We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was scared”
Review of Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Andino Hotel
Ranked #108 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 29 October 2011

There is absolutely no way I would stay at this hotel again. I stayed here because my friends had already booked this place.
If you look at the pictures I think you would come to the same conclusion.

The Good
1) The location is good
2) Some of the front desk staff is nice. The ladies during the day are nice, but the men at night are could care less about making the guests happy.
3) The lobby is nice
4) Free internet

The Bad
1) The rooms. The rooms are horrible. I was terrified that I was going to get bed bugs.
2) The sheets were dirty. There were stains on the pillows and sheets.
3) The bathroom was small and dirty. It looked like something out of a horror movie.
4) The hallways smell horrible.
5) The rooms are not secure. The doors are paper thin. Anyone could enter the room with a push.
6) We paid $60 dollar a night. You would be better off adding a few dollars and staying somewhere decent.

Basically I would call this place a roach motel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandonfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

For the price, I can't complain. The room was clean and service at front desk was friendly. Though the bathrooms are out dated, still no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stay abt 7 days. We are satisfied. The room was large. Good free wifi services, at least i can watch youtube smoothly. Little English, especially in daytime. Night staff is very helpful and can speak English. As Ave Peru Street has serveral government buildings and police, i dun feel unsafety here before 6pm. I am a female, who can walk alone, but caution is needed. I dun recommend walk around at night because it´s too dark and easily get in danger.

Some pple menotioned the breakfast is too early. The breakfast is started from 7-9:30 am. In Panama, the working hour is mostly started at 7am. If u want to eat the breakfast, please go there about 7:30. Some food is not refilled.

In our room, no refrigerator as web site mentioned, but u can request to store ur food in their refrigerator. Cleanliness can be done much better. Hot water in bathroom need to wait few minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Looks great from first glances but then -- no English spoken, not even a little, your copy of the reservation is a must not just the reservation number. The room was large but the bed linen was worn and shoddy with the mattress cover - filthy!. TV set installed so high up the the wall it was very difficult to see without lying down. It appeared that there was no hot water but on the third day got the hang of running the tap for 10 minutes or more to get luke warm water, what a waste of water!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warrenbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

when you walk in the integrated lobby with the bar/lounge and restaurant is very nit clean, the reception dont speak english but there is someone at the office that do, the hotel is in general very clean, staff are very polite
and the price is really surprising low.
in general if you are looking for good value for your price and a clean quiet hotel then you will find hotel andino to give you just that.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank md1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I travel to Panama City at least 2 times a year and I usually stay at the Andino. And I have no problems. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The spacious rooms were always cleaned, beds made and bathrooms cleaned. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is very good and inexpensive. Location: it's always easy to get around the city by taxi. I never felt threatened or in danger, of course you have to use common sense. The big store is close enough to walk to for supplies. Plenty of restaurants nearby. And generally the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. All and all Andino is an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchat539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The rooms are definitely run down but in opposite to what was said before, the main staff at the desk was extremly friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately it is not too safe - coming back from a short walk our son went first to our room while we stayed still outside the hotel and found the receptionist in our room! Quite strange and we never found out what he was doing there but anyway - this never should happen!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#57 of 115 in Panama City
455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#31 of 115 in Panama City
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#74 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#79 of 115 in Panama City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andino Hotel

Address: Ave Peru y Calle 35, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £23 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the heart of Bella vista, Panama city, walk to balboa, banks, casinos etc, clean good size rooms, restaurant/bar, laundry facility, and 24 hours security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andino Hotel Panama City
Andino Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing