We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and Clean, nothing else”
Review of Marbella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marbella Hotel
Ranked #85 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed April 2010. This is the first time I went with a trip advisor suggestion, and after walking in went, hmmmmm. It was my only time in Panama City, so maybe I would feel differently after seeing the competition. Very clean, but the area and hotel had no charm at all. Advertised as qn beds but we got a double and an oversized twin. Weird. Good bar and air conditioning in the nearby casino! Adequate for a stopover and place to put your head, but there has to be better choices for the same value elsewhere. It is near shopping, but just stripmall junk. Big market was on nearby main street. Best deal in Panama is to find taxi driver who speaks english and hire him to take you anywhere you want and to stay with you. At his suggestion, we kept a guy over 5 hrs @ $10/hr, and visited historic downtown, locks, harbor, etc.

Room Tip: ask to see another rm if you don't like urs.
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationplannermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Marbella Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

Pretty standard room, nothing all that special, but significantly cheaper than the other options in the business district in Panama City. Perfectly comfortable, and it came with A/C and had on-site parking. Friendly staff, though they do not seem to understand the concept of taking messages. At least one person spoke English, which was a help. Very nice restaurant on site, interesting and safe area to explore nearby, probably a 10 minute walk to central business district. I have stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Panama City now, and when I'm on my own dime, it'll be the Hotel Marbella every time.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric_in_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

A totally average place - functional rooms, quite basic. Dark corridors, sometimes friendly staff. Internet available in the attached bar / restaurant. Acceptable for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The Marbella Hotel was a welcome rest after several long flights. The room was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. I wouldn't rate this establishment over average as the rooms were prettty "bare bone" and not very well appointed. But, for 1 or 2 nights the Marbella is adequate.
The neighborhood was average and there are adequate restaurants close by, as well as good shopping. I would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation, but it will serve it's purpose for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fruebertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Air Conditioners do not work. All knobs broken off. When called desk they bring you a knob so you can turn on or adjust temperature. Rooms hot and stuffy. All on 1 side face building that is VERY close. So your view is of rusted air conditioners and mold (no sunlight goes between 2 buildings) Most rooms painted a dark green giving you a feeling of being in a HOT cave. 2 small bath towels were dirty or badly stained. Provided with 1 small bar soap to be used for shower and sink. NO shampoo, hair dryer, lamp, alarm clock. 1 overhead flourescent light. Pillows were actually a pillow case stuffed with bunches of polyester.
Breakfast was a waitress asking you how you wanted your eggs (scrambled or omelet) and ham or bacon? No choices or menu.

We checked out after 1 night and went next door to the Toscano- an Italian gem that can't be beaten

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee10990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We were going to stay at Milan Hotel with the rest of our family but there was a miscommunication and did there were not enough rooms. So my husband and I went to the Marbella Hotel nearby. For a less expensive hotel it was fine. We had hot showers, sleepable beds, and a small TV. The location was convenient since it was in the center of the El Congrejo area. The only problem was the very loud noise coming from the building next door. It sounded like someone was cutting sheet meatal with a chain saw. It finally stopped around midnight. I recommend bringing ear plugs with you if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

the place is for couples taking a room for a few hours...
as I was on a business trip it felt very inapropriate...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfrank20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#42 of 115 in Panama City
487 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#36 of 115 in Panama City
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
548 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#58 of 115 in Panama City
331 reviews
8.9 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#69 of 115 in Panama City
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Hotel

Address: Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £31 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marbella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marbella Panama
Marbella Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing