We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look online for a hostel instead”
Review of Hotel Costa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Inn
Ranked #100 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look online for a hostel instead”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The service at the front desk of this hotel is not very friendly or helpful, and the room they put us into was cramped and dark for how much we paid ($75 a night). It's also not in a very nice part of the city; we felt unsafe walking the streets alone or at dusk. It was like pulling teeth to get the people at the front desk to help us get a taxi when we needed to leave, and they never even succeeded at this task because of a parade going on in front of the hotel; instead the only option we had was to pay a tour bus that was stationed at the hotel $25 to take us where we wanted to go (a hostel that was much nicer AND cheaper), which we were forced to do because of the poor service. When we tried to leave, the bus driver (who was affiliated with the hotel) tried to lie to us and tell us the next place we had booked was crappy and located in an unsafe neighborhood (actually it was a much nicer place and the neighborhood was much better, though a bit out of the way). The hotel restaurant's food is terrible (although I will say the wait staff was at least nice and helpful, much more helpful than the people at the front desk). I suggest looking for a hostel instead. Like I stated before, we found an affordable one nearby (Villa Michelle) that was $25 a night cheaper and provided a much better room and with better service and a much better atmosphere. It also had a great pool and a nice area to cook your own meals, watch TV, and a nice covered outdoor sitting area. The staff at this hostel was much more helpful than the hotel's staff.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the room first. The one we were put into was very small, very dark, and it had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelandGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    69
    85
    44
    67
See reviews for
52
100
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I needed a hotel for just one night. After checking several hotels and prices I decided to stay in Costa Inn. Upon arrival, I went straight to the information counter and they helped me find the person in charge of the free shuttle to the hotel. The trip to the hotel was approx. 20-30 min. Costa Inn Hotel could be probably defined as an oldie three-start hotel in a good location with free shuttles to different locations in the city. The hotel has a swimming pool on the top floor with a nice view of most Panama city, a cosy restaurant and a tiny travel agency on the first floor.
I was given a room on the fifth floor and it was quite secure. The room though had some kind of damp/musty smelling which is most probably due to the use of an old AC unit in the room and the hot-humid weather outside. The room and the bathroom were clean, the towels were packed in transparent bags but there were no complementary shampoos, soaps, and/or shower gels. The internet connection worked perfectly fine while I stayed in the hotel as well as the flat screen TV.
The hotel is located in a good area and it's not that far from the old town. I took a taxi which costed me 2 USD (I speak Spanish and look very latino! so no overcharging) and the trip to the old town was less than 30 minutes. You can also walk to the old town if you feel like sweating a little bit, just look for the seaside promenade and you'll find others like you who also like walking.
If you like shopping in Panama city, this hotel has free shuttles to different malls. You can also take a taxi which will probably charge you 2/2.50 USD from the hotel. They also organize tours to famous places and beaches outside the city. I found the prices to be quiet reasonable.
As other travellers have mentioned in this forum, the breakfast was pretty much OK for a three-star hotel. There was a buffet where one could find cheese, eggs, assorted fruits, milk, tea, coffee, chocolate, bread, pancakes, etc. Everything was delicious and ready to eat!
The hotel personnel was nice and ready to assist me at any time. They may look a bit reserved at first but after a while they become the friendliest people.

Room Tip: If you have allergies to mold then I would recommend considering another hotel. I didn't see any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlsources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The room was just barely adequate for middle class southern woman. Pool and restaurant were fine. Staff were wonderful. Airport transportation did not show up to pick me up upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyintheskyNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were traveling through Panama on our way home after driving down from San Salvador. We'd stayed in a bunch of different hotels along the way and we were ready for some downtime. My Amigos and I ended up staying there Thursday-Saturday.

First, it was a very reasonable price. We were excited to find something affordable. We were also fairly pleased with the location. It wasn't in the heart of the action, but it was a relatively short taxi to Calle Uruguay or Casco Viejo.

Second, we were very pleased to find that they had a free shuttle to the airport. That was a huge benefit.

Third, the rooms were decent. I've travelled to New York several times and the room size reminds me of what you might see at one of the older our boutique hotels in Manhattan. It's basic: a bed, a desk, a small bathroom and a TV. Most importantly: an AC unit. I guess they control the AC power centrally, because Friday afternoon mine was off. I figured it would come back on but had to call down to the front desk and ask. It came on immediately.

Fourth, breakfast... well, it was edible and the coffee was strong. That's about all I really ask for when it comes to 'included breakfast'.

What's kind of cool about the place is that the owner built it back when the area was wide open fields (or at least that's what his son told one of my compadres). You really do get the sense that this has been serving visitors to Panama for decades. This is a pretty decent joint. We saw a lot of religious groups staying at this hotel, so we felt a little more comfortable about safety and rowdiness.

I should say too that the Airport Shuttle worked as advertised. Many of the guests anticipated a logistical mess and arrived in the lobby a bit before departure. But, the shuttle arrived and left right on schedule and got us to the airport in no time.

If you travel in Central America a lot, you'll be surprised at how expensive Panama City can be. This hotel provides a nice island of value in Central America's hottest city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilLepanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is acceptable, had some problems with the AC, had to swap rooms due to AC noises at 3:00 AM, the hotel is clean, smell like humidity, they turn off your air conditioner at 10am aprox (which can be a hassle if you are hangover lol), however they turn it on if they decide to pick up.... Geronima at the main desk is a great person always happy to help people, some others are not that good.. Would I stay here again? most likely not, would I recommend it, maybe... Good luck

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDave_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTW Trip
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

A basic clean hotel room with a TV and quiet-ish AC. Our room was small and we walked past some big roomy and much fancier rooms that I assumed cost more. We paid $50 per night for a double bed & single bed en suite. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The WiFi worked and breakfast was good. Breakfast consited of lots of different fuits, some already pealed and cut up in nice little containers, cereals, bread and cheese and ham, warm fried breaded items (?) scrambled eggs, yogurts and they had a tostie machine so you can make your own tosties. The pool wasnt too big but was clean and serverd its purpose and my 11yr old had fun. The hotel offers a free bus to the shopping mall/bus station and airport. The hotel was secure and you couldnt get in the lift or through the door to the stairs without a key card. We hired a car but didnt use the rental place suggested by the hotel because their prices were high: We just did an online comparrison using Thrifty, Budget & Dollar. Some rentals charge a drop off fee so cheaper to keep the car a week longer and bring it back.

Room Tip: Use a hostle website to book to get cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me&Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Arrived and our booking was not confirmed, got a room , even though a room was not quite ready they rushed about to get it together and we stayed for 4 nights.Very friendlt. Good location as it is the interesting part of the city. Pool on the roof, let s you swim in the cool of the evening, Breakfast was well provided for and a good selection and good quality. Odd thing is no chairs in the lobby, waiting here is a pain and it can be lengthy (Unless you get a seat in the conviently located Travel Agency????)
Jose is the fast talking, fast moving, fast thinking "Fixit man" Look for him, he will not dissappoint.
Our flight left at 0630 and it meant we had to be at the airport at 0430, DONE! Hotel taxi. no probs, It has the airport shuttle as well

Room Tip: Has an airport shuttle and close to the Bus stn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournemuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 113 in Panama City
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cresta Inn
La Cresta Inn
#93 of 113 in Panama City
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#90 of 113 in Panama City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#84 of 113 in Panama City
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 113 in Panama City
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#76 of 113 in Panama City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Inn

Property: Hotel Costa Inn
Address: Av. Peru 39 Este, Panama City 0816-01510, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for mid executives and touristic customers, close to the entrances for the 2 highways, in a hospital and a touristic area, close to the shops and the bank area. 90 Rooms, TV sat, free WIFI, phone, AC, pool, free parking, free buffet breakfast, free airport pick up shuttle service available... Only at the exit of costums you have to go with the people of Viajes Florencia, they have orange shirts and say you have a reservation at the costa inn or please contact hotel with flight information, travel and tours agency in the lobby, restaurant 24hs. Good and well know reputation, referenced in the international guides. Manager 24hs. Free shuttles to Allbrook Mall at 11am, Free shuttles to Tocumen International Airport at special time 5am, 8am, 11am and 2pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Panama City
Hotel Costa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing