We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad experience after the other”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family and I arrived at midnight, but knowing that our flight would arrive so late, we sent an e-mail a week before to confirm this with the hotel. Not only did we not get a response, but our room was not ready at midnight (10 hours after the normal check in!). My children were tired, since we had been traveling for 15 hours and we looked forward to sleep. The lady at the front desk made us wait for an hour and could not find an available room. She gave us the junior suite for the trouble, but there was only one bed and a tiny sofa bed so we did not fit. We waited for another hour while the extra bed arrived, only to be told ONE hour later (after we had unpacked) that they realized there were no spare beds. It was already 2 am so they gave us a second room which had a horrible moldy smell. Then, we changed rooms again the next day. That was three rooms in less than 12 hours. No apologies, nothing.
The last day my daughter noticed two small bugs but no one thought anything of it until after we left because my older daughter developed itchy bites. Yes, they were bug bites.
So overall, no I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mari n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, Gerente at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mari N
Thank you very much for airing your concerns through this channel.
We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was less than ideal. We want to assure you that all the proper measures have been taken so that the circumstances you enlisted won’t occur once more.. We take all feedback seriously so that we are working with our employees to correct these situations.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It is only with your insight that we can continuously improve. We would love to have the opportunity to show you how pleasant it can be to stay at our hotel. Please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Best regards,
Floribeth Gutierrez / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Well, first trip to Panama and decided to go for a Courtyard given some standards they supposedly follow worldwide.

Unfortunately I guess this one just forgot about all of them.

They do have a renovated lobby, but guess what? We don't sleep in the lobby!

Cleanliness: 0 (it is not difficult to find someone's hair in the bathroom)

Availability: 1 (even with a 30-day reservation, I was put in a disability room). Question is: what they would do if a person really needs that room?

Customer Orientation: BIG 0 (do you think you will be treated well if you are an elite member? FORGET IT! They don't even mention it

Meals: 4 (it is above hotel average and breakfast is includes which is a plus)

Location: 4 (mall, business centers, yes, that works)

Well... It looks like more a Fairfield Inn than a Courtyard... Maybe they should just change its name.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pokinatcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, Gerente at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Pokinatch, thank you for your comments. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations
On the flip side, we are pleased to know that you find our hotel in a great location. Multiplaza Mall is in fact one of the most exclusive malls in the country and we are extremely close to the Americas tower, where many high profile companies have their Latin American headquarters.
Again, thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We always strive to achieve an excellent hotel experience. Only by receiving the comments of our valued customers, we can improve and progress towards our goal. Best regards,
Floribeth Gutierrez / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel with nice and comfortable rooms. They offer a big breakfast buffet and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner as well. You can use also the pool or the gym.It is located steps away from the biggest mall in the country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Alberto. Thank you very much for airing your concerns through this channel.
we are pleased to know that you find our hotel neat, comfortable and in a great location. Multiplaza Mall is in fact one of the most exclusive malls in the country and we are extremely close to the Americas tower, where many high profile companies have their Latin American headquarters
Again, thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We always strive to achieve an excellent hotel experience. Only by receiving the comments of our valued customers, we can improve and progress towards our goal. Best regards,
Floribeth Gutierrez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food in the lobby restaurant is bad for the hotel level and their service is average. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the most outstanding person was Ariel Gonzalez.The pool is a little small but the gym is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaMurua04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear MelissaMurua
Thank you very much for airing your comments through this channel and share with us your experience at the Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall. For us is very important your opinion.
I will make sure to share your comments with Ariel. Thank you again for the feedback.
We will be happy to welcome you in your next trip to Panama.
best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times in February & April 2014. Each time I have found the staff to be friendly, rooms very clean, hotel very presentable. Their Trip Advisor award is definitely true after staying here a couple of different times. The hotel is located next to the Multiplaza Mall where you can find a grocery store, ATMs, and multiple dining/shopping options...more than I can look at.

Breakfast is a little bit chaotic when it is crowded, but overall it was well prepared. The pool is very small and clean; I don't recommend diving into it or swimming laps because of the size/depth. Gym looked pretty good; to access it and the pool you will need your room key card. They do provide pool towels and a dirty towel basket. Breakfast, pool, and gym are all on level 2. There is a hotel bar and small sundry/snack shop at reception on the main level 1.

As I went through the hotel, even the housekeepers I encountered greeted me. I am very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of this hotel. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the front, high floor. The other side looks over the Multiplaza Mall roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear George
Thank you very much for airing your comments through this channel and share with us your experience at the Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall. For us is very important your opinion.
Particularly, we are pleased to know that you find our hotel clean, neat, comfortable and in a great location. Multiplaza Mall is in fact one of the most exclusive malls for shopping in the country and Located at the heart of the entertainment and business center of Panama City. With more than 280 shopping stores, a variety of restaurants, movie theaters and more.
Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

An excellent location, just steps from the largest and most prestigious shopping mall of Panama City and close to corporate buildings where many international companies have offices in that city.

Staff service is very good, spacious and comfortable rooms, good breakfast and nice bar area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Jorge

Thank you for your comment. We are very fortunate to have positive reviews and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Our location is definitely a great characteristic that the hotel has. Being in the midst of the financial center of Panama and in front of Tower of the Americas, lets us cater to many local and international executives. It is important to point out that there are other features that set us apart. We pride ourselves that we have one of the best sushi bars in town, fresh fish comes in the hotel daily, so we can ensure its quality and flavor. Also our bar not only serves Asian inspired cocktails but have an ample selection of well drinks and premium choices.
In the upcoming month, were going to change the theme of our hotel bar, so it is more suitable for the Soccer World Cup. We’re going to have plenty specials on food and beverages so that you can enjoy your favorite international teams with a fun and great environment.
Again, thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We can’t wait to have you around here again!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of April. Three of those nights were part of our tour with Caravan Tours. We booked our first night at the Courtyard as we were arriving a day earlier of our tour starting. The rates were originally high at $165.00 per night on Marriott's website. But I kept checking and the prices fell 2X and I got a reasonable rate of $135.00 plus tax Canadian.

We took a white van airport taxi from the airport to the hotel. They have rates posted outside the airport terminal where the taxi's are lined up. For 2 people to downtown is $30.00. It is about a 30 minute drive from the airport. Upon checkin we took our own luggage to our room.We were very pleased with our accommodations. The room and bathroom is a decent size and clean. We were on the 6th floor facing the street and the Multiplaza Mall. Even though we were close to the elevator and the ice machine it was a quiet room. Our room had a mini fridge, safe, ironing board, iron and hairdryer. The flat screen tv had 2 English channels CNN and Fox News. There is a bar in the lobby and a restaurant on the 2nd floor. The restaurant serves buffet breakfast starting at 6 am and the omelette section starts at 6:30am. I think the price is around $17.00. We did not want a full breakfast so they allowed us to order seperate. Toast, milk and tea cost $2.00 per item. Very reasonable. When we joined our Caravan Tours the next day all our buffet meals were included. The buffet breakfasts were very good and plentiful. You could always find something to eat. Our dinner buffet was very good. Very good salads, delicious walnut and apple salad. Enjoyed the chicken and the Chop Steak with vegetables (tasted like pepper steak).

This hotel has the Multiplaza Mall right next door. Very convenient if you want to do high end shopping. The stores close at 8pm and the restaurants at 9pm.The Multiplaza Mall has over 200 stores that have all the name brand stores that you find in Canada and US. The prices are very expensive. You can get better deals back home at the outlet malls. There is a Riba Smith grocery store in the mall on the 2nd floor and can find beer and bottled water for under a dollar. The groceries are the same cost or more like back home and they have a lot of the same brand names. Everything is in US dollars. The food court in a section on the 3rd floor has a big choice of restaurants. I highly recommend Lenos y Carbon Restaurant. The food is very good and very reasonable. The menu is only in Spanish.We asked if anyone spoke English and we got lucky. This wonderful waiter Philippe was able to explain everything to us. So ask for Philippe. He is such a nice pleasant young guy, very helpful and good looking too! Be warned if you do not speak Spanish you will have a very hard time communicating in stores, restaurants and taxis in Panama. Most Panamanians do not speak English even in the tourist areas.

Thank you to Hazel at the Reception desk at the Courtyard Marriott. She was so nice and helpful. Such a sweet girl with a beautiful smile. I asked Hazel if she could write in Spanish a note for the taxi driver how much it would cost to take us all the way up to Ancon Hill so we can take photos of the view of Panama City and then drive to Casco Viejo and drop us off. When reading reviews for taxis fares it can range as there are no meters. It is a set price and in Panama City if you are a tourist the price is jacked up. Taking a yellow taxi in front of the hotel or shopping center will be higher. If you flag them down on the street it will be cheaper but if they know you are a tourist it can cost even more. You can bargain with them. We took a taxi in front of the Multiplaza Mall and were charged $20.00 for 1 hour. It took exactly 1 hour for what we wanted. To come back from Casco Viejo to the Courtyard Marriott we flagged down a taxi and he charged us $6.00. (note 1st cab flagged wanted $8.00).We got dropped off at 2nd Calle (street) in Casco Viejo. A good place to start your walking tour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floribeth G, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your nice comments and taking the time to let us know about your experience in your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you liked our breakfast and the location our Hotel Courtyard at Multiplaza Mall.
On the flip side, we are pleased to know that you find our hotel clean, neat, comfortable and in a great location. Multiplaza Mall is in fact one of the most exclusive malls in the country and we are extremely close to the Americas tower, where many high profile companies have their Latin American headquarters.
Again, thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Only by receiving the comments of our valued customers, we can improve and progress towards our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.9 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 116 in Panama City
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Panama
Sheraton Grand Panama
#46 of 116 in Panama City
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#14 of 116 in Panama City
1,173 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Via Israel Avenue | Multiplaza Pacific Mall, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Panama City
#5 Business Hotel in Panama City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £70 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard at Multiplaza Mall is the only hotel within Multiplaza complex. At Multiplaza Mall guests will find more than 350 venues such as department stores, boutiques, movie theaters, restaurants, coffee shops and the best nightlife in Panama. This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and business center of Panama City, next to Torre Las Americas corporate center and Punta Pacifica Hospital. Just a few minutes away from the hotel you will find Costa del Este Business Park and Tocumen Airport. Hotel amenities include room service, sushi bar, coffee shop, a fully equipped fitness center, outdoor pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or a la carte in our restaurant Pacific Grill which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 40" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. The Panama Canal, Causeway of Amador, Casco Antiguo and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama City
Panama City Courtyard
Courtyard Panama At Multiplaza Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing