We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
399
128
37
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
128
37
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz club old city casco viejo ace hotel church bells panorama room aesop toiletries beautiful hotel plaza herrera classic hotel tall ceilings small pool area rooftop pool modern amenities third floor light sleeper turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stoped by for dinner Sunday night. Very disappointing experience. No one to greet you at the front door, no one at the bar to order a drink from, the restaurant is dead at 9pm. Only one table in the corner finishing their meal. We ordered three courses which all came at the same time. Wine and water no one offered to refill for us. The food was mediocre tourist fair pizza/burger/poke ball. Definitely better places in town to enjoy Panamanian cousins with a more pleasant atmosphere.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 4AnnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel. It’s in the center of Casco Viejo where there are so many great places to eat. It was a nice change from the cosmopolitan downtown where we spent the first half of our week here. This area is up and coming and I hope we can visit it again in a few years to see the transformation. The service at this hotel is top-notch and the reataurant is excellent. I would recommend suggesting a room in the plaza side of the hotel, as it might be quieter.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HappiCamper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Iconic hotel with all modern luxuries in superb location on plaza Herrera a short walk to all the sites of the old city. Beautiful balcony overlooking the plaza. Excellent restaurant. Oool is small but inviting. Will stay here again

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

Third visit and love the location and the rooms. But was extremely disappointed with breakfast and they way and the incremental charges. I paid 550 USD for a room including breakfast. First there was a limitation on number of items you could take (I only requested fruit, yogurt with granola and omelet). I was informed that I could only have 2 items. I accepted extra cost and when I asked for omelette with cheese and mushrooms, they informed the mushrooms would be extra charge. There is a limit on exploiting a great location!!! Think I will be staying somewhere else next time

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MarcoW146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

We stayed 4 nights over New Years' Eve and enjoyed the style of this small hotel. Very traditional looking, gorgeous old building on a central square in the "old town" part of Panama city (safest area for tourists, with many of the best restaurants and bars). We had a terrific room with balcony looking out over the square. There is a cafe, bar and restaurant in the lobby, an outdoor patio, small library and tiny rooftop pool accessible to guests only upstairs. Tiny basic gym. No spa, whirlpool, sauna or steam room. The room was TERRIFIC - charming colonial style but excellent function as well, something often missing in "boutique" hotels. Enough room to store clothes/luggage; lots of places to hang wet clothes in the bathroom. Potential downsides? Pricey for the services available; pool area is small and the loungers were constantly "reserved" with other guests' books etc (please post a sign NO RESERVING LOUNGERS - that would empower people like me to move the book off an empty lounger!); noise. You are in the centre of the most popular nightlife part of Panama City and there are very popular rooftop bars on two sides of the hotel and a church that rings its bells very early in the morning on a third side. You will need earplugs and the hotel kindly provides them.

Room tip: I would go for a view over the square even though it can be a bit noisy
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews