We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centroamericano Offers Intro to Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centroamericano Hotel
Ranked #70 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Benbrook, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Centroamericano Offers Intro to Panama”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and spent our first night in Panama at Hotel Centroamericano. Comfortable, inexpensive and a looooong was from the airport. Near Panama Canal and Air Panama flight to David. Hotel driver took us to Canal and returned to take us to Albrook Airport.

The hotel staff was very friendly and learning English. The rooms were small, but affordable and offered us a chance to stay in an economical hotel district. We misunderstood the hotel and thought they were to have a driver meet us at Panama City Airport, but no driver. A taxi was hired to take us to the hotel which was quite a distance from the airport. The fee was $20.

The hotel had a very small bathroom that was adequate for us as we arrived at approximately 9 p.m. and left at 8 a.m. for a tour of the Panama Canal. We did not expect a 4 Star hotel and we didn't get one.

Room Tip: Rooms face the street and provide a view of the other economical hotels in the district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nR812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello, thank you for your review, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel, we strive to provide the best service possible, and is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied. We're sorry if there was any inconvenience with the pick up at the airport.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    117
    92
    25
    21
See reviews for
50
98
55
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here twice in April - one night after arriving in the city, and before travelling onward, and then 2 nights on our way back through. The rooms were clean and comfortable on both occaisions. The free wi-fi and the secure parking was appreciated. The water would not heat as much as we would have liked - but it wasn't freezing. The staff was helpful but be prepared to know at least some basic Spanish. The restaurant had some excellent food at very reasonable prices. Will stay again next time in Panama as the location worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you very much, we appreciate all your positive comments, we strive to provide the best service possible, and is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to recieve you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked this hotel for three nights. We booked a "superior" room as it was advertised to be a bit larger. When we arrived, there was some confusion due to our inability to speak Spanish and the desk clerk's to speak English. We ended up with a smaller room, but with a balcony. Not worth it even at a lesser rate. The room was MINUTE and the balcony was only large enough to stand up on and only for one person at a time or two if you really like one another and don't mind being public about it. The shower was also a disappointment, no hot water and poor pressure.

Since our original reservation was for a superior room, we decided to switch for the remaining two nights. What a difference. The superior room had more space, a mini-fridge and a terrific shower. Well worth the extra $10 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for room 510. That's the top floor. Decent view and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your review, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel, despite the inconveniences mentioned, it is very important to us that you enjoy your stay.
We are thrilled to receive such positive comments about the superior room, we always work on providing the best service to our guests.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We recently needed an inexpensive hotel, that allowed dogs, in panama city, Panama for a couple nights. It's very clean & the staff was extemely helpful, even tho they spoke very little English & we spoke very little Spanish. There is a small restaurant attached & breakfast was included in the price. We ate several other meals there & they were very good & well priced. The rooms are quite small, but they do have internet & a TV. The AC wasn't great, but we found if we closed the bathroom door the room stayed a lot cooler. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hello, thank you very much for writing us, we appreciate all your comments, they help us to improve and correct mistakes.
We're glad that you and your pets enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We enjoyed our 5-night stay at Centroamericana. The staff was helpful and friendly, and loved our dogs! The rooms are small but clean and bright. Good location. Those of you who are bringing pets, make sure to get the pet fee in writing. I asked repeatedly if there was an additional fee, and did not get a straight answer until check-out. Breakfast is minimal. There is also a washer and dryer, which is helpful. Caution to those using the parking garage: Our Jeep was broken into the first night of our stay. Granted, it is a soft-top, so entry does not take too much effort. Very little was taken--tools from our toolbox. Someone must have walked into the garage, scaring the thief. The staff was concerned, and there were no more incidents after.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your review, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel Centroamericano, despite the inconveniences mentioned, it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with us.
For us, animals are very important, and we consider them family members, so we treat them as such, we hope that your pets enjoyed their stay too! We apologize for not having concretized on the extra fee on time.
We also regret what happened to the car in the parking lot, these are situations that we have no control on, but I can assure you that does not usually happen, because we have day and night staff at the front desk watching the cameras.
We hope you return soon, we will be glad to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

First day at the hotel, sheets were a little stained and there were hairs (probably from the previous guest) everywhere. On the sheets, pillows, the floor. Luckily the next day the cleaning lady came in and changed all the sheets so I enjoyed that night. Breakfast was poor. Internet wifi very fast. Staff were kind even though they didn't speak much English.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hello, thank you very much for writing us, we appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, they help us to improve and correct mistakes.
I am sorry that the room has not been suitable at your arrival, this situation really bothers us, and we will see that this doesn’t happen again.
We're sorry that the included breakfast we offer wasn’t enough, we are just implementing this service, so we have a lot to learn and improve, but likewise the restaurant offers a variety of dishes that you could have chosen if you wish to have something else.
We are glad you had a good stay at the hotel, hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Decent budget hotel with basic accommodations. Good for a one or two night stay in the city. Conveniently located - just a quick taxi ride to the downtown area. The walls are very thin, however, you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to you. Restaurant serves a good breakfast. Staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you, we appreciate all your comments, we work hard to provide the best service possible to our guest, and your criticism help us to improve every day, is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to serve you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 114 in Panama City
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#83 of 114 in Panama City
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#55 of 114 in Panama City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#77 of 114 in Panama City
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 114 in Panama City
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centroamericano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centroamericano Hotel

Property: Centroamericano Hotel
Address: Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 16-03993, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Centroamericano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On business or leisure trip, here you will find a warm atmosphere, with all the facilities you need, also has the best location just minutes from the most important commercial areas of Panama, with easy transportation 24 hours. We are a Pet Friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centroamericano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centroamericano Hotel Panama City
Centroamericano Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing