We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice owners, quiet neighborhood”
Review of The Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Balboa Inn
Ranked #4 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice owners, quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Inn was in a quiet, safe, residential neighborhood. The Cerro Ancon mountain was 1/2 mile away and great jog or hike from the Inn.
The owners were very nice and made multiple phone calls for us due to missing luggage, without charge. They also lent us bug repellant and sun screen until the airlines delivered our suitcase .We appreciate that generosity very much and recognize that it is rare.
Breakfast was delicious, and it was neat to see the animals (agoutis) in the morning and the different birds in the garden.
However, the rooms were just okay and the neighborhood isn't that convenient to amenities. There were hardly any places to eat without a taxi ride. The beds were a little hard. No internet in the rooms. We had to go into the open air lounge area, where it was hot and we got bitten by mosquitos. If you're not an email junky like us, that may not make a difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    126
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
215
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Expats Micky and Bill go out of their way to provide a comfortable stay. They also share valuable information about Panama. In addition there are many species of birds on the property that Bill feeds fom the terrace daily.

Room Tip: Smokers should request terrace rooms as they are close to smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were guests at your inn from September 20 to September 29.

We want to thank you for the hospitality we enjoyed during our time there.

We feel sorry that we had to awaken you at 4:15 a.m on the 30th because our driver to the airport did not come for us. You were so gracious and helpful and we will be forever grateful for your kindness in arranging to get us to the airport to meet our flight.

Our stay at you hotel was excellent and we highly recommend other travelers to stay at Balboa Inn

Mary Jo and Ken Rott

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayyo9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A very convenient location lovely breakfast included and a nice seating area outside. The rooms were comfortable too! Mieke and Bill were very friendly and accommodating! All in all great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at Balboa Inn with our 3 children (14, 12, 10) in a triple room. The owners were accommodating in that they allowed us to stay in a small room and add a bed (the quad was booked, as was the other inn in the area.) It was an average Euro type inn with a helpful owner. The beds were Euro style as well. The breakfast was ok and it was nice to sit outside and eat. Panama City is good for about a 1/2 day, to see the Locks and a quick daytime stroll through Casca Viejo (it's not a must, as it is beautiful in small parts and slummy in others.) Balboa Inn was very convenient (also near the bus station), and it was nice to be out of the downtown area in a more green area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We've stayed 5 nights at the Balboa Inn with our 1,5 years old boy.
The provided a travel baby cot for him, which was very nice. They also have a babychair.
The managers Mieke and Bill are really nice and can answer all your questions. Too bad that they smoke a lot, the smell and smoke is not very nice for non-smokers like us.
The room was a bit dark, but clean and cleaned every day. Breakfast was okay. The only thing we've missed was some coffee or tea options for in the evening, when our boy was in bed and we stayed in the common area with a book and the wifi.
The location is very good. It's quiet at night, you can walk to a few places nearby (Ancon Hill, Administration Building) and the rest is easily done with taxi's.
There are a few restaurants nearby, from which we found Niko's was especially good for us with our little one. It's a self serving restaurant, with different choices (also healthy food like rice, vegetables and some meat) and a bakery for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, CT
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed before leaving Panama and on our return. Mieke and Bill were so helpful arranging our airport drop off and pick up. We were even able to leave our car with them for 3 weeks at no charge!!!! We had a very early departure but still woke up to hot coffee and a nice little breakfast. The Inn is located in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood with a fantastic restaurant just a short walk away. We enjoyed sitting outside watching all the birds and wildlife that surround the Inn. Great place, great people!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtine0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
#50 of 114 in Panama City
847 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
2.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Property: The Balboa Inn
Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancon) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing