianca07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. As you mentioned, many guests have told us that they appreciate the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall – the largest shopping mall in Central America. Our roof-top infinity pool where you can lounge, soak in the sun and enjoy the amazing sights of Ancon Hill (highest point in Panama City), the city, Balboa Port, and Albrook Airport. I am glad you enjoy having a quick and good to go breakfast before leaving since our Canal Bistro Restaurant was close, this is a special service we offer to our early checking out guest. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here after a long trip through Central America. Service was very good and professional. Rooms fantastic with very comfortable beds. Bathroom clean, showers worked well. Room looked just like it does in professional photos.
More expensive than other places in Panama City but worth it in my opinion

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomchopsanscheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent feedback. I am glad to hear that you find our service good and professional, also that our beds were comfortable and the rooms looked just like it does in professional photos. Our prices are very competitive compare with other hotels on the same category and glad that you agreed it is worth it. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 115 in Panama City
1,197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
2.4 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall

Address: Ave. Marginal, Ancon | Albrook Mall Shopping Center, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the largest shopping mall in Latin America (Albrook Mall), less than 5 min away from the City of Knowledge, Panama Canal & the US Embassy & 10 min away from the Financial District, this upscale Wyndham is 35 minutes from Tocumen Intl. Arpt. (PTY). Wyndham offers 331 comfortable guest rooms, 3 restaurants & lounges, cutting-edge technology, over 36,000 sq.Ft. Of naturally-lit meeting space, a roof-top solarium and infinity pool and direct access to over 600 shops and boutiques of Albrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Splitty, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing