We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hallways were dangerous because marble tiles were in stacks waiting to be installed and there were areas in the floor with missing tiles.
The two rooms we were shown had no carpeting just black fabric which may have been padding for a future carpet.
Hotel has a dark neglected look.
The staff was very understanding and made arrangements to another Wyndham Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevBurnsville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Apart from the dank rooms, awful lighting and questionable stains on the carpeting and furnishings, the most disappointing part of our stay here was the staff. Need extra towels? They'll agree to get you some, but whether you ever see them isn't guaranteed. Need a cab? "There are usually some that pull up outside if you wait." My husband and I have traveled quite a bit to all corners of the world, and we've never stayed at a hotel that is as disinterested in hospitality as this one. I mean, at least they can pretend to like the industry they're in, right? No restaurant recommendations, not even a "thanks for staying with us" upon checkout. This certainly isn't a reflection of Panamanians that we had come across, as we found everyone outside of the hotel welcoming and friendly. There are other options in the city center that are just as affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestTrvlLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel has been remodeled, but has some dark rooms since it is sandwiched between two buildings on a side street. Most rooms look out on narrow alleys with a building across the way. The price could be ok for some for the value. We had a suite, but the first room was very dark and gloomy with dirty carpet. I saw a nice bright room at the end of the hall that housekeeping was finishing up cleaning. Called front desk to change, but it was booked. Our TV didn't work very well so asked if there was another room we could move to. Did accommodate us, not as dark and claustrophobic as the first one and the kitchenette area was more open with a bar counter and 2 bar stool seating. Hot water was an issue. Not always available not matter how long you let the water run. Included breakfast was typical motel style. Lobby is small. We were able to pull in off street to their parking area so didn't need to do valet. Best feature was the 6th floor open area outside pool. Pool is small, but area was clean and comfortable. We were there on New Years Eve so the fireworks over Panama City was quite a showed.

Room Tip: There is a mix of suites and single rooms. Pricing probably dictates which room you get. There cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyTuesdayFundador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Ambassador has suites with two rooms which is good for families. They have a pool on the roof but it was closed for repair. They gave away poolpasses to Hotel Panama to compensate this. We were promised an early breakfast before leaving but there was none when we wanted it. The staff was quite rude and speak no english. Apart from that good value and a clean and safe hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guslor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanishka J, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Guslor

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I always appreciate feedback.

On July the redesign of the hotel would be finish and we'll be a Wyndham Garden with a with new rooms and new public areas.

Thanks to your comments we are currently looking at different options to make sure our guests receive the treatment they deserve. Again, I apologize if you had any inconveniences during your stay with us and hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to the Panama.

Regards,
Tanishka Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Price is too high especially during remodeling. Noise is everywhere and materials as well. Limited parking. Dust is breathable in most common areas. It triggered my allergies really bad where I was so miserable during those two days we stayed. For the inconveniences and price is not worth it. The laundry room has dusty materials piled up around the room. Breakfast is basics. When we booked online we were deceived by gym and pool pictures which are not available at the hotel. One has to go to another hotel. The rooms in themselves are comfortable and spacious with large beds; although we dont care for the black/while cow decor on bedspreads and rooms. Staff service is ok-typical service in PAnama! I requested wake up service and the lady at the front desk fell asleep and never called us. She didn't apologize either when I asked about what happened. Elevators were not working when we arrived. At least the girl at front desk tried to accomodate us by providing rooms in lower floors where we carried luggage.

Room Tip: If you want space and kitchen facilities this is a good choice. Suites have living room/kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuriSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Its extremely noisy even the back rooms. Construction goes on 365 days a year. No one speaks English, not even front desk. Ac is v noisy too. No stove or utensils is present. I recommend to stay away from this place. Breakfast menu was too limited. The comforters were never washed since the hotel opened.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsarahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were surprised how bad it was compared to what do they have on the web! A view outside the window, nothing much, so you better leave your shades down. Carpet, not a good idea in a humid place such as Panama City. Swimming pool, working and quite clean, but the entire roof was under construction or so unless you want to swim in a helmet or together with a bunch of workers and feel like in a real ghetto, go for it. The worst was probably a breakfast, all instant food, in a former gym room. So guess what there is no gym. Laundry, nice in 1970, but today, we felt like in a museum of modern lavatory arts. Wifi was working so so. And the price of $90 per night per a suite, which eventually went up to $140 a few days later, a kind of rip-off. We eventually found a very nice hotel close to that one. I would say for a half price it would be perhaps a good deal. For that money we paid, better deal elsewhere...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaryMachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#67 of 115 in Panama City
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama City
Wyndham Garden Panama City
#72 of 115 in Panama City
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Panama Centro Via Argentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#25 of 115 in Panama City
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel

Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing