We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor almost terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Costa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Inn
Ranked #101 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very poor almost terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Let's start by saying I stayed here in 2009 and although it was cheap, you still got decent breakfast, free transport to hotel from airport and to malls, and friendly efficient staff, so what the hotel lacked in shine and polish it more than made up for in value, so it was I chose to rebook again for November 2012.
What a difference 3 years makes. Yes the transport is still available, but only a couple of times aday, and since they pick up from a handful of hotels it can be cramped, yes the breakfast isn't terrible, but most mornings due to a tiny dining room, you can never get a seat, and since breakfast only runs from 7 til 9 once it's gone it's gone, so if you arrive after 8am you better not be too hungry.
Some of the friendly staff remain, but it seems to redress the balance, other ignorant, abnoxious staff have also been hired.
The area the hotel is situated was once a fairly nice area, however whilst staying there I was informed by the local police not to venture out alone in the area after dark.
That leads me on to my primary concern. The hotel lacks any form of security guard, and anyone is welcome into the hotel to visit the restaurant. Room key cards are used to enter stairs and lifts, however most of the time these are open for anyone to wander in.
Which is how I ended up being robbed whilst in the hotel, which the staff seemed very blasé about. The police informed me this was due to the fact it happened often at the hotel but the owners had done nothing to address it. So there ends my essay. This was an average hotel with good value, however it seems the owners have let it slip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmanuk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    67
    84
    44
    66
See reviews for
52
98
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I chose this Hotel because of my guidebook and the free airport shuttle - but that was a mistake.

The hotel shuttle is marked with a tour company logo, not the Hotel’s. The front desk staff speak very little [or no] English – which is fine, BUT, they didn’t have much patience for my limited Spanish and didn’t try very hard to make the airport pick-up directions understandable.

For what turned-out to be about $4 dollars more per night, but without an included airport pick-up [but can be arranged for a reasonable fee], the Baru Lodge is INCREDIBLY better.

This Hotel’s location is OK. The neighborhood may not feel safe to some at night. It is a noisy one-way street on a hill which means the muffler-less busses and trucks are really loud in the rooms on lower floors facing the street, even with the window closed.

The room was not very clean. Plumbing leak. The WiFi didn’t work on my floor either of the nights I was there, and was very slow in the mornings. The A/C worked the first night, but not the second – apparently you have to ask them to flip a switch at the front desk if you want the A/C to work beyond the first night?!?

The free breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Christ Church
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

My family and I booked Costa Inn after searching the internet widely for affordable hotels to stay in the summer of 2011 (never mind Tripadvisor only gave me up until Nov' 2011 as the date i went) .

What i really appreciated was the shuttle services to and from the airport and those to Albrook Mall, all complimentary.

The rooms are simple but comfortable enough to get a good night's rest. Do not forget to let reception know that you'd like the A/C on when you return from your shopping/ sightseeing (they tend to turn it off while you are out to conserve electricity). Panama is quite humid and you would rather not bake in your room.

Breakfast is included in the price you pay and i must say that i wasn't disappointed with the selection of food and fruits.

The staff are typically pleasant and willing to assist in any way possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Not really much to say about this hotel. It's ok but nothing special. Reasonably cheap, ok breakfast, pretty central. Best thing was the roof top pool - not very big but never busy - with great views over the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I choose this hotel for the price, thought it was great for an overnight stay, had a flight next morning and shuttle service was complimentary. First the hotel needs a renovation big time. The room is so tiny I had a bad night due the bed too small for two people. The complimentary shuttle has certain hours so I had to pay a taxi 25usd to take me to the airport. The photos available are totally photo shop. The only thing that I like about this hotel was the security card to enter the elevators and enter your room. I will not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The room was clean but desperately in need of upgrades. The location was also not very pleasant. If the rates were lower then it probably would have been justified. On the positives - the staff were helpful, the view of the city from the rooftop was nice, and the restaurant served tasty seafood.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Basic rooms, but reasonably clean. Excellent location, in the city centre. Has a convenient 24 hours restaurant. Breakfast not very good. Free airport shuttle service, but I had to wait approx. 1 hour when I arrived due to pick up of 4 other passengers on other flights.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#92 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cresta Inn
La Cresta Inn
#90 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#83 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#76 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#77 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Inn

Property: Hotel Costa Inn
Address: Av. Peru 39 Este, Panama City 0816-01510, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for mid executives and touristic customers, close to the entrances for the 2 highways, in a hospital and a touristic area, close to the shops and the bank area. 90 Rooms, TV sat, free WIFI, phone, AC, pool, free parking, free buffet breakfast, free airport pick up shuttle service available... Only at the exit of costums you have to go with the people of Viajes Florencia, they have orange shirts and say you have a reservation at the costa inn or please contact hotel with flight information, travel and tours agency in the lobby, restaurant 24hs. Good and well know reputation, referenced in the international guides. Manager 24hs. Free shuttles to Allbrook Mall at 11am, Free shuttles to Tocumen International Airport at special time 5am, 8am, 11am and 2pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Panama City
Hotel Costa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing