We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Trade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at the hotel during our honeymoon. We checked in to our beautiful room, and set up our stuff. There is no hair dryer in the room, so that was a bummer. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even set out little fruit tarts for us at the end of the night. However, our room was 108, and was right next to the street. We didn't think anything of it at first, but in the middle of the night and throughout the morning we could hear dogs barking, church bells ringing, and some kind of street sweeper. It was as if we left our windows or doors wide open. Since it was the middle of the night, we didn't want to pack all of our stuff up and try to find a different room. So we suffered and barely got any sleep.

The hotel is gorgeous and the staff was friendly enough, that I would recommend ATH, but please make sure you do not get a room that lines up to the street.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room that lines up to a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Caitlin B. Thank you for sharing your review. We’re so sorry to hear your night’s sleep suffered as a result of Casco’s overnight sounds. We are always happy to take requests regarding room preferences, and will be sure to have you sleep over Plaza Herrera next time around. Regarding hairdryers in rooms, we do have them in our rooms albeit difficult to find sometimes. We realize you didn’t have one and that is our mistake. Please accept our apology. From all of us here at ATH, we hope you and your husband had a wonderful honeymoon and look forward to having you back in Casco.

All our best,

ATH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    92
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
62
224
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The ATH is the place to stay in PC. The service is outstanding. Alberto answered all of my questions prior to our stay and connected with us during our visit. He is outstanding! The front desk crew and entire team is truly top notch--Maroni and Christian for sure were the charmers! First, the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spacious (get a room with a balcony overlooking the casco), clean and every detail makes for an extremely comfortable stay. The gym on the first floor is like having a private gym, good equipment and clean! The location of the hotel is perfect right in the center of the casco. (10 min from allbrook airport and 20/25 from PTY). Unido Coffee bar is in the hotel--if you are a coffee drinker you must try the pour-over coffee, delicious! The pool on the roof is small but lovely and a great escape from the heat. The view is outstanding and you can even see the new Bio Museo. Also, the jazz bar in the hotel is fabulous. We caught the sunday evening show..i think tix on sunday are 8 pp. I cannot say enough good things about the ATH and the staff--simply superb. We miss everyone already! Thanks for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Yes! Jaymelh, what an outstanding review, thank you. It appears you hit every one of our outlets with gusto, amazing. We shall now celebrate Alberto’s outstanding-ness and both Maroni and Christian’s charm. In fact, I think our entire team will high five one another. We’re truly grateful for your visit and that we were able to provide such a superb experience. Come back soon!

All our best,

Your friends at ATH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great job on this new hotel --- ideally located facing a plaza near the water in the heart of colonial panama city. Everybody working here was incredibly friendly and fun to be around. The restoration of the rooms and common areas is exquisite.... it was the perfect way to spend a day in Panama with plenty of sights, restaurants and bars within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Room 302 has very high ceilings and a balcony overlooking a plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adtripvizor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi adtripvizor. Thanks for spending the day with us - and your compliments! We like to think we’re a fun bunch too. Looking forward to your next visit to Plaza Herrera.

Cheers,

ATH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The American Trade Hotel is a jewel property. A boutique hotel that is an oasis of new and casual elegance in Panama. Rooms are very well appointed with attention to details. Large proportions, top notch electronics and bedding. Even the bathroom is of high calibre. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCGSibarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We love the idea of being Panama City's "Jewel"! Thank you for your note, JCGSibarita. Until next time.

all the best,

ATH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Ace Panama Hotel is hands down one of the best hotel experiences I have had. From the moment you walk in you are treated in the most spectacular way. I was lost on the way from the airport and Victor stayed on the phone with me the whole way till I got there. Yenny was another unforgettable part of my stay. She was so in tuned with what you needed and was always there with a huge smile. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you so much to Victor and Yenny for making my stay amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mld96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi mld96. Victor and Yenny are stars - we agree. Always an honor to celebrate such feedback, thank you for sharing. Come back soon!

Your Friends at ATH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The American Trade Hotel is a great property. The hotel is clean, comfortable and functional. However, what stood out the best was the emphasis of the staff on one's comfort. They do try hard to make sure that your stay in Panama City would be pleasant and easy. I never met a stoic nor a brooding face. Everybody is smiling and asking how they can make your day's plans work and feel better. It was not the obligatory "how are you , have a nice day " kind of exchange. One time, when the car service did not have change for us, a staff member offered to give us his change but when he found out it was not enough he went to a nearby grocery store to have our money changed. (That was Alex by the way.) If they think you are thirsty, they will go get a bottle of water for you. It is easy to keep a hotel clean and the property immaculate but having a staff that would care is kind of hard to find. Bravo !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi jmrmd. We're still smiling - even more so after reading your review. Please rest assured Alex's efforts will be celebrated, as will those of our entire team. We believe very strongly in the idea of hosting our guests at American Trade Hotel, and are thrilled you felt as cared for as you did. We thank you for sharing your experience - come back soon!

all our best,

Your Friends at ATH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We loved this hotel. It's in Casco Viejo which is the old part of Panama City. The area has great charm and is really an up and coming part of the city. We loved the amenities and the old feel of this new hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.5 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Trade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Trade Hotel

Property: American Trade Hotel
Address: Avenida Central & Calle 8 | Plaza Herrera Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — American Trade Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Trade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Trade Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing