We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, charming, accomidating”
Review of Marbella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marbella Hotel
Ranked #83 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Some friends recommended Marbella & we couldn't have asked for a better place for what we needed: a bed, A/C, a hot shower & quiet at night. We had stayed at Las Vegas in the past, which is very nice but the car horns honking at all hours drove me crazy. So, Marbella is MUCH quieter & did the trick. We stayed a total of 3 nights. The first two nights was on a rock hard bed that really needed to be tossed. The last night we had a different room & beds & they were quite comfortable. When we asked for extra items (pillows, hair dryer, etc), they brought them right away.

The front desk folks speak English, which was such a great help. The other workers speak only Spanish, but everyone is so very kind & helpful. I couldn't have asked for a nicer group.

There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel & the food is pretty good. It can be crowded in the mornings. There are plenty of other eating places in the area & it is VERY safe to walk around at night. Marbella is centrally located with easy access to the main roads & highways.

I think you will find it clean, fresh, accomidating & welcoming. No fancy frills, just a good place to stay.

Take care,
Helene & Frank
Baltimore, MD
USA

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HeleneQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2007

Needed a room to stay and other more expensive hotels were all booked. The Marbella proved to be a simple hotel but clean and inexpensive. The front desk was helpful and made sure that my wake up call and taxi were on time. Rooms are small, bathrooms are ok size...but who needs a large room just to sleep for a few hours? I would definitely stay there again on an overnighter.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sailfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

Hotel Marbella is a very clean, comfortable, and affordable ($38.50/night including tax) hotel in the El Cangrejo district. Rooms have hot showers and A/C. The "business center" offers two computers and two laptop hookups for internet access at $1.10/hour. The restaurant is also clean and convenient, but the food is passable at best.

The hotel appears to be packed with Americans. The front desk staff speaks English, but they don't seem really happy about it. I'd recommend it if you're looking for clean, simple and affordable. But if you want friendly and charming, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank athomas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and found it clean an adequate. It is within 1 block ot the Veneto Casino and has a good restaurant. I found the desk clerks OK and would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank luckysnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Very Nice Hotel,

My book doesn´t included breakfast, but there are some good cofees near the hotel.

The internet service is a little expensive, but at two blocks long there are a lot of internet coffees.

People in the front desk is very nice with tourist. Room was big and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rubenpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2006

the hotel is basic but ok, however there are nicer hotels with more facilities in the neighbourhood that are even a few dollars cheaper.

I personally disliked this hotel (Marbella) because we made reservations about a month in advance and made it clear it was composed of two blocks of reservations with a day-off in between. They said it was ok.

We made repeated confirmations of the reservation to make our intent clear and avoid unpleasant surprises.

Well, as it appears "reservation" means nothing to these people (the staff of the hotel)! We found ourselves on the streets with some lame excuses from the unfriendly woman staffing the desk. We arrived there expecting to have a rest after our travel and wind up and found ourselves "homeless" because these people simply cancelled our reservation without even contacting us (they had our number!!!).

All in all we had a much better experience with our two "refuge" hotels and would definitely never ever again deal with Hotel Marbella, not for us and not recommended to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Panama V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

We stayed at the Marbella Hotel for four nights at the start of a three week trip to Panama and Costa Rica. The room was clean and quiet with good air conditioning and a good mattress. The staff spoke good English. Good value for money. Good location near shops, restaurants, internet cafes, etc. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank percusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#43 of 115 in Panama City
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#35 of 115 in Panama City
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
552 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 115 in Panama City
334 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#98 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Hotel

Address: Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marbella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marbella Panama
Marbella Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing