We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of 5 Panama City Hotels”
Review of Marbella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marbella Hotel
Ranked #84 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“best of 5 Panama City Hotels”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

stayed at 5 mid priced hotels the past 2 months in Panama City and this was the best by far.the main reason is the staff. service in Panama can be, shall we say rather weak. just the opposite here. friendly smiling and accomodating. the housekeeper on 3/25/12, rm 411, even filled my ice bucket which was waiting for my cerveza when i returned. outstanding! wifi is excellent. spotless rooms. quiet. excellent location. thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    37
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
30
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Loved the restaurant the fish soup is so good and so is the egg sandwich the garlic bread is so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesnyder_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft.Lauderdale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here for three nights. Reasonably clean, little noisy but therefore in the center of everything. Avoid the restaurant especially as there are many good places in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panamacityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. However, my last TWO trips were met by the same game of cat and mouse. You see, I would call the hotel, and confirm my reservation before departure. However, once I arrived at the hotel, surprise, surprise, they don't have a reservation for you.
The reasons I choose the hotel are location and price. But since I am a single traveler I do pay the lowest rate in their book. If anyone else shows up and can pay more than their listed single rate, they would not acknowledge an established and confirmed reservation despite giving these people your credit card information for them to hold a room for you. I repeat, this has happened twice causing me to change my credit card number TWICE.
If you value having your reservation honored after you call a hotel, and be able to actuallu stay there, I highly recomend that you find someplace else because these guys are not going to honor your reservation and don't value your business if someone else will pay more for your "Guaranteed" reservation.
Go there at your own peril, If you like carrying your bags to find another hotel despite having a reservation for this one, go ahead. I know that mess isn't happening to me again. I would go find another hotel and pay more if I have to so I don't have to find another hotel despite having a reserbation for THIS one. You have been warned!!!

Room Tip: This is a very simple bunk down hotel but if you want a best room, simply OVERPAY. That's what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexander1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Cabuya, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Rates are $50US This hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Spanish spoken staff made it a bit difficlt for me but I am practicing. The rooms are small but everything works there is a restaurant and the soup was fantastic. as long as you keep the windows closed you will be able to sleep when the town awakens. I do not like that I had to pay $2US plus tax to use the computer to write this review.

Room Tip: top floor has great veiws of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellemilnejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed April 2010. This is the first time I went with a trip advisor suggestion, and after walking in went, hmmmmm. It was my only time in Panama City, so maybe I would feel differently after seeing the competition. Very clean, but the area and hotel had no charm at all. Advertised as qn beds but we got a double and an oversized twin. Weird. Good bar and air conditioning in the nearby casino! Adequate for a stopover and place to put your head, but there has to be better choices for the same value elsewhere. It is near shopping, but just stripmall junk. Big market was on nearby main street. Best deal in Panama is to find taxi driver who speaks english and hire him to take you anywhere you want and to stay with you. At his suggestion, we kept a guy over 5 hrs @ $10/hr, and visited historic downtown, locks, harbor, etc.

Room Tip: ask to see another rm if you don't like urs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationplannermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Pretty standard room, nothing all that special, but significantly cheaper than the other options in the business district in Panama City. Perfectly comfortable, and it came with A/C and had on-site parking. Friendly staff, though they do not seem to understand the concept of taking messages. At least one person spoke English, which was a help. Very nice restaurant on site, interesting and safe area to explore nearby, probably a 10 minute walk to central business district. I have stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Panama City now, and when I'm on my own dime, it'll be the Hotel Marbella every time.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric_in_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.8 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#79 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
8.6 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#93 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Hotel

Property: Marbella Hotel
Address: Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marbella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marbella Panama
Marbella Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing